We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's a pity”
Review of Flemings Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Flemings Mayfair
Ranked #145 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
roma
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“it's a pity”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

One of my favorite location in London is Mayfair, the hotel is an hold stylisch block of 5 houses and the forniture inside are amazing. The hall, the rooms are nice and clean. But it's a pity, nobody tels you, neither at the reservation neither at the check in, there are some works for renovation on progress and your room could be very noisy. The real problem I've faced during my stay was a lack in management, coordination and professionality of the staff. We had the first day a request for slippers in the room, they brought in the room but they forgot to service the room. We had dinner at the Grill Restaurant with some menu made by the famous chef Rosemary Shrager, fine for her disches, but dont try to order something like a normal rib eye medium. After 45 min they bring to you a charred thiny beef. I had the impression that the staff is positive but does'nt have a proper management. Its just a matter of focalize the effort with them. On the other side for my wife anniversary they delivered us half bottle of champagne, very nice of them. But no a business card no a greeting from the GM why? It's a pity, and is the perfect example of a not motivated management.

Room Tip: Check very carefully the work in progress for maintenance and than choose the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    496
    169
    54
    43
See reviews for
305
629
117
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I asked the friendly staff to give me a quiet room, which was promised, just to find myself in a room opposite to a construction plot. Wifi did not function and staff was unable to fix it. For the rest: quiet normal London hotel: small rooms, high prices, everything old and in need of refurbishment. Nice old style: wooden panels, nice decorations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbb001201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branca S, Manager at Flemings Mayfair, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your time at the Flemings Mayfair Hotel.

We usually take great pride in our service and room allocations and I would like to offer my sincere apologies that we did not live up to our high standards on this occasion.

We truly hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel to experience a memorable stay in one of our re-decorated bedrooms and make Flemings Hotel your "home away from home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff are excellent, service was really very good. We needed to check in early to get changed for an important engagement the hotel were really obliging would highly recommend. The food at lunch and breakfast was tasty and the surroundings really relaxing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steph2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branca S, Manager at Flemings Mayfair, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Flemings Mayfair.
I am delighted that from the moment you arrived at the hotel you were made to feel special;our team trully pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests are well looked after and it is always lovely to see this being recognised.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to Flemings for us to look after you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I chose this hotel for a week long business stay in London. Very warm welcome, very polite, very professional. Lovely look and feel to the place, very classy. The food was very nice tasting, well presented and Moorish. Breakfast was very nice too.

The room was cosy but professional, nice place to relax after work.
the staff were immensely friendly and no request was too much. Service was impeccable and swift.
was made to feel welcome from start to end and would most certainly stay again.

only negatives to feed back were the prices around food and drink. £17.50 for a burger i felt was a little steep.
£5 for a bottle of water...very steep.
Would have been nice to have been told that the water isn't included or free when being offered. This was my only hidden charge that just took the shine off an otherwise perfect stay.

More notice about needing a credit card for deposit on arrival is needed. Not everyone has a spare £120 to lay down upfront. Luckily i was with parents on the first day and they sorted it otherwise it would have been a problem.

very impressed and thanks for the welcoming stay. See you again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHancock_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Booked this hotel after good reviews on the net. Not disappointed, very attentive staff, room a little small but everything needed was there. Did not have an evening meal but the menu looked interesting. However, an excellent breakfast on both mornings. Discounted car park nearby for hotel residents. Can recommend this hotel which is situated just off Piccadilly. Just a short walk to Harrods!

Room Tip: Why not ask for an upgrade to a larger room, it might work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branca S, Manager at Flemings Mayfair, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at the Flemings Mayfair Hotel.
When we receive reviews like yours it shows us we must be doing something right! It also motivates us to maintain the highest of standards so that if you decide to come back for another stay you’ll have an equally great time.
We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Flemings Mayfair was a charming and wonderful experience! Not a complaint to be made. After a short, but wonderful trip to the Caribbean, my husband and I stayed at Flemings for 4 nights in early February to break up our long trip back to Australia. We stayed in a very spacious Junior Suite that was contained in building separate to the main hotel. The room was recently refurbish and presented in a luxurious but tasteful style. However, the real pleasure of our stay was provided by the staff. Each staff member was helpful, well mannered and eager to please; everything you could ask for while staying in Mayfair. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about staying in Central London.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmySac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branca S, Manager at Flemings Mayfair, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay at the Flemings Mayfair in February.

We were delighted to welcome you to the hotel and I do agree with you it is our team that make Flemings what it is. We all pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests are well look after and make your experience so delightful.
We hope that you will return to Flemings on your next visit to London so that you can enjoy another elegant London experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a lovely hotel Fleming at Mayfair is! Absolutely great location at Green park and therefore close to everything. You can walk to Piccadilly Circus in ten minutes and catch all buses on Piccadilly Street and the tube from Green park.and even though location is in the middle of everything it is quite . The decor is beautiful and the service is in absolutely top. The staff do make you feel very special and as a guest, not just another customer! We had a tripleroom which was very nice, at the smaller side though, as all hotelrooms in London are. Breakfast is really good and the staff at the restaurant really kones good service ! So does the concierge who was very helpfull . Do not miss a relaxing moment in the great lounge area or to take a picture of the " grazy" elevator. All in all we loved The Fleming! And as very frequent visitors to London, we feel as if we finally has found " our hotel"!

Room Tip: There is a buildingsite on the backside of the hotel, where working starts early and Continue trough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikosmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branca S, Manager at Flemings Mayfair, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at your "home away from home", Flemings Mayfair. We are very pleased to learn that you have noticed the difference our team is making in order to make our guest feel special and part of our big family here.
We are indeed looking forward to welcoming you back to "your hotel"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#218 of 1,069 in London
4,663 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,203 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#22 of 1,069 in London
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#383 of 1,069 in London
2,204 reviews
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#603 of 1,069 in London
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flemings Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flemings Mayfair

Property: Flemings Mayfair
Address: 7-12 Half Moon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
#144 Family Hotel in London
#192 Romantic Hotel in London
#281 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flemings Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flemings Mayfair Hotel, Suites & Apartments - a luxurious boutique hotel and one of the best kept secrets in Central London - is the destination for exceptional eating and drinking, featuring the glamorous and indulgent Drawing Room, opulent and stylish Ormer Mayfair and sumptuous Manetta's Bar. The Private Dining Rooms are great for meetings and special occasions, business or pleasure. The gym offers a quiet and discrete place to exercise, with top of the range Technogym equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Flemings Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel And Apartments
Flemings Mayfair London
Apartment London
Hotel Flemings Mayfair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing