We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint boutique hotel”
Review of Montana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montana Hotel
Ranked #410 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I'm pleased I chose this boutique hotel for my husband and I as part of our short 3 day London stay. My main reasons for this choice was the location of South Kensington and it's lovely architecture and the convenience of Heathrow Airport. I was not disappointed. We arrived in London at 6pm and it was easy to hop onto the Piccadilly Line and arrive pretty much on the doorstep of the Montana Hotel. The reception staff and restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful. We were a bit surprised that we had twin beds instead of double, but it really didn't matter to us. The restaurant serves Indian cuisine of good quality and was still open when we arrived at around 8.30pm! In the morning the restaurant changes to a breakfast buffet which serves a simple English style breakfast, but was perfect for us Aussies. I don't like a full stomach after breakfast. The housekeeping was perfect with our room tidied each day and the beds were comfortable and the room not too small. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Montana in Febuary this Year room 403, and all I can say is that it was a Wonderfull stay.
The Staff were kind, and helpfull.
And the Food from the restraunt that was brought to our room was just outstanding.
Its our Wedding anniversery soon, and to make it special i've booked the Montana again.

Can't wait forl 02/11/2013.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAMBCHOPS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at this cozy hotel in London and enjoyed every little bit of my stay. The rooms, as well as the whole of the hotel, are extremely well taken care of and clean, however small. The staff is friendly and polite, the location is superb, only across the street from the main underground lines, or you can even walk to the most beautiful sites in London. If you are on a holiday it is a perfect place to stay. Breakfast was plentiful, however a full English would suit better. if you do not want a bathroom and want to save some money, don´t be put off by the shared bathroom deal, there is a washbasin in the room for brushing your teeth and washing your face. I went to the bathroom, which was nice and clean, a number of times during my ten- day- stay and it was always free, I did not have to way a single second. it is the second time I stay at the Montana and I would definitely stay over and over again and strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank julius m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Hotel Montana is a good little hotel in a great location, literally across the road from Gloucester Road tube station, with many terrific restaurants dotting the neighbouring streets. It's a good rest stop for visiting central london and the suburbs and not too far from Heathrow (GBP 40 by Taxi).
The rooms are perfectly adequate, smallish, but with all basic amenities. There's a lift in the premises.
The staff, particularly Elvis whom I had a couple of long chats with, make a great effort to make one's stay as comfortable as possible. I found the wifi perfectly fine as opposed to some other reviewers.
There's an Indian restaurant on site with great food. It's packed every night which is what made me break my normal practice of never eating Indian food overseas...and wow was the food good - fragrant, nuanced, subtly spiced - not at all like the typical spicy drivel that's passed off as Indian food outside of India.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front of the building overlooking Gloucester road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firstcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this place. The service was excellent, value for money good too. The location is perfect - just a couple of minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube which is super handy to everywhere. There are shops all around, including convenience stores and coffee. Rooms were clean, breakfast nice. I'll definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Book in advance for a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

One of the least expensive hotels in Kensington that I could find with a very good location right next to the tube. If wifi is important to you, be aware, that it barely if at all worked in my room on the 1st floor. Fortunately, there are a couple of internet cafe's in the neighborhood.
The Indian restaurant attached to the hotel was quite nice and worth a meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

4 Star NOT!!!!!Welcome to The Dungeon, this is an effort to inform the customers to steer away from this hotel, it does not remotely resemble what you see in the photographs, the staff are apathetic to your requests and have a judgmental attitude. Rooms are dingy, with synthetic blankets and bed covers which are uncomfortable, additionally the mattresses are hard. In the name on toiletries they offer you ONLY one small circular soap. You pay exuberant amount of charges when you make local calls from the phone inside the room. The Victorian look goes bit too far, as i saw a rodent making its way from the bar to the reception. If you like vacuuming done 24 hrs a day then stay here. its not worth 50 pound a night for a four star hotel which acts like a 2 star hotel. How they got the ratting of a 4 star. This hotel only runs because of the location. I have asked the Transat holidays to review there dealings with this hotel base on the over all comments.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#503 of 1,075 in London
426 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#640 of 1,075 in London
1,312 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#370 of 1,075 in London
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#348 of 1,075 in London
2,171 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#330 of 1,075 in London
695 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Hotel

Address: 67-69 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £81 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montana Hotel is a unique 55-room boutique hotel situated in the heart of Kensington, Knightsbridge and Chelsea. The Montana perfectly blends Victorian architecture and traditional English ambience with contemporary touches, ensuring you a unique travel experience in Kensington, one of the world’s most exclusive and fashionable neighbourhoods. Our aim is to make you feel at home, providing you an efficient four-star service and an exceptional travel experience. Recently refurbished, classic and elegant rooms combine all contemporary amenities needed, whether travelling to London for business or leisure. All rooms have their own character and personal touches, whether a large and spacious room for family travellers or a warm and cosy room for the single traveller. Luxury and comfort will await you in each of our 55 en-suite guest bedrooms. Before you settle down for a good night’s sleep, savour exquisitely presented cuisine in the hotel’s restaurant Light of India. The Light of India offers a continental breakfast and a full a la carte menu for lunch and dinner featuring the finest Indian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Montana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing