We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torn between average and very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Stratford
Ranked #361 of 1,069 Hotels in London
UK
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Torn between average and very good.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed at the Travelodge Stratford for 3 nights during a recent conference and found it difficult to decide between ratings of average or very good.

I will firstly list the points which I thought were average:-

1) The rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy and the "double glazed windows" don't help - if there is a wind you can see the curtains move backwards and forwards.

2) A small room heater is attached to the wall for colder days but no air-con which could be a problem in summer.

3) The duvet cover and sheet were stained in places - not large but enough to be offputting.

4) The bathroom/shower room was let down by a mouldy shower curtain which smelt foisty - which was a shame because the rest of the bathroom was very clean.

5) There are no real alternatives close by for food and drink.

Points I think above average:-

6) Friendly staff at check in, breakfast room and bar - they work really hard to make your stay enjoyable.

7) For London the prices in the bar area were reasonable - just over £14 for a bottle of wine is not excessive compared to Central London prices.

8) Rooms were compact but furnishings were well thought out, small desk area with tea and coffee making facilities. My room had a comfortable king size bed and the room was well lit. The shower area was clean - but as the website states no shampoo/shower gel provided. I noticed that some of the towels provided looked very new and some slightly well used

9) It is only a short walk from Stratford High Street DLR station and although I did not walk to Westfield at Stratford it is less than 10 minutes away.

I would stay here again depending on where I had to be in London but during my visit I found the room costs high for a Travelodge - other dates could be quite different.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    497
    169
    57
    52
See reviews for
283
436
102
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the reception team are perfect. Then it's all downhill. The hotel is in a dreadful location, not helped by the hopeless directions on the hotel website that take you on a rat run from the station. Unless you think a shopping mall provides any kind of fulfilling experience there is nothing around the hotel. The area is run down and not the safest after dark. There is nowhere to eat other than the hotel and that is one of most woeful experiences I've ever suffered......

The first course was an inedible pool of microwaved potato skins and dry salad leaves. Even though this was virtually untouched it was taken away without comment by the waitress. However, she said nothing at all to me or any other of the unfortunate diners at any time....a unique model of customer engagement. The main course was equally sad, food that you would find in Iceland ( the shop rather than the country of puffin eaters). Again, this left virtually untouched without any reaction from the staff.

This is a charmless, soulless misery of a hotel. It's not even cheap enough to say 'well you get what you pay for'....

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Stratford, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review Vasgo. We are sorry to learn you were unhappy with the location of the hotel. We do provide directions and a map on our website in an attempt to assist our customers in locating the hotel. We also provide a description of nearby amenities and suggest places that could be of interest to our customers. It is regrettable to learn you felt the directions provided did not help you to find our London Stratford hotel, we will be sure to pass this onto our website team to review. We are sorry to learn you found the food in our hotel to be unsatisfactory, our bar café staff are trained in preparing this food to a great standard so we are sorry this service fell below your expectation on this occasion. We also expect them to provide high levels of service throughout the bar café. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Fantastic location. Clean and friendly service. The hotel is a stones throw away from the mainline Stratford station and London Underground services. Found the hotel a little limiting but they did offer a good stop gap menu.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KHETANI_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

a nice stay, very cosy,friendly,excellent transport links to central london,very good value for money,close to centre,would recommend as a london hotel to stay,very quick travel to central london on underground


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

First trip to London. Room was clean and quiet but lacking certain amenities. Near the Olympic Village, mall shopping, and the Tube. Friendly, helpful staff. Would have loved to have been able to see out of the windows or for that matter open the window more than 3 inches. BEST FIND....THE THAI RESTAURANT ACROSS THE STREET!!! Stay away from the in house restaurant. Did not have breakfast there however. Downstairs bar 24/7= :) would probably choose a location closer to Piccadilly or Leicester Square next trip and avoid the traveling back and forth. Good value, but would spend a few £s more next trip for a better stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank patty6911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is generally very clean, staff welcoming, and with a nifty location. You can see a DLR (transport) from the front door, or for a little walk further down there is the bigger Stratford Station with many more transportation options.

I cannot comment on their food other than their high prices. Also we tried to order pizza at 11 but were told we had to wait until 12 because they decided to put out breakfast earlier or something, and they still had the oven to clean? Check-out is at 12 and we all had to return home, hence needed to catch an early dinner so it was a bit of a laugh really.

This hotel could have exceeded this 3-star rating if the staff had offered more to rectify their mistake: Myself and my three friends returned from a long day out to find out hotel room absolutely dripping wet and like a sauna. The shower was left on. I complained to reception that the cleaners must have left the shower running, to which we were told it was actually because of a water-supply issue and they were very sorry..and they gave us a fan to clear the air. This may have been acceptable, but when I returned to my friends upstairs we soon found out what a hazard this could have been: the plugs were dripping wet too!!

The hotel's solution was just about adequate because they at least moved us to two other rooms. This was barely adequate considering it meant splitting us up during our last night of an otherwise great stay. We were on completely different floors, with no apology from the staff members.

A little extra would have made up for this massive blunder on the hotel's part: we paid for the stay *together*, for a room we had to vacate because they didn't think to turn off a shower. No offer for free wifi, or breakfast, or anything really and that was quite disappointing because it was quite the hassle. Never mind, hopefully it won't be a habit of theirs!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank NightAngel_IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Stratford, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank your for your review Emma R. We are really sorry to learn about the water issue, we do expect all the facilities and in good working order and our staff are also expected to provide high levels of service throughout your stay with us. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was a bit wary of staying at this travelogde, not wanting a "when-will-it-be-morning-so-I can-get-out-of-here" budget hotel stay, but I was pleasantly surprised by the travelodge at Stratford. The bed was very comfortable (and big). I was travelling with a friend and we stayed in separate double rooms- we were both raving about the bed the following morning. We stayed for 3 nights and had chosen Stratford due to its accessibility to everywhere we needed to go during our stay. This location was a very convenient 20 minutes ride on the DLR to Canary Wharf where we were travelling for business. To satisfy our 2nd purpose for being in London - shopping, we had Westfield, Stratford Centre (10 minutes walk) and also quick access via the underground to Central London. The bathrooms were nice and the rooms clean, with coffee-making facilities. Although there is a restaurant, we never tried it out, dining at Westfiled mostly. Our rooms were on the 1st floor but (contrary to my expectations) the noise level was minimal. The hotel staff were also friendly and helpful, and contrary to information on the website, they kept our bags for us after check-out (at a GBP1 donation per bag). Our stay here was pleasant, this hotel was very good value for money (as we booked well in advance) and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Koko_Kunene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#481 of 1,069 in London
813 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,069 in London
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Hotel
#820 of 1,069 in London
656 reviews
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Stratford

Property: Travelodge London Stratford
Address: High Street, Stratford, London E15 2JG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge London Stratford 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, LateRooms, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing