We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Night Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #46 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Night Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Comfortable, stylish hotel in a convenient area with great details. Its location only 1 block from the South Kensington Metro means you can get anywhere in a blink (south ken boasts 3 tube lines) and restaurants and bars abound. Gym wasn't ready when we stayed, but everything else was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,250
    619
    95
    30
    17
See reviews for
616
1,391
234
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

THis swanky new hotel is just great, we stayed two weeks after it opened and the whole experience was well worthwhile.
At 3pm on arrival our room wasn't ready but we were whisked to the bar for a lovely glass of champagne while we waited so it was no hardship. We were fortunate for an upgrade as an SLH member and the room itself was spacious and very well apppointed, modern, comfortable and attractive, we loved the claw foot bath in the bay window and the bed was deliciously comfortable. Bathroom relatively small but certainly adequate, lovely shower.
Enjoyed the staff, the afrternoon tea spread looked divine.
Check out was a litle complex but probably teething problems, it was 5am and we had a relatviely complex booking so give them the benefiy of the doubt there.

We thoroughly look forward to returning and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Goodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

we stayed at this hotel while my husband was on business. I love the Small Luxury Hotel Group. The location in South Kensington is perfect and right across from the tube station. The staff was outstanding and knew us by name. The beds are very very comfortable. We actually upgraded to a superior room--the only negative is that the rooms are very small. A colleague could not even put her suitcase down in the smallest room. The next room up was a bit small for the both of us as very little closet space. However, the superior room is perfect. If you were staying just a short period, or were alone, the middle of the road room would be fine. The drawing room is beautiful. Also the breakfast in Aperois the best i have had in Europe in a while--very accomodating as well. Apero is very fine dining and the bar is fabulous with great drinks. The staff is very willing to please. The hotel lobby is beautiful--just a great place. I will definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Room 304 was perfect--get the large room is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We had a lovely weekend stay here. The staff were lovely, all very friendly and very eager to please. The hotel is perfectly placed for museums, sight seeing around london and is very close to South Kensington tube station. There is a slight noise from the underground but nothing too much. We will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdoult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Ampersand -- a brand new sparkling clean boutique hotel within a stone's throw of a tube station. It is surrounded by cafes and museums. Wonderful service, pretty good breakfast, comfortable beds and tastefully decorated rooms. I would love to return if I can afford it again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel is situated ideally for visiting the museums such as the Albert and Victoria and Natural History. It was easy to get to by tube and on the central line so could get anywhere quickly. The hotel is very new Kensington tube station so not far to walk even in the rain!!

The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are brilliant and very big with all mod cons.
There is a great indian resturant across from the hotel that did fantastic food and service.
I would definately use this hotel again.
However if you are in a hurry in the morning dont order a cooked breakfast service is really slow.

Room Tip: The superior rooms really are just that it was a little noisy at the front of the hotel but it is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is a lovely new hotel in an ideal location just near the South Kensington tube station, numerous bus routes, taxis outside, lots of restaurants, cafes, etc outside the door. Rooms are very small, so despite booking a Deluxe, there wasn't room to swing a cat. Wardrobe space is minimal, and not satisfactory for stays of more than a night or two (we were staying six). The in-room safe is also inadequate, being very shallow, so no use for storing a camera or laptop. Very good water pressure (often an issue in London hotels), free soft drinks from the minibar which is a pleasant change, and excellent free Wi-Fi. Hairdryers cannot be plugged into sockets anywhere near a mirror - some design faults in the rooms. Beds are a bit soft. Staff are excellent, particularly receptionist Indira, who could not have been more helpful. Unfortunately, the gym was not yet set up which was disappointing. Some other things still being finished (hotel opened 29 August) but didn't really detract fro our stay.

Room Tip: Many showers over the bath - ask for a room with walk-in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFoleysAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,530 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#162 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#121 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing