We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff. Stayed in a deluxe room which had the most comfortable bed you could imagine. Pure elegance throughout, everything perfect down to the smallest detail. Excellent location..couldn't have asked for more. Will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janeyamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,093 - 3,099 of 3,389 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Ampersand is not only a beautifully finished hotel, it's made truly fantastic by the staff. Everyone we met during our stay gave us a friendly, warm greeting and was sincere - something that's often lost when hotels try to train their staff to be "chatty." It's clear that the staff are clearly interested in making your stay special which makes this hotel stand part from its competitors.

The rooms are very well decorated and appointed with everything required. Beds are extremely comfortable and despite this hotel being in a busy part of town, there’s no road noise. Being a brand new hotel, naturally everything works perfectly, but it’s obvious that fixtures, fittings and details have been invested in.

The offering from the Apero restaurant is a refreshing change from the same old modern cuisine with the food being prepared to a fantastic standard. Breakfast was a particularly highlight - I thoroughly recommend the full English! Again the staff are fantastically helpful with the Restaurant Manager being an absolute win for this hotel.

I absolutely recommend this hotel and very much look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marcd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We loved our one night stay at the Ampersand hotel and wish we could have stayed longer.
The hotel is decorated beautifully with lots of lovely little touches. We really enjoyed our room,the design was unique and very tasteful. We especially loved the comfortable bed and wish we could have taken it home. The breakfast also was very tasty and we thought very reasonably priced.
The location is great as it is so close to South Kensigton station. Very easy access from Heathrow as well as to central London and all the lovely cafes and museums in south Kensington.
A special thank also goes out to the staff who were fantastic and very helpful .

The Ampersand hotel will definetly not dissapoint and we would really recommend it if your are in London and feeling like spoiling yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malaika14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you so much for your fabulous review of The Ampersand Hotel. I very pleased you had such a wonderful experience. It is always lovely to receive such great comments about the team and we really appreciate you making special thanks to them all.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at the Ampersand Hotel, what a refreshing experiance.
From the minute you walk in the door you are greeted and made to feel welcome, all the staff contribute to this feeling. The service is extremley professional yet has that balance of being sincere and friendly.
The interior decor is a work of art, obviously a lot of thought has gone into this to create the ambience throughout the hotel. Our room was very well furnished and the bed unbelievabely comfortable, the bathroom was spotless as was the rest of the room.
We dined in the Apero restaurant, this is a mediterranean menu which was explained fully buy the waiter. I can only say excellent food well priced and served with flare.
To sum up if you are looking for a London Hotel which ticks all the boxes look no further.
If

Room Tip: We had room 306 which was a standard room, it overlooked the front of the hotel, no noise from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clacton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review about The Ampersand Hotel. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the service as much as you enjoyed the décor of the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Incredibly sexy new hotel, amazing food, wonderful staff in smart Levi's and crisp shirts which sets the tone from the moment you walk through the doors, best negroni(s) with hand cut ice! Brilliant breakfast offering including White and black pudding on toast with eggs, amazing and genial general manager who is just at home and and as comfortable in jeans as his wonderful team.
It is our new favourite and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheSaint1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am very pleased you had such a great experience, from the food through to the service. We also can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The Ampersand is a truly unique experience, so much so that I forgot I was in London. The attention to detail in the interior design that resonates throughout the hotel is impeccable and creates a synergy and mellowness that goes to form what is a unpretentious but trendy vibe that a lot of London hotels try to recreate but fail to do so.
The rooms are well designed making use of the space in a practical but fashionable manner in sync with the overall design of the hotel. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay to the maximum.
My favourite part the stay was the visit to the in-house restaurant Apero and the games room. I would continue to visit the restaurant regardless of staying in the hotel or not as it as all the makings to become one of London’s hidden little gems - the small Mediterranean plates along with the inventive cocktail list make for a great evening with friends or family and with very reasonable prices won't leave you out of pocket.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for our first review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable experience. We are all very proud and excited by the opening of the hotel. A lot of thought went into the design of the bedrooms and I am pleased you enjoyed the room as much as the stunning public spaces.
Apero is indeed a gem and Chris Golding, Head Chef, was very pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and looks forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Juliacacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,075 in London
2,943 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#135 of 1,075 in London
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,075 in London
3,797 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,075 in London
1,458 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,075 in London
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £202 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing