We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly and comfy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Hotel B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Star Hotel B&B
Ranked #67 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“friendly and comfy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We visited for a 3 night stay meeting friends and seeing the sights of central London. On arrival, everything was very relaxed, we could come and go as we pleased with no problem.
The room was very comfortable, but found that at night it was warm at night, but noisy if the windows were open.
Although out of the centre of London, we could get to the sights in under 25mins door to door, and with plenty of restaurants a short walk away, the children were spoilt for choice!
Our breakfast was good, the hotel even provided wheat free bread and muffins for us!
The hotel was a great base and would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    148
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
101
129
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Balzan, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel with our 4 year old son for 6 nights.

We were very lucky that we had a triple room on the ground floor which was quite spacious and although the windows overlooked the busy road, no noise disturbed the night.

Breakfast
A very good selection of bread, pastries, yoghurts, juices, cereal. Plus one can request hot chocolate and toast. In my opinion the breakfast offered is on the level of a good three star hotel.

Location
Not being in Central London we were a bit weary at first. However location is very good, just a five minute (pleasant) walk to the Hammersmith underground stations. Also if one is extremely tired or travelling with children, there is the option of getting a bus to the bus station (two stops away) and go down to the tube station from there. The area is very nice, lots of commercial establishments but not chaotic and very quiet at night.

Staff
This is definitely the greatest plus of the Hotel. Luigi and his staff make you feel welcome and at home all the time, at the same time remaining very professional.

Cleanliness
Something we always look in a hotel. Star Hotel definitely gets full marks also on this.

Price
We searched a lot of hotels and did not find any with better pricing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjx575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peron, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a great place to stay if you're looking for a small, comfortable friendly hotel from where to visit London or work on business. There are restaurants and shops around the hotel and the tube is a short walk. Rooms are a decent size with large wardrobes, the bed is very comfortable, tea & coffee, a good bathroom with shower. Some nice Italian touches of style. The hotel prides itself on its cleanliness. Nice breakfast room with good coffee and decent choice of food. The owners make you feel at home.

Room Tip: If you're bothered by a little traffic noise, you'd prefer a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We, a group of four, stayed at the hotel for four nights. We were off from an early flight and arrived at the hotel before our check-in time; the management was considerate enough to allow us to leave our luggage with them while they were getting our quad room ready for us. Luigi was also helpful in arranging a cab for us on the day of our departure. The hotel is located in an area where we could find some nice dining: Rangrez for Indian food, The Gate for vegetarian and Kerbisher & Malt for fish and chips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Chose this hotel for its good reviews and close proximity to Sheperds Bush Empire.Nice friendly check in.Rooms clean.
Breakfast was between 7 and 9.little too early for my liking but was aware of this when booking.
Usually stay in central London so made a refreshing change to stay in the suburbs

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzerontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
279 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed three nights in 20A. Hammersmith/Shepherds Bush was a new area for us, having stayed in similar accommodations in the Russell Square or Kings Cross area on numerous occasions. Found the Star Hotel on TripAdviser, and it definitely lives up to its rating. Like most accommodations of this sort, the rooms are compact, but in this case there was a large wardrobe and writing desk that made things easier. The double bed was comfortable, and the bath had a very modern shower, heated towel rack, hairdryer, and vanity mirror with lights. Be prepared and bring your own washcloth and shampoo/conditioner. No English breakfast (which can be a relief), but instead a good choice of juice, cereal, fresh breads and pastries (the latter change daily), along with excellent coffee and hot milk. Breakfast room is light and cheery, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Despite being outside central London, the hotel’s location is not a problem, with three tube lines and buses close at hand. On this trip we needed to be in the Hammersmith area, but given our experience at the Star Hotel we will likely return in that the price, service, rooms, and breakfast was certainly better than what we have experienced elsewhere in recent trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oxford1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sande, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Why is it Brilliant? Very clean. Great British feeling. Reasonably priced. Very helpfull and nice staff. Satisfying breakfast. Great location. Come and go as you like. Here you can travel to all parts of London, or just stat in Sheperd's Bush and enjoy everything it has to offer. Street outside come with some challenges, but only if you need a car.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MervynDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#55 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#54 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#64 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#223 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel B&B

Property: Star Hotel B&B
Address: 97-99 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in London
#125 Romantic Hotel in London
#208 Family Hotel in London
#288 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Star Hotel B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Star Hotel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing