We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Montana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montana Hotel
Ranked #433 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is old school, but the location and service was fantastic. Everything you need it within walking distance with a tube station across the street. The staff were great, very helpful. Breakfast was a simple continental.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coral G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    326
    173
    55
    32
See reviews for
220
193
90
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Standard hotel very close to Gloucester tube and the Royal Albert Hall is walking distance. Our room was supposed to be a deluxe twin but the view from our window was a let down it was another building and the yard of the hotel. It was clean which is always a bonus. breakfast was toast, fruit or cereal and you could have a full english for an extra £6.50.
The staff that we encountered were lovely and very helpful in giving directions etc.
the reason i have put check your bank statements is that two days before arriving the hotel they took out the money for the room when we checked out they asked to see my card and I had to enter my pin it came up declined as the card used is one I use for trips like this and one I top up from my main account. When I queried why they had tried to take payment again when I had already paid he said it must be a computer glitch???? If it wasn't for the fact I used my holiday card I would have been charged twice!!! So please check statements.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxwitchyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in great location in Kensington. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice big room. Comfortable. Breakfast fine, would have liked a little more choice as just toast, cereal, fruits and yogurt. Overall very good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork,ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The reception and breakfast room staff at this well located old world hotel are totally customer friendly, they go out of their way to be helpful whether it be a request to hold bags following check out or one for information or directions. This makes a stay at the Montana enjoyable and compensates for the older decor and furnishings which I must admit give the place an old world charm! I will certainly return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieCork_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed her for two nights with my daughter and husband. Hotel is in a good location few minutes walk from tube. The hotel is quite old and not as modern as I would have liked. Having said that it was spotlessly clean staff were very helpful and breakfast was very good, for the price we paid and the amount of time we actually spent in our room it was good value for money. I would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suekilloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is in ideal location in London. Close to tube station and only 10 minutes away from the Royal Albert Hall where I was visiting.
The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating, going out of their way to help us. Even upgrading my room last minute to a double rather than a single when my partner decided to join.
The room itself was very clean and tidy with everything I needed. However, the room was very small. Thankfully we were only staying for 1 night so this was not a problem, but for anyone staying a week or so they may feel slightly cramped.
There was no duvet on the beds, rather blankets which seems slightly old fashioned.
Overall the hotel was reasonable value for money, but the staff's fantastic service more than makes up for what the hotel lacks in space.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I arrived for an over night stay. We were put into a downstairs (basement) room that was unbelievably claustrophobic, so I asked for a better room. The room was on the first floor and the window had frosted glass (!) The bedding had a blanket - note, no duvet, which surprised me. When I asked about a duvet was told the hotel didn't use them. The bathroom floor had serious cracked tiles and also the wall tiles were the badly cracked. Cupboard over washbasin had definitely seen better days. Only two tiny bars of soap - no shampoo, no shower jell. Only two towels and they were the large bath towels, no bath mat! Only thing in their favour was the staff tried very hard and the breakfast was good, although at an additional cost. Cost over £130 for one twin for one night - definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: I doubt any of the rooms would suit everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clogtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#502 of 1,067 in London
403 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#361 of 1,067 in London
1,115 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#650 of 1,067 in London
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#177 of 1,067 in London
939 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#352 of 1,067 in London
2,033 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Hotel

Property: Montana Hotel
Address: 67-69 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montana Hotel is a unique 55-room boutique hotel situated in the heart of Kensington, Knightsbridge and Chelsea. The Montana perfectly blends Victorian architecture and traditional English ambience with contemporary touches, ensuring you a unique travel experience in Kensington, one of the world’s most exclusive and fashionable neighbourhoods. Our aim is to make you feel at home, providing you an efficient four-star service and an exceptional travel experience. Recently refurbished, classic and elegant rooms combine all contemporary amenities needed, whether travelling to London for business or leisure. All rooms have their own character and personal touches, whether a large and spacious room for family travellers or a warm and cosy room for the single traveller. Luxury and comfort will await you in each of our 55 en-suite guest bedrooms. Before you settle down for a good night’s sleep, savour exquisitely presented cuisine in the hotel’s restaurant Light of India. The Light of India offers a continental breakfast and a full a la carte menu for lunch and dinner featuring the finest Indian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing