We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
TAD520
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed in this hotel before a trip out on the Orient Express.

The major plus points are that it is a nice quirky hotel a stones throw from South Kensington tube.

The hotel is furnished to a high standard and the continental buffet breakfast which we had included was more than adequate.

The major negatives are that the rooms are tiny even by London standards! We had a superior room (not the cheapest smallest rooms either) and it was so small that if the chair was tucked under the dressing table you could not walk behind it as the chair touched the bed. I would say that the room was smaller than my own bedroom. Obviously can't comment on other rooms in the hotel.

Also there is no mirror in the bedroom (room 310) so as a lady there was no where you could put on your makeup in natural daylight. Also it meant there was no where to blow dry your hair or use hair straighteners and actually see what you are doing, obviously should have packed an extension lead that would have reached to the bathroom!!

If the rooms were a little bit larger and there was a mirror in the bedroom I would have scorred this hotel 5 out of 5

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAD520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,335
    645
    97
    30
    17
See reviews for
656
1,436
243
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here on 3 November as we were in London and saw a review in "The Times" which gave details of a opening offer.

The Hotel is very well located for the V&A which we had tickets to go to and the staff very friendly. They were unable to fit us in for afternoon tea (our fault as we had not booked and turned up at 4.30 to see if we could get in) but they accomodated us in the restaurant and this turned out to be better from our point of view as the head chef and pastry chef came out to apologise and spent time chatting to us about the food and hotel . On the Chefs recomendation we had the full english breakfast and we would say it is a must (and great value for Central London)

The rooms was excellent and we were even give a up grade

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My wife and I spend three nights at The Ampersand Hotel on Honeymoon and it was fantastic. Very well located within about 100 metres of South Kensington tube station which made it very easy for us to get about the hotel has very modern features and is excellently finished which allows it to retain a very definite character. The room has probably the best, most comfortable king sized bed i've slept in! All staff we met were superb and extremely friendly interacting on a genuine and personal, but not intrusive, manner. The surrounding area has numerous eateries, restaurants and cafes and as such we didn't eat there. We saw the afternoon tea being served and it looked extremely good. If we'd had more time and less commitments elsewhere we would certainly have made the effort to eat there.

I noticed a couple of reviews referencing noise from the tube nearby and whilst we noticed it a couple of times it in no way interrupted our sleep etc. (we live in the countryside normally so it is something we would have picked up on).

Room Tip: We had a room which was larger than the standard. On seeing one of the standard rooms as we passed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevetgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Even though it's right by the tube station it was not that noisy but the studio room we had was brillant and because we had to wait for our room we were given a free glass of champagne each in the bar. Check in and out was quick and friendly and room service was fab. I would stay here again but the restuarant was too cold for me

Room Tip: Look out for special deals for this hotel as it could be expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookie190726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Some building work ongoing so main entrance unavailable.
The hotel is beautifully decorated and furnished
Best aircon ever in a hotel room and the most comfortable bed/quilt/pillow combination we have experienced. The only downside on 1st floor east side is constant deep booming bass drone from next door building - not the hotel's fault though so keep windows closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We visited this hotel on Saturday for the Champagne high tea. Service was very quick and friendly, and the tea room is beautiful. We were there a couple of hours but the time flew by. The sandwiches and cakes were absolutely delicious and we left feeling full! Great value for money thanks to Lime & Tonic, and we would love to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevbev321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Currently staying in a superior room on the ground floor.

What we love:
1. The bed is the best hotel bed we've slept in .
2. The check in staff were friendly and extremely efficient.
3. The staff uniform- check out the jeans!
4. The Barman on the Saturday night made the best cocktails and very knowledgeable about his alcohol.
5. Location!
6. Gadgets in your room.

Easy to say we have found our favourite London hotel and will be booking again when we return in January.

All this and we still have another night to go! Right, time to check out breakfast...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDullWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#153 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#129 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing