We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and wonderful staff”
Review of Montana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montana Hotel
Ranked #412 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been staying at the Montana Hotel for many years on our twice-annual trips to England. The location is excellent--a two minute walk from the Gloucester Tube stop, very good taxi location, banks, restaurants, food stores all right at the corner. The members of the staff are extremely helpful, we have gotten to know them over the years and are always pleased to be welcomed by name. The breakfast options have been expanded recently, and besides the free buffet of juices, fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffee/tea and toast, a full English breakfast may be ordered for a small charge. The hotel is very clean, they offer free wi-fi, an in-room safe for convenience, plus in-room refrigerators. We always enjoy our stays here and look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the2vus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Montana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Chris at the front desk made our stay very enjoyable! He went out of his way to help my mom and I during our stay in London, as it was our first time in the country. (Make sure to ask for him when you arrive.) The hotel is in an excellent location close to many museums and there is a supermarket and places to eat all around. There is also a nice Indian restaurant and a bar in the lobby. The price for a room is very reasonable for the area.

Room Tip: Bring shampoo and hair conditioner.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We recently returned from a 2 week stay at the Montana and have to say that the hotel suited us just fine. It is in a great location with the Gloucester underground station a mere 1 or 2 minute walk away. There is also a bus stop just a few feet from the front door. And, it is within an easy walk of the Natural History, Victoria & Albert & Science museums. Good restaurants/pubs & cafes are close by too.

Although an older hotel, it is spotlessly clean & the staff are wonderful. Very helpful & friendly.

We were in a room on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel so were never bothered by any noise from the very busy Gloucester Road/Cromwell Street. Water pressure in the shower was an issue in the mornings when everyone else was trying to shower but aside from that we didn't have any issues or complaints.

A continental breakfast was included with our package and we found it quite sufficient. Coffee or tea; juices; toast (we asked for whole wheat the first day & didn't have to ask after that...they just brought it); cereals; fruits (canned & fresh); yogurt. You could also buy a traditional English breakfast or eggs etc a la carte if you wished.

We enjoyed our stay here very much & would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nume450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is very convenient for the tube (one minute from Gloucester road station) and for the museums and shops. The decor is a little dated and the bed linen is old fashioned sheets and blankets, but I had a very comfortable night for a good value price. The staff were very friendly and helpful both at reception and in the restaurant for breakfast.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is old school, but the location and service was fantastic. Everything you need it within walking distance with a tube station across the street. The staff were great, very helpful. Breakfast was a simple continental.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coral G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Standard hotel very close to Gloucester tube and the Royal Albert Hall is walking distance. Our room was supposed to be a deluxe twin but the view from our window was a let down it was another building and the yard of the hotel. It was clean which is always a bonus. breakfast was toast, fruit or cereal and you could have a full english for an extra £6.50.
The staff that we encountered were lovely and very helpful in giving directions etc.
the reason i have put check your bank statements is that two days before arriving the hotel they took out the money for the room when we checked out they asked to see my card and I had to enter my pin it came up declined as the card used is one I use for trips like this and one I top up from my main account. When I queried why they had tried to take payment again when I had already paid he said it must be a computer glitch???? If it wasn't for the fact I used my holiday card I would have been charged twice!!! So please check statements.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxwitchyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nice hotel in great location in Kensington. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice big room. Comfortable. Breakfast fine, would have liked a little more choice as just toast, cereal, fruits and yogurt. Overall very good.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#644 of 1,072 in London
1,305 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#515 of 1,072 in London
421 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#339 of 1,072 in London
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#345 of 1,072 in London
2,140 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#646 of 1,072 in London
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Hotel

Address: 67-69 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #412 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £77 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montana Hotel is a unique 55-room boutique hotel situated in the heart of Kensington, Knightsbridge and Chelsea. The Montana perfectly blends Victorian architecture and traditional English ambience with contemporary touches, ensuring you a unique travel experience in Kensington, one of the world’s most exclusive and fashionable neighbourhoods. Our aim is to make you feel at home, providing you an efficient four-star service and an exceptional travel experience. Recently refurbished, classic and elegant rooms combine all contemporary amenities needed, whether travelling to London for business or leisure. All rooms have their own character and personal touches, whether a large and spacious room for family travellers or a warm and cosy room for the single traveller. Luxury and comfort will await you in each of our 55 en-suite guest bedrooms. Before you settle down for a good night’s sleep, savour exquisitely presented cuisine in the hotel’s restaurant Light of India. The Light of India offers a continental breakfast and a full a la carte menu for lunch and dinner featuring the finest Indian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Montana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing