We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Absolutely loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel is awesome, such n unassuming building from the outside by then you walk in and it's a different world. The decor is so unusual but so cool. It's modern but still in keeping with the older style of the building.

The staff were so welcoming and friendly. We were staying there as a surprise for my birthday that my husband had organised and they obviously knew all about it and made that much more effort which was a really nice touch. They took a real interest in us and what we were doing.

The rooms were comfortable and again had the funky decor and great style. Rooms weren't massive but they didn't need to be. The bathroom was luxurious and there were loads of great touches throughout.

Location was great, right by the tube station, really close to the museums and about 15 minute walk from Harrods.

I absolutely loved this hotel, it was amazing, I only wished we had stayed there longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,070 - 3,076 of 3,397 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

We've spent 4 nights in the Ampersand Hotel. Overall experience was way beyond our expectations. First of all as SLH members we were upgraded to a lovely, spacious room. We also got a complimentary glass of champagne. Hotel staff is at their best all the time. Friendly, chatty, helpful. Drinks in the bar are so yummy and the afternoon tea fantastic. Decor is fantastic and those beds! :)) so so comfy!

The hotel is based 1 min walk from South Kensington tube station. The area is full of nice pubs and restaurants with great lunch /dinner deals. There are 3 museums short walk from the hotel - Victoria and Albert Museum, Science Museum and Natural History Museum. Royal Albert Hall is 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

It was a pleasure to be a guest in this hotel and we'll definately be back.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a big luggage ask for a room wih
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcincupial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed one night on 6th October. The reservation was on a bed and breakfast deal. We got a complimentary glass of champagne which was very nice however whilst we were told we could take it in the drawing room at our convenience we actually had to go downstairs into the wine area as the drawing room was apparently booked out for afternoon teas (there were empty tables).
Our room was very nice, the bed was very comfortable and the pillows were great. The curtains were heavy making the room nice and dark. I slept very well and only woke at 8.50am. Unlike many places I didn't hear noise of doors banging ot other guests moving around.
Breakfast was good, although the cooked breakfast could have been warmer.
The strange thing, and most annoying, was the fact that the web site (and the information in the room) both stated that there was a gym (even listing the equipment) however it is not yet in working order! I thought it very odd that this wasn't explained on the web site or at check in. I wish I hadn't carried gym kit round London. One member of staff did say we could use the Fitness First down the road for a small charge (no actual deal with the hotel). We didn't try this as we didn't believe they would actually just let us in for a charge (otherwise people wouldn't take out membership) and we didn't want to go down the road and then have to come back to check out.
Other than that it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just had two nights at this great hotel. Arrived at 12 for the 2 pm check-in and was in the room (deluxe studio) by 12.10. Staff at reception could not have been more helpful throughout our stay. Decor is brilliant, but at the moment, the hotel is a work in progress so there is still work going on. Our room (216) was fantastic but my wife was disappointed there was no power point near a mirror. (Someone else has also made this comment.). The rooms are really well equipped, as is the library and games room (gym not open yet). Some people have commented on room size, but the hotel website describes the different room sizes accurately.

Didn't actually have the afternoon tea, but it looked fantastic, and the hotel has an award winning pastry chef so it should be good.

Dined twice in the Apero restaurant. Basic decor, great food and service, great atmosphere, but if your taste is for traditional or plain food you might struggle to find something you like. (You can get steak and chips on the room service menu, but not in the restaurant). Also breakfasted twice in the restaurant (continental and full English) - REALLY good

The hotel has a tube line running underneath which you can sometimes hear but not enough to cause a problem.

For a very good hotel in South Kensington, prices are pretty standard.

We will DEFINITELY go back

Room Tip: Read the website before choosing your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Comfortable, stylish hotel in a convenient area with great details. Its location only 1 block from the South Kensington Metro means you can get anywhere in a blink (south ken boasts 3 tube lines) and restaurants and bars abound. Gym wasn't ready when we stayed, but everything else was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

THis swanky new hotel is just great, we stayed two weeks after it opened and the whole experience was well worthwhile.
At 3pm on arrival our room wasn't ready but we were whisked to the bar for a lovely glass of champagne while we waited so it was no hardship. We were fortunate for an upgrade as an SLH member and the room itself was spacious and very well apppointed, modern, comfortable and attractive, we loved the claw foot bath in the bay window and the bed was deliciously comfortable. Bathroom relatively small but certainly adequate, lovely shower.
Enjoyed the staff, the afrternoon tea spread looked divine.
Check out was a litle complex but probably teething problems, it was 5am and we had a relatviely complex booking so give them the benefiy of the doubt there.

We thoroughly look forward to returning and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Goodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

we stayed at this hotel while my husband was on business. I love the Small Luxury Hotel Group. The location in South Kensington is perfect and right across from the tube station. The staff was outstanding and knew us by name. The beds are very very comfortable. We actually upgraded to a superior room--the only negative is that the rooms are very small. A colleague could not even put her suitcase down in the smallest room. The next room up was a bit small for the both of us as very little closet space. However, the superior room is perfect. If you were staying just a short period, or were alone, the middle of the road room would be fine. The drawing room is beautiful. Also the breakfast in Aperois the best i have had in Europe in a while--very accomodating as well. Apero is very fine dining and the bar is fabulous with great drinks. The staff is very willing to please. The hotel lobby is beautiful--just a great place. I will definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Room 304 was perfect--get the large room is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,076 in London
2,948 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#135 of 1,076 in London
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,076 in London
3,803 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £195 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing