We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for sightseeing”
Review of Stylotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stylotel
Ranked #563 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good base for sightseeing”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel was located in an excellent place - my mum and I did all the sightseeing on foot, you could easily get everywhere within 15-40 minutes walking, or you could take a bus next to the hpotel, or Tube from Paddington Station just 5 minutes from there.
The people at the reception were really kind and hepful, providing us with lots of details when we asked about some tourist attractions etc.
The breakfast was quite decent - bacon, sausages, potato cakes or whatever you call it, some cheese, beans, scones, toasts, juices etc, the ladies at the canteen were extremely nice. During the whole day you could have free tea or coffe in the lounge.
As for the room, it was very clean, the towels were replaced everyday, as were the shampoo and shower gel. I liked the labels you could put on the door if you did not want the cleaners to enter it at certain times.
It was tiny, though. If you are claustrophobic or just don't like small, dark spaces, think twice before booking. We had a room at the top floor, the walls were covered with some metal panels and it was quite hot in the room at night. It was also quite noisy as some guests were arriving late at night and the door was thin enough for us to hear their every word. And the lift went only to one floor below us so we still had to go up the stairs, though it was no big deal to us.
All in all, it's a hotel where you can stay for a few days if you want to go sightseeing and wish to make sure you live in a clean place and eat nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor - the lift doesn't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    321
    204
    50
    35
See reviews for
233
165
81
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had read nice reviews about the helpful and nice staff, but didn't experience any of it, unfortunately. The reception guys were not rude, but not nice either, a bit neglecting. Unless you greeted them first, they would hardly notice you. The staff in the breakfast room was much nicer so put them in front of house to keep your customers happy.
The room does look much bigger in the pictures, our twin was really small, you could hardly move around the beds, which were put together as a double. We were two friends travelling. The toilet was ok, even though a larger person would have trouble getting into the shower.
Paddington is ok, though I might not be staying in the area in the future, too many tourists and not so many nice restaurants others than fast food chains and Garfunkel chains. But we didn't stay in the area so much, travelling by bus was easy, as there were a lot of bus stops in the area. Also Paddington station is just a few minutes away, from there you can take either a train or tube. The breakfast in the hotel was nice, English cooked brekkie keeps you full until the afternoon.But the space between the tables was very narrow, and the chairs themself can be dangerous to children as they are very sharp around the edges. We had asked for a quiet room and got a room facing the street, they told us the hotel was fully booked, but we don't believe it was. We did bring earplugs with us so we could sleep at night. The window can't be fully opened probably because of security reasons, but it would have been nice to have it more open at night, when it was a bit humid and hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back or take earplugs with you anyway, because they might tell you that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeppis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Perfect location if you want to explore London with Paddington station just around the corner for you to connect to the different subways.
Ricardo was on duty when we arrived before noon & was very kind to check us into a room on the 4th level overlooking Sussex gardens. Rooms are small but comfortable to use as a base. Thanks too to the lovely lady who prepared breakfast & the other gentleman who was on night duty (sorry I lost the piece of paper with their names) .
Free wifi & & a lovely breakfast is included. You can also enjoy free coffee & tea while waiting at the reception area. Lots of cafés & restaurants next to the Sussex Arms where you are given a welcome drink , try the cider if you don't drink beer.
Ya Hala , a Lebanese restaurant on the opposite side to Sussex Arms is also worth a visit for a meal.
There's so much to offer in this area so will be staying here again when back in London.

Room Tip: The higher levels are better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank godzilla_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have chosen Stylotel because of it being so close to Paddington Station. Andreas at the front was very helpful and informative. The breakfast was prepared nicely by 2 ladies. Everything was clean and presentable. The only downside was waken up at 6 am by construction noises at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I heard that regular rooms in this hotel are pretty small, but we took a family suite and it was perfect for 4 people. The suite is very spacious, especially according to London standards. There is a living room with a sitting area and a bedroom.
The location of the hotel is perfect, a few minutes walk from Paddington Station. The rooms are very clean and breakfast is nice. In a whole, I would definitely recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alinar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

great hotel, clean, with free wi-fi, friendly staff, great breakfast spread, located 2 minutes from Paddington Station with all amenities lel at hand, I think I'll go back to London to stop more days and I'll definitely stylotel, we were 2 days with my wife and my daughter and we feel really happy about everything.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor but all mo0lto quiet, great neighborhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed a few days here for shopping. We've been staying here for trips to London for years now. The hotel is walkable to Oxford Street, 2 minutes to the nearest tube and heathrow express. All the staff are really friendly and helpful - nothing is too much bother. Great breakfast is included in the rate too :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 197SallyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#420 of 1,069 in London
1,054 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Hotel Columbus
#501 of 1,069 in London
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#219 of 1,069 in London
2,155 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#623 of 1,069 in London
742 reviews
The Balmoral House Hotel
#643 of 1,069 in London
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stylotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stylotel

Property: Stylotel
Address: 160-162 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UD, England (Formerly Ruddimans Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stylotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Stylotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stylotel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing