We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm staff, delicious breakfast, no doubt: the best location in London”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #267 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I stayed at Jesmond Dene at the end of November with a group of students from Spain. We had a fantastic stay at the hotel, in spite of the freezing weather outside. It was great to go back to your room and have a warm cup of tea, which is a compliment in all rooms. Some of my students stayed in a nearby flat which also belongs to the hotel and which served as our headquarter during our visit. I'll definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge_Eduardo_Duarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,758)
There are newer reviews for Jesmond Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2010

When booking we asked for a ground floor room and we got it. We had a twin room, with shower and toilet. We were only about 100 metres from St Pancras station, perfect as we had an early morning Eurostar trip to Paris.
Breakfast was included and the service and food was great. Only a small dining room, but only on 2 mornings out of 6 we had to wait about 10 minutes for a table. We waited in our rooms and were given a call when a table was available.
Restaurants and pubs were within walking distance and there was a laundromat quite close.
Occasionally woken up at night by the street noise but this was more than compensated for by the location.
Would be the first place I'd book again if coming to London.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyDragon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Trust all the positive reviews that you read--they are all true! It was exactly as the reviews said. Pro's: Perfect location. One hour on the Piccadilly Line from London Heathrow Airport. Five minute walk to the room from the tube. Comfortable rooms. We had a Superior Family Room, and it was perfect for us. English Breakfast in the morning was tasty and kept us full for hours! We missed it the first morning as we were adjusting to the time change, but enjoyed it two out of for mornings. Room was quiet, and had enough storage space to accommodate two adults and two teenagers. Cons: Beds are narrow, and the double bed a bit small for two persons. Would be better to have 4 single beds in the room. Definitely change that aspect, and you would have a PERFECT room! Can't think of anything else I would change.

We would definitely stay again with no hesitation. Convenient store, coffee shop, and fast food right nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

The room was clean and quiet. The staff very friendly and helpful. We chose a room without bathroom facilities, but the bathroom and shower was literally two steps away from our room and seemed to be cleaned several times a day as it was always spotless when we used it. We loved the location. Kings Cross Underground is 3 minutes walk and you can get anywhere from that station. We will stay there again on our next trip to London and have no reservations about recommended it to others. Unless you are looking for the lap of luxury this is a very nice, affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FMNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Breakfast was excellent, with fresh toast orange jus tea, the breakfast room was a bit small but also cozy, the hotel is very close to the train and tube station you need to walk for about 3 min., my bed was comfortable, the bathroom was very clean with a hot shower, the staff in this hotel were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

everything is just perfect here.... we had a very nice stay...
Good Location
Fantastic English Breakfast which they deliver to your table. (The bacon was a bit too salty for me though :p)
Very helpful Hotel Staff
Room was a bit small but clean and comfortable
Definitely worth the money, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wa1ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel seems to be fully booked all the time. Unfortunately our flight arrived at 8 in the morning and we walked a bit in London in order to delay our arrival at the hotel but it was too windy and at about 11 am we arrived there. Obviously the room was not ready. We were told it would be ready by 14, as it is also mentioned on their site, butthe room was not ready even at 14. This was the only minor inconvenience. I explained that I had a meeting at 15 and I needed to change and in no time they gave us our room.

English breakfast with the best scrambled eggs I've had in ages. Skipped the beans and sausages. No cheese. That was a minus, but there is an M&S 5 minutes from the hotel inside St Pancras station and you can buy some...as we did:)

All in all would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluedeep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#260 of 1,072 in London
2,013 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,072 in London
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#133 of 1,072 in London
2,506 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £65 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing