We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paddington Trip "London"”
Review of Piccolino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Piccolino Hotel
Ranked #719 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paddington Trip "London"”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Went to check in, had to wait for the manager to come back from somewhere, booked smoking room, and nothing was really available, had to give me a room on the 3rd floor with big window to open while smoking lol but it works, couldn't compliant because of the price and we were during the Olympic season, couldn't get much better for the money than this.
Very close to paddington station, nice coffee shops and bars in the area, good young professional crowd.
Very tiny rooms but again good for the money.

Room Tip: If you are looking or big room and more space with desk and what have you, this is not the place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Medo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    111
    56
    29
    29
See reviews for
70
66
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Fantastic value for money, excellent location!!!! Only problem was the hotel was under going refurbishment and at time of booking wasn't told this, but other than that brilliant place to stay, just a stones throw away from paddington station and a few mins walk from Hyde park!! Have recommend to friends and family, will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khicken84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed here as a solo female traveller in April 2012. I found the room to be very well kept and lovely. The staff were wonderful and helpful. There is a downside to there being no lifts in the building, however the manager at the reception immediately offered to carry my bag up to my top floor room. I gladly accepted his offer. He also brought the bag down for me when I checked out and was happy to hold my bag for the day after checking out as my flight was not due until night time and I spent the day at the Marylebone Cricket Club sans baggage.

The hotel is a very convenient spot to the Paddington Railway Station, making the trip into and out of Heathrow simple and easy, as the Heathrow train connects into Paddington.

There are some lovely Indian restaurants nearby to get a meal, and the pub near the train station (on the same road as the Piccolino Hotel) also provides a great meal and an opportunity to meet some locals and have a drink and a decent meal.

All in all, the Piccolino Hotel offers great value for money. A tip - get into the breakfast room early, as you may not get a seat later if the hotel is full.

Room Tip: Whilst the top room going up a narrow flight of stairs, the room itself is delightfully decorated, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Just returned from staying at the piccolino and have to say that this is a delightful hotel. It is situated close to Hyde Park but found that it was peaceful and quite and well run. We had a warm and friendly welcome by the staff who were very polite and informative and chatty. Our room wasn't but big but was more than adequate but more importantly it was very clean. Our room had a separate shower from the toilet and had shower gel and shampoos. The tv was large and there was plenty of tea,coffee etc provided. Breakfast had a generous selection of pastries,meats,cheese,cakes,toast,cereals,fruit juices and coffee. The breakfast area was too small as we had to wait for a table and staff forgot to ask us if we wanted toast,but staff were always clearing plates and making sure there was plenty of food for everyone.We found it had a great location and was clean with great staff and food. We would definatly stay here again and had a really good nights sleep in a clean and very comfortable bed. A great place for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask to be next to each other if you are with friends otherwise you could be situated on different fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Needed accommodation for Hyde Park and Paddington Piccolino Hotel was an okay hotel to stay for a night, not sure if I would have wanted to stay longer. Paid £105 for Saturday night - aware it was a budget hotel and paid for location.

Positive points: easy walking distance to Hyde Park, Marble Arch and Paddington # Clean room # Very comfortable bed # really good varied continental breakfast with scrambled eggs and beans, pastries, breads, cereals, fruit etc... # ease at booking in # friendly staff.
Cons - not so positive: On 6th floor, no lift, lots of stamina needed to climb stairs to reach our room # Very very small room - just enough room for 2 x single beds and shower room tiny - no power shower very limp water flow also had strange smell in shower/bathroom # Although hotel situated in quiet area very noisy at night - had to shut window as too noisy to sleep, # bad soundproofing could hear people in next room very clearly.

We booked in advance due to anticipated high demand in area for Hyde Park Concert had no choice whether we were allocated double or twin room would have preferred double.

Not sure if I would consider staying again might look further.

Room Tip: Very steep stairs to climb opt for lower floors as 6th floor we stayed on was a struggle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenwichgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wokingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel having to make a last minute booking as we were seeing Coldplay at the Emirates stadium. The room was nice with a very large window facing the street. The area was in a quiet area so not too much traffic noise. We paid £65 for the room which included breakfast however we did not try the breakfast as we over slept, the room was clean and had its own bathroom with power shower. If you need a budget hotel close to Paddington this small friendly hotel is the one for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cstolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had just come back from a backpacking trip in Thailand and had been through a 12hour flight so we were exhausted by the time we got to the hotel.
We had to stay in London one night before traveling to visit family from Paddington station so we decided to stay near the station. Living in London we knew how poor some London hotels can be so we didn't expect much before getting to the hotel.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the station which is very helpful and is a nice walk through residential areas.
We arrived at the hotel at night and the reception staff were very helpful and we were shown to our twin room with ensuite. The room was decorated very nicely and the beds were so comfortable! The ensuite was great and the tea and coffee facilities and TV were a nice touch.
We had the best nights sleep and found the hotel to be very clean and quiet.
We left quite early the next day and the reception were happy to keep our bags whilst we popped out.
I had a chat with the receptionist from Dubai who was very nice and helpful and he helped us with our bags when leaving to the station.

We had a great nights sleep and would definitely recommend this hotel due to the friendly staff, location to the station and the good nights sleep you will get.
The only downside was that the room was quite small but we really didn't mind for the price we paid.

We didn't know there was a fitness centre and didn't use room service

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyde Park Radnor Hotel
Hyde Park Radnor Hotel
#671 of 1,067 in London
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#316 of 1,067 in London
1,401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albro House Hotel
Albro House Hotel
#675 of 1,067 in London
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#543 of 1,067 in London
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Linden House Hotel
Linden House Hotel
#833 of 1,067 in London
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#487 of 1,067 in London
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolino Hotel

Property: Piccolino Hotel
Address: 14 Sussex Place, London W2 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #719 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piccolino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolino Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing