We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #52 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Some building work ongoing so main entrance unavailable.
The hotel is beautifully decorated and furnished
Best aircon ever in a hotel room and the most comfortable bed/quilt/pillow combination we have experienced. The only downside on 1st floor east side is constant deep booming bass drone from next door building - not the hotel's fault though so keep windows closed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,172 - 3,178 of 3,535 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We visited this hotel on Saturday for the Champagne high tea. Service was very quick and friendly, and the tea room is beautiful. We were there a couple of hours but the time flew by. The sandwiches and cakes were absolutely delicious and we left feeling full! Great value for money thanks to Lime & Tonic, and we would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kevbev321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Currently staying in a superior room on the ground floor.

What we love:
1. The bed is the best hotel bed we've slept in .
2. The check in staff were friendly and extremely efficient.
3. The staff uniform- check out the jeans!
4. The Barman on the Saturday night made the best cocktails and very knowledgeable about his alcohol.
5. Location!
6. Gadgets in your room.

Easy to say we have found our favourite London hotel and will be booking again when we return in January.

All this and we still have another night to go! Right, time to check out breakfast...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDullWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Great location just by Kensington tube station so perfect for museums and other attractions. Lovely room in this smart, newly-refurbished hotel. Bathroom well-appointed and great toiletries. Friendly service, staff helpful and relaxed yet attentive. Cellar bar/restaurant was a great place for a drink in the evening and the afternoon tea in the lounge area looked sensational; sadly, we didn't have time to try that.

We were awoken early the next morning with loud builders noise from the floor below; not a great start to the day and not what we expected at this price point.

We would stay again, but have to make sure all the building work has been finished!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracemullaghley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed in a Deluxe room at the Ampersand for three nights on business in mid-October. Hotel is new in that it was purchased and completely renovated, and reopened recently. Small and quiet, with small but well-appointed exercise room with new gym equipment/cardio machines. Outstanding service from the front desk to housekeeping. Requests were followed up within a short time, assistance on where to eat, how to get places, etc., was pleasantly and thoroughly provided, including arranging room service breakfast before the normal breakfast hours. Room was decently-sized for London, very attractive, good lighting, reasonable desk, and the best bed and pillows I've had in any hotel, regardless of caliber. Best feature: mini-frig stocked with complimentary water, Coke, juices, and even a little container of milk for coffee/tea. Bathroom was comfortably sized, good shower, plush towels, bathrobe and slippers. Exceptionally clean. Location is superb with many small table service and quick service restaurants, bakeries and express food stores anywhere from across the street to an easy couple minutes walk away. Tube stop (South Kensington) a short half block down the street. Lots of cabs available in area, too. Heathrow Express shuttle service got me from hotel to the airport for 15 pounds, far less than cabs and hotel's car service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Ampersand, and what a wonderful Hotel it is! From the minute I arrived we knew that this was going to be a very good experience. The concierge, Indira, was charming and handed me mail that had been sent by courier, which the Hotel had signed for on my behalf, a true sign of a Hotel going all the way and it was much appreciated. We were updated from a Superior room to a Deluxe Room on the first floor which was a charming touch and the room was splendid. Extra large and comfy bed with Egyptian Cotton sheets, lovely pillows and bed cushions. The shower room was fabulous with Miller Harris bath products and a raindrop shower to beat all others. There was a comfortable sofa and an enormous flat screen TV with bathroom speakers. The desk was enormous and accommodated all my papers, giving me space to work. We felt at home because the staff were so attentive and greeted us personally at all times. The breakfast buffet is delicious and the coffee shop Drawing Room served a fabulous Cafe Latte.
I cannot fault a thing, and wouldn't want to. The Ampersand will be my base in London when next I stay. It is central, accessible and accommodating, and without a doubt will have great success due to careful styling, impressive and highly individual decoration, and the creation of a wonderful ambiance, where nothing is a problem, and a stay is a treasured memory.

Room Tip: Room 108 with it's high ceiling and fabulous shower room is to be highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spookykenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I have spent 80% of the last 15 years living in hotels. I have stayed in many hotels obviously. This hotel is certainly one of the best. The location is excellent for the Museums and Hyde Park. The style is superb. The service was perfect. Met at the door and made to feel very special. I had two of the superior twin rooms - again worth the price.

You definitely don't feel like you are in yet another chain hotel; and you feel very much an important guest.

The room was a mix of style and technology that any one from 16 to 70 would appreciate. The TV's are incredible. The bathrooms fantastic.

I might seem like I am over selling it, but I was seriously impressed after many experiences of the same tired "English" hotels.

Yes you feel the tube a little in the bar, yes it is a busy area - Its London!!!

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the Superior and enjoy the extra room ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,077 in London
3,088 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#58 of 1,077 in London
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,153 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £166 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing