We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected very basic - but a bug in the shower?!”
Review of Premier West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier West Hotel
Ranked #973 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We took into account, and accepted, all the 'poor' or 'terrible'reviews as what do you expect for cheapest of the cheap places to stay in a good location for the theatres - but what we didn't expect was to find a moving larvae coming out of the damp, mouldy shower base. It made us feel quite ill having already showered. We stayed only one night and this was in the morning following arriving late as a place just to crash out. We could put up with the lack of heating (small plug in radiator), the poor decor and general state of the room, the damp smells, the lack of adequate bedding, the dodgy looking electrics, and most of the other things that recent reviews have commented on but, a bug in the shower - no way! I'm sorry but this was a step too far and surely also by most people's standards of 'budget?'. We did stay for breakfast unlike some others but in hindsight the shock of the larvae probably hadn't kicked in or we would have left there and then. The breakfast added to the feeling of feeling ill as the kitchen staff (who are clearly visible) coughed away whilst putting the toast on. The food rating is 3 but this must've surely been on a good day. We felt so ill at the whole experience we didn't wish to stay a minute longer let along bother to complain. Others may want to. This place needs a referral to environmental health which we shall be considering.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Despite reading the negative reviews I decided to take a chance & booked. Can't fault the location & I wonder at times what people expect for £34 for a double room in central London, just minutes from Hammersmith Tube Station. The guys on reception were pleasant when checking in & out unlike what some have said.
Perhaps it's luck of the draw with rooms - I can only talk about ours on the second floor. The bathroom was clean, the shower had to be hand-held & the bedding clean but again as some have said we could have done with another blanket.
The television didn't work but I wasn't surprised by that after reading previous reviews but the kettle did which was more important to me!
Basic breakfast but adequate for me - cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, tea, coffee & toast served by the reception desk.
Basically all we wanted was somewhere clean (which it was), we're not too fussy on decor, centrally situated & cheap, just somewhere to put our heads down for the night - didn't intend on spending long in the room. Would definitely take a chance & stay there again - although I realise another room could be different.
If people are looking for something more up-market be prepared to pay a lot more in such a good location as this!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Having read the previous reviews, my expectations were not too high, therefore I was not surprised to see that the TV in the room was not working or the cold water tap was stuck. Very thin walls, I could hear very well what the people next door were chatting about. Clean room otherwise, the bed was fine.

Hotel all right to stay in if you are not fussy at all and if you are only looking for a place to sleep. I think this hotel is meant for people on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eni19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a friend who booked it for a one night stay over in London. This hotel has two things going for it - the price and the location. It's literally 3 minutes walk from Hammersmith underground which will easily get you to many popular tourist areas like Piccadilly, Oxford Street and the West End and is well linked to all other underground lines. The second plus is the price. We paid £55 for a twin room and you will really struggle to get anything with this good of a location for this kind of price.
Unfortunately that is where the good points end. The hotel is extremely run down, smells like public toilets and is generally a mess. Our room was an ok size but nothing worked. The shower was broke so had to be handheld and took about 10 minutes to get hot water. The tv didn't work, the wall lamps did not work, gurgling sounds kept coming from the plug holes and the door to the room was almost falling off. Amazingly we weren't even provided with duvets of the beds, just a sheet and a very flimsy, old brown blanket. My friend was so cold she had to wear two polo necks just to keep warm! Also annoying was loads of slamming doors from about 6am in the morning which wasn't the best wake up call. Breakfast was very basic but fine. Weirdly they also photocopied my friends passport when she checked in.
Neither of us are fussy and so if we absolutely couldn't find anywhere else we could afford, then we probably would stay again but if you're after a romantic stay or are coming for a nice weekend in London then don't book the Premier West as you will probably be very let down. If however, you are on a very tight budget, are used to 'no frills' and want a great location, the this may be an option for you. Just don't have any expectations and take a polo neck!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Char882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We arrived at this place not a good impression from the outside old cars covered over an unkept appearence , walked through door to a really nasty smell, went to book in and the man at reception asked for my booking as he did this he burped in my face but didnt even acknoledge he had done so was told our room was on the first floor walking to room the whole place smelt of mould and damp i had to hold my breadth to walk to room once in room you could feel the damp,bathroom - no shower working,bday had a big hole and jagged to touch toilet would only flush after about 15 minutes decoration in bathroom was awful dirty and flaky paintwork bedroom- carpet was filthy black marks everywhere tv an old fashion one that wouldnt work bedclothes were clean but were damp kettle had to use on the floor as the table it was on was too high to reach the socket trouser press not working .Didnt have breakfast as the so called dining room was a little alcove dark and with 4 tables didnt look to clean so avoided that stayed out as late as possible to avoid going back to room slept in clothes and coat as it was so damp

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 980SharonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed overnight for new year's eve, good hotel for a short trip, as its very close to Hammersmith station. The earlier comment rather too harsh, so not much expectation for this visit. but the reception are pretty unfriendly though, we had guest coming and they were advising us that only 2 people allowed in the room, perhaps should ask visitor differently? is not that we don't know the rules and regulations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixiedaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The en-suite is clean, and towels supplied. There is a TV in the room BUT not working. Regular supply of Shampoo and Soap. The shower has good regulation of hot & cold water.

Breakfast is a mixture of fruits, yogurt, juice, cereal and toast. They also serve coffee and tea. This is served downstairs in the breakfast hall, but it was a bit congested with few tables only.

The radiator in our bedroom seemed to be not working but there was a heater which I could switch on and off according to my needs. Good point is that it is well-situated for access to buses and Hammersmith train station.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank y0rkshire_0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#411 of 1,081 in London
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#176 of 1,081 in London
451 reviews
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,081 in London
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier West Hotel

Address: 28-34 Glenthorne Road, London W6 0LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #973 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £79 - £907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Premier West Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier West London
Hotel Premier West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing