We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staying with Jesmond Dene Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #235 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kaohsiung County, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice staying with Jesmond Dene Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Small but elegant hotel near the King's Cross station; very convenient to take underground for travelling around London. The room isn't very big, but very clean and fully-equipped, especially good wireless internet. The staffs are so nice and provide great services. My friend and I like their decent English breakfast so much!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_Chiafen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    691
    170
    33
    21
See reviews for
537
521
169
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

The hotel was extemely close and convenient to Kings Cross/St Pancras, yet there was less noise than you might imagine. The crowds also seemed to disappear upon entering the road to the hotel, and in that sense, it felt miles away.
My room was very small and three flights up with no lift, but it was very clean and looked like it had just had a makeover, so no complaints. There were no toiletries, so you must ensure you have your own shower gel and shampoo.
The breakfast room is small and I had to wait my turn to get breakfast, where I shared a table with another guest...Not a big issue. Full English was good, if a bit basic, and reminded me of B&B's of yesteryear, but I ate it all up. All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick195753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sliema
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

the hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful!
the location was right next to St pancras station (basically yu can catch ANY line from there) so it was perfect!!! :)
the only disadvantage was that there were no restaurants close by so we had to eat fast food from the station if we arrived home late at night (eating from oxford street was not an option giving it was a busy time of year)
but would recommend 100%!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sliemagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

Jesmond Dene has tiny rooms that are scrupulously clean and comfortably set up. Our en suite bathroom was small but immaculate with new, well functioning fixtures. Plenty of electric sockets if you need to charge electronic devices-- I've never seen so many light switches and outlets in such a small area.

It's well located, steps from St. Pancras station. We're not big breakfast eaters, but for those who are, the food is decent and plentiful. Staff is very attentive, it's a well organized place. Prices are a little higher than rock bottom "budget", but prices for most things in London, especially lodging, are very high by US standards.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbendavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

Our room had a fantastic outlook thru two beautiful full length windows onto a park. The beds were great to sleep on and the room was a good size for three adults. The breakfast was very tasty and they even supplied toast, butter and jam for me to take back to my room for my two sleepy daughters....I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

I stayed at Jesmond Dene at the end of November with a group of students from Spain. We had a fantastic stay at the hotel, in spite of the freezing weather outside. It was great to go back to your room and have a warm cup of tea, which is a compliment in all rooms. Some of my students stayed in a nearby flat which also belongs to the hotel and which served as our headquarter during our visit. I'll definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge_Eduardo_Duarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

When booking we asked for a ground floor room and we got it. We had a twin room, with shower and toilet. We were only about 100 metres from St Pancras station, perfect as we had an early morning Eurostar trip to Paris.
Breakfast was included and the service and food was great. Only a small dining room, but only on 2 mornings out of 6 we had to wait about 10 minutes for a table. We waited in our rooms and were given a call when a table was available.
Restaurants and pubs were within walking distance and there was a laundromat quite close.
Occasionally woken up at night by the street noise but this was more than compensated for by the location.
Would be the first place I'd book again if coming to London.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyDragon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing