We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

From the moment you enter the Ampersand we were in good hands! The Hotel is beautifully decorated/furnished and the staff can't do enough to help! The bedrooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, the food was excellent and have I enthused about the staff already? We were celebrating a 40th birthday out that evening & we returned at 3am with a few friends and were allowed to use the Games room to share a last drink. No trouble at all.

Stayed for 2 nights in the end and WILL be returning. Stay here and check it out for yourself. Ask to be shown around and just enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_WSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,344)
There are newer reviews for The Ampersand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,827 - 2,833 of 3,345 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

Fantstic hotel, great location, friendly attentive staff and comfy bedrooms. Would recommend highly. The food in the Apero was lovely and the service was great. Cocktails worth a try too. South Kensington tube stop right by so travelling about very easy.

Room Tip: Go for an updrage on your room
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I always look for boutique hotels in London that can offer personal treatment and unique details that makes my stay different than staying in big chain hotels where you are just a number. I found the Ampersand after reading great reviews on Trip Advisor and the reviews could not be more accurate. This is a great option in South Kensignton located just couple steps from the South Kensington tube station and in an area full of cafes and restaurants and lot of people walking around. It is a great place to stay away from the busy and tourist areas of Oxford Street, Piccadilly Circus, etc... but still very close to all of that. The Ampersand offers all the luxury you need in great style. The hotel is very modern in a beautiful building and the rooms offer all high end details you will need to have a great stay. The bathroom was amazing filled with high end toiletries and the shower was spectacular. Just one thing to keep in mind: the standard room is very very small even for London standards. I would not recommend that option for a couple since you won’t be able to accommodate your luggage. The superior room which was around 50 pounds extra was way bigger, had a king size bed and lots of space for luggage. Also, make sure you ask for a room that is not facing Harrington Road since it is a very busy road and even with the windows closed you can hear street noise on your room. Finally, had a little issue with the heat control in the room and complained at the check out and got 50 pounds off my bill for the inconvenience. That is what I call great customer service.

Room Tip: Look for rooms NOT facing Harrington Rd (the street in front of the hotel). Get Superior rooms inst...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed for two nights over a weekend.
Being a member of SLH we were upgraded on arrival to a room on the ground floor and on the front of the Hotel, I asked if it would be noisey and the receptionist was very honest and said, yes it can be during the week but at weekends not usually too bad. We accepted we were in London and some noise is un avoidable.

However the underground noise was perhaps the thing we were not expecting and is certainly an issue for ground floor rooms.

The room it's self had really hight ceilings and huge windows, the bed was extremely comfortable, everything else functional.
The bathroom was a little dissappointing, two large monsoon shower heads and a tacky shower curtain which had no function, the room was set up as a wet room and basically flooded when you used the showers making the use of the othe facilities, basin and toilet, a rather damp expereince.

The Apero Bar and Restaurant, for us really good, very reasonable prices and excellent service and quality, having said that I noticed one previous comment about the breakfast buffet and choice of milks etc, this is the case but one thing I can add is that everything on the buffett table was really fresh and anything we asked for that was not clearly visible was brought to us, for instance there are no juices on display but are available on request.

The Drawing room and games room etc on the steet level are really nice, light spacious areas, the service again is really good, I could not really work out why the bar was not on this level as the waiter seemed to have to run downstairs everytime a alcoholic drink was ordered.

Overall, yes we would return, we found the Hotel situated really well, with very pleasant and friendly staff.

Room Tip: try to avoid ground floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northwest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Having just returned home from London, I have found the hotel that I WILL return to in the city! When visiting London we have always tried to stay in different areas of the city. This, by far, is my favorite location and hotel! The hotel is located literally across the street from the South Kensington Underground Station (Circle, District, and Piccadilly lines). We arrived in London via King's Cross Train Station. The cab ride to the hotel was 15 pounds. Harrod's, Harvey Nichol's, Burberry, Sloane Square, etc, are all within walking distance. The Victoria and Albert Museum (a great place for lunch!) is one block away... as are other museums. The hotel itself is staffed with very friendly, helpful and competent personal. The rooms are lovely and very clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathrooms were stocked with lovely toiletries, plush towels bathrobes and slippers. The floors in the bathroom have radiant heat. The refrigerator is stocked with complimentary, water, juice, Coca Cola, and milk. Tea and Coffee are also available. Our room was on the front side of the hotel on the second floor. We did not find it too noisy. However, we were there on a Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday night. Another plus, if you choose to take the Big London Tour Bus, it stops right outside the front door of the hotel. After going to a show on the West End, we caught a cab back to the hotel for about 14 pounds. The hotel staff arranged for a car and driver to take us to the airport. That costs 45 pounds. (Well worth it in our minds.)
Just a little interesting note... I looked up the word Ampersand. Ampersand is a noun for the sign "&". I learned something new!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We just arrived from a wonderful stay at the Ampersand Hotel. The hotel is very new and has lovely interiors. Our executive room wasn't very big, but had enough room for us to move around and the decoration was realy nice too. The bathroom was spacious and the in bath TV was a highlight. Breakfast was very good as for the food we had one evening at the hotel restaurant. The room service menu is quite limited, so it works only if you're so tired you can't afford to go out. There are many good restaurants in the area. It's also conveniently located just across South kensington tube station, witch is great.
I would gladly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are a bit roomier since the average rooms tend to be small.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night mid week with my husband for a theatre trip. Booked the Ampersand after reading the great reviews here, and we weren't disappointed. We were upgraded on arrival (I got the impression this was something they try to do with first time visitors, obviously keen to make a good impression!). Check in was quick and the staff were lovely. Room was great - decent size for London and well equipped. We also ordered room service, and it was a real treat to find something on the menu that my ultra fussy husband would eat other than a cheese sandwich (this is EXTREMELY rare!). Food was lovely, as was breakfast which we had in our room.

Overall a fantastic stay, and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,072 in London
2,894 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#143 of 1,072 in London
869 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,072 in London
3,771 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#140 of 1,072 in London
683 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £196 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing