We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets. Great value, perfect location, top notch staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“As good as it gets. Great value, perfect location, top notch staff”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stop browsing, start booking.

I spend 30-50 nights/year in hotels, and can confidently say that The Ampersand is one of the best hotels I've ever experienced.

I used to live in Kensington (lucky me) and was looking to stay in the area on a recent business trip to London. Ampersand was within my budget (about $250 over the weekend) and stylish. I like the staff's vest (or waistcoat as the Brits call them), tie and jeans look so much that I may adopt it as my own personal style.

Only complaint would be the lack of clothing storage space, but I had a small (ie: cheap) room and I'm guessing the bigger rooms might have more space. This issue is also fairly commonplace in London.

Location is perfect for exploring the museums, Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall, Kensington and Chelsea, as well as being reasonably close to Westminster and Notting Hill as well.

London's best Spanish restaurant, Casa Brindisa, is right around the corner. Make reservations. There are unfortunately no truly good pubs in the immediate area (the Hoop & Toy is garbage), but the Anglesea Arms is a 10 minute walk away and is as Kensington as it gets. For another nice walk try to seek out Kynance Mews, which might be the most charming little street in London.

Room Tip: If you don't need space, get the cheap rooms. If you do need space, don't get the cheap room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoctorLogistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,420
    664
    101
    33
    18
See reviews for
679
1,491
254
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My mother, sister and I stayed at the Ampersand Hotel in South Kensington in February. We loved it!! The Hotel is in a great location,with gorgeous cafes, eateries,and museums at your feet. The Ampersand also has a gorgeous tea room and restaurant within the hotel .

The hotel is lovely, beautiful interiors and fabulous staff who were very helpful! I would definitely recommend staying at this place for anyone who likes a little luxury at an affordable price.

I will definitely be back there each time I'm in London !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I went for the "stay two nights and get the third free" offer. Considering how expensive London is, it was a very good deal as hotel is new, staff helpful and friendly, mattresses relatively firm (have real problems with soft mattresses but even in 5 star hotels in London, mattresses tend to be too soft...not worth paying a small fortune for a bad back the next morning!), delicious breakfast in the restaurant in the basement (fresh organic items) and a tea lounge to die for at reception level. Rooms have different themes and different configurations. My room was almost perfect except for the extreme tiny closet and lack of more lighting as curtains and headboard were of an amazing deep navy velour. I loved the walk in shower instead of the customary shower and bath unit commonly found in most hotels in London. Bathroom amenities were top notch and generously replaced. Difficult to resist the blue rubber ducks...home now with me! Decor and details definitely worth a mention (cheerful, whimsy and a good eye for smart colour schemes). Hope it stays as clean and well maintained. One area of improvement would be a porter stationed at the entrance to help guests with their luggages...some steps to negotiate if luggage heavy. Neighbourhood comes with a tube station right next door and a short walk to Fulham Rd. (buzzing with shops and restaurants). If Ampersand's rates remain as friendly and maintenance is not compromised, guests will want to go back. I would!

Room Tip: Rooms likely all be different, each must come with pluses and minuses. Be adventurous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

It seems I am in London frequently, this time staying at the Ampersand Hotel for 4 nights. The hotel was chosen with its status and the amenities in mind.

Firstly, a very pleasant hotel, the room I chose (Deluxe Studio Room) was excellent, well furnished and tastefully decorated - with ample space and functional areas. It seems the room i was allocated had a bath in the room - very elegant and I am sure if not a business trip then a 'modern' and excellent feature.
The bathroom, cupboard spaces were very good and there was a Nespresso machine (very much to my liking) and free soft drinks.

I did not take breakfast as early to work, but i did eat in the Apero restaurant a couple of time - both choices 'lamb' and 'pork' dishes were very good and a good portion size. Room service menu was very limited but you could use Apero (during restaurant opening times)

Front desk and concierge were very efficient, they were courteous and helpful.
I used the internal laundry service - functional and 24hour turn around - though I did struggle with language barrier.

The surrounding area has a number of restaurants and a couple of bars, it is literally 100 yards from South Kensington tube entrance and on a relatively quite road - room noise was minimal from the road.

Free wifi was a welcome, though I did find the service a little slow for work purposes

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would consider another business stay at the hotel. I would also consider the hotel as a tourist and it is very close to a number of excellent museums and attractions.

I will book again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Stubing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

After spending 2 nights at The Berkeley Hotel in Knightsbridge we tried out the Ampersand in South Kensington for one night. We were happy to get an upgrade to a suite - lovely furnished 2 rooms (with balcony) with a small kitchen including nespresso coffee maker. Nice bathroom with a lot of amenities (liked the little ducks!). We enjoyed a good continental breakfast in the drawing room. Perfect atmosphere. The service is very friendly and professionell (much better than in the Berkeley). In the evening we decided to have dinner in the Apero- which was one of our best ideas. Being fans of good and high quality food we were more than surprised. We loved it! Especially the straciatella cheese with chilli tomato sauce. We will come again.

Room Tip: Take a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

If you are lucky you will get a nice room with sofa, armchair and some space.
If you are unlycky you will get a minimal duobleroom with no furniture and the TV on the wall.
Dont expect to have the room displayed on the web. I didnt.
I know rooms are small in London but for this price and a doubleroom I expect more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Ampersand, and could't fault anything about this hotel! The highlights for me were: the best martini I've ever had, in the Apero bar; the heated bathroom floor; and our room service breakfast (good value and delicious). However, it was the excellent and friendly customer service that really made our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigheford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,069 in London
2,774 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#147 of 1,069 in London
850 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,700 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,177 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#143 of 1,069 in London
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing