We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some serious money spending on it.”
Review of Montana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montana Hotel
Ranked #426 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Needs some serious money spending on it.”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I arrived for an over night stay. We were put into a downstairs (basement) room that was unbelievably claustrophobic, so I asked for a better room. The room was on the first floor and the window had frosted glass (!) The bedding had a blanket - note, no duvet, which surprised me. When I asked about a duvet was told the hotel didn't use them. The bathroom floor had serious cracked tiles and also the wall tiles were the badly cracked. Cupboard over washbasin had definitely seen better days. Only two tiny bars of soap - no shampoo, no shower jell. Only two towels and they were the large bath towels, no bath mat! Only thing in their favour was the staff tried very hard and the breakfast was good, although at an additional cost. Cost over £130 for one twin for one night - definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: I doubt any of the rooms would suit everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clogtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    322
    168
    55
    32
See reviews for
219
188
89
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zell Am See
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I have booked this hotel for my one night visit to london from aberdeen. My flight was cancelled and I got stuck in airport. Called the hotel to cancel my booking even though it is non refundable booking and surprisingly they were very considerate and have not charged me for booking

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mfs999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the MONTANA hotel for 4 nights. The location is very convenient, it is across the street from GLOUCESTER RD tube station, where u can take picadilly line directly to heathrow. There is a waitrose and a tesco sm nearby and coffee shops as well as pubs. The hotel room was acceptable, a bit narrow for 3 persons and the bathroom very narrow and old. The beds were very uncomfortable and short (my husband's legs wouldn't fit). It is an old building that needs restoration. I should point out here that it was very clean. We had continental breakfast included in the room's price, where they offered toast with butter and marmalade, fruit, cereal with milk and yogurt. Coffee was absolutely undrinkable for my taste. Friendly staff I would say. Expensive for what it is (150-170 pounds/day). I will try to find other options next time I will make a trip to London.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YAYOUKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Montana is a cheapish budget hotel in a great location close to Gloucester Road tube. I stayed there this week and paid £69 for a twin. Even at that price it felt like a rip off. The hotel is old, rooms are tiny and I was very uncomfortable. You get what you pay for and there is a reason why this place is cheap!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Burnaby
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Montana for 8 great nights! Our room was downstairs, facing the street and big! We had a double and single bed and there was absolutely no noise from the street. Breakfast was very good, there was cereal juice yogurt, toast, coffee and tea, and plenty of it. The staff was very helpful with anything we asked and more than happy to be of assistance. If and when we come back to London we will be sure to stay at the Montana hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few days and the location is excellent and everywhere in central London is easy to get to from here. The transport links are also very good and the staff are extremely friendly. I would defiantly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyoti69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you're just looking for a place to sleep while you're in London, this is probably a good hotel for you. The hotel location was ideal for the museums and pretty much the whole of London, and within walking distance to a supermarket, a bank, an ATM, an internet cafe, a post office and lots of pubs. It is located just next to Gloucester Road tube station so very central. The room (a single one with shared facilities) was small and nothing special, but clean with sink, comfortable bed, TV, WiFi, fridge, tea&coffee facilities and a safe. It was on Gloucester Road side so a bit noisy with the traffic. The hotel breakfast buffet is okay, but noisy and crowded (had to wait every morning before being seated). The staff were friendly in the restaurant, but so-so at the reception.

All in all and considering how expensive it can be to find a decent accommodation in central London, the Montana Hotel offers great value for the money, one of the least expensive I could find in Kensington.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#497 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#351 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#168 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#362 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#283 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#644 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Hotel

Property: Montana Hotel
Address: 67-69 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Montana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing