We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Addition to the London Hotel Scene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Addition to the London Hotel Scene”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is a charming hotel! I was most impressed with the warmth of the staff...every time I would return I honestly felt as though I was coming home. Everyone at the Ampersand aims to please.
My room was the most basic category and was quite small however it really had all the functions of a great guest room... The bathroom was lovely and I adored the heated floors in there... great spot!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaConnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted you had such a pleasant stay, the team do their very best to ensure all guests have a wonderful stay so it great to be able to share such positive feedback with them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand on your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,328
    643
    97
    30
    17
See reviews for
655
1,430
243
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I've just returned from a wonderful 9 day stay at the Ampersand in South Kensington. It has lots to recommend it.

Location: In a great neighborhood that is a mix of lovely streets, pretty houses, easy walking distance to Knightsbridge, V&A Museum, Natural History Museum. Across the street from the South Kensington tube (on the Circle, District and Piccadilly lines), with a taxi queue across the street. Despite being near the tube and on a main bus route, the hotel is very quiet and hardly any road noise can be heard from inside.

Hotel: Our room on the fourth floor was very quiet, with a wonderful bed, large bathroom and lovely fixtures/appointments. Very posh inside. The tea room, bar, restaurant, lounge areas, gym are all lovely.

Nearby: There is a charming pedestrian cafe spot behind the tube station with cafes, bars, restaurants and shops. The V&A Museum is wonderful, not to be missed. A short walk to Sloane Square is fairly easy, and is a neighborhood worth exploring.

Some favourite restuarants/bars/shops: Polpo Covent Garden, Hawksmoor Seven Dials, Daylesford Organic, The Orange Public House, Electric Diner, Comptoir Libanais, Jamie's Diner, Mishkin's, La Fromagerie, Marylebone Pub, The Port House and Dishoom.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and giving such a wonderful rating. I am delighted we were able to provide you with a great base to explore London from and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Everything suited me during a four night stay last month. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful if required but in no way obtrusive. I had a standard double room which was perfect for me alone but may be a bit of a squeeze for two people. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom excellent. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (including the bedrooms) which I did not encounter in any other UK hotel I stayed in, newspaper delivered to the door and free local phone calls. I had a light lunch in the Drawing Rooms one day and it was beautifully served. All of that combined with the closeness of the South Kensington tube and useful buses and lots of good eating spots make it easy to recommend. And it is so tastefully and interestingly decorated making it a pleasure to walk into.. I loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay at The Ampersand.
I am delighted we ticked all of the boxes in both the room an the service provided to make your stay in London an enjoyable experience.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

OMG! I don't know where to start as I am so exited to be writing a 'top review' & this doesn't happen very often with me!
Booked for our Anniversary after reading nearly every hotel review in the 'Big Smoke'
So pleased that I went with my gut instinct & booked the Fantastic 'Ampersand'
Located about 20 secs walk from South Kensington Tube station, practically opposite a Lamborghini dealership-what a fantastic location, one stop from Green Park (I believe) & one stop from Knightsbridge-great for Harrods, Harvey Nichs.
Buzzing, lively atmosphere with plenty of great Cafe's & Eateries on your doorstep!
Hotel was beautiful, newly opened last August I believe, prominent place on the street, painted in a lovely grey colour - look at me, I'm even getting excited about the exterior!!!
Reception was cosy & clean & modern & the staff are amazing, so helpful & genuinely friendly, not stuck up like so many places are.
Oh forgot to say my experience with Reservations was the best service I have ever received anywhere, lady was fantastic, took her time & was lovely, ensuring I got a room with a walk in shower & at the front of the building!
Was shown up to room which was lovely, very modern-you just hold door card infront of panel to open!
Room was stunning (Room 207) A corner deluxe room which was large for London, I did upgrade to this room & could not have been happier!!!
Bed-Fantastic, Sound system in shower room - Fantastic, actually everything was fantastic, complimentary soft drinks in fridge etc etc....won't say much more as it's nice to sometimes experience things without any preconception! Just one thing...a soft close toilet seat would be good!
No noise from other rooms-maybe we were just lucky? Good sleep apart from the traffic noise outside but hey you are in Central London practically & you could feel the underground quite frequently-must run directly under Hotel?
Ate out at Petrus that evening but next time would like to sample their own restaurant.
Ate breakfast at hotel, good but quite expensive ie 2 eggs were £5!!! if adding on to your dish.
Really truly madly deeply loved this hotel & would not hesitate to return, would not even bother searching for another hotel & have already recommended to friends & family.
Lovely boutique hotel for that special occasion or any occasion ;)
Loved, loved, loved!!! Left with a smile on my face.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KG22OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. I am thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us and we were able to make your anniversary a truely special occasion. It is a great pleasure to share such wonderful feedback with the team as their ultimate goal is to have every guest leave the hotel with a smile on their face.
I look forward to welcoming you, your friends and your family to The Ampersand.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed at The Ampersand for 4 nights and strongly recommend it for the following reasons:
1/ Location: very well located in London, closed by shopping area, museums and subway.
2/ Hotel itself: new, stylish in a british traditional way, furbished with taste, very well maintained
3/ Bedroom: I had a Deluxe Room, well furbished, bedding is very comfortable, bathroom a bit small but that's was ok.
4/ Dining: excellent food variety and quality
5/ Service: all were extremely friendly, smiling and ready to assist
6/ Gym: small but well equipped
To conclude, well done and thank you all for a lovely stay, I will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms below the Deluxe category are rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tombobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of The Ampersand.
I am delighted you had such a great stay with us and I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for one night at The Ampersand after flying in from dubai.

Location - excellent with 1 minute walk from south Kensington tube and plenty or shops/eateries close by

Rooms - small but very cosy, nice touch with the free soft drinks in the fridge in room
Comfy beds, soft pillows and large bathroom if not as big as the bedroom with double shower. Underfloor heating was good too, would come in handy in the winter months.

Staff- So so friendly and professional, very informative and helpful.

Thanks for a good night in London,

Would recommend, you won't be dissapointed

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am delighted your stopover in London was an enjoyable one and I hope you enjoy Mexico.

I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We enjoyed one classic and one chefs afternoon tea at The Drawing Rooms, The Ampersand Hotel in Harrington Road right by South Ken tube. The room and decor are lovely, service was very good, there is a selection of coffee table books to browse and newspapers (including the Guardian). I had the classic afternoon tea and my friend Rooth had the chefs which meant slightly different cakes and scones and sandwiches. My sandwiches were open whereas Rooth's were in profiterole cases! Different and light. As a veggie they gave me cheese and pickle, cream cheese, cucumber and tomato/olive, they could probably improve on this a bit and make sure there is at least some cheese or egg on each piece of bread but the scones and cakes and tea were exemplary and our tea pots were refilled several times as part of the afternoon tea. We were only charged extra when Rooth switched types of tea. The hotel itself is very modern and bright, its a handy place to know if you're in the area and you can just choose individual cakes from the delicious looking display. The only thing I'd say is more choice for veggies please! Otherwise a delightful and affordable afternoon tea! Toilets appear to be unisex which is a little odd in a fancy hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Drawing Rooms and your afternoon tea experience.
We are very lucky to have such a creative team in pastry kitchen of the hotel who constantly produce such wonderful cakes and treats.
We are now also offering an Afternoon Tea Picnic Hamper with champagne in Hyde Park a perfect treat for a sunny day.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,617 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#154 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing