We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night on new years eve . The hotel is lovely the staff were wonderful. The decoration in the hotel is lovely and the rooms to. We went to the bar and had two glasses of champagne which was included in our room price. The location of the hotel is great and although it is on a very busy road there was no evidence of noise in our room, I hope to return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for your great review. New Year's Eve is a fantastic night to be in London and I am delighted we were able to add to the celebrations of bringing in the New Year.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand next time you vist London.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,855 - 2,861 of 3,484 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

we are part of 4 couples staying for 2 nights to celebrate a 50th birthday
great location, a hundred metres to south kensington tube station
natural history museum only 5 minutes walk
beautiful rooms small but superbly furnished, very helpful friendly staff
this is a perfect hotel to base a visit to London
see you soon !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAELNOONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for your great review. It is always fun for us to help guests celebrate special occasions. I am delighted the team looked after you so well.
I am very much looking forward to welcoming you all back to The Ampersand.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We booked a night here to celebrate our anniversary and were not disappointed. The hotel is in a fab location in South Kensington, the tube is a 2 minute walk away and as soon as we entered the hotel we were impressed.

The hotel is decorated extremely simply but looks so good! The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a Superior room as part of an offer online, and whilst the room could be considered a little small it was extremely well decorated, with an exceptionally good walk in shower (bathroom too small for a bath).....I wish my shower at home was that good. The other amazing thing in the room was the bed....as soon as our heads hit the pillow we had the best nights sleep in ages.
There was also a complimentary mini bar in the room with a few soft drinks which was really good after a day out and in London.
We thought that the Ampersand has lots of charm and the exceptional staff mean that we will definitely be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Ampersand. I am delighted we able to make your celebration a special stay.All of the team try hard to ensure everyone has a memorable stay and are always pleased when this is achieved.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in London.

KInd regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Gorgeous hotel, extremely handsome staff, very helpful in every way. The rooms are tiny but ultra chic; the best bathrooms with under floor heating and the most amazing shower head - this rates among the best showers - and especially in England where water pressure can be totally rubbish - this packs a punch. The rubber ducky is a cute addition. Huge bed and so comfortable.
Fortunately I was upgraded to a larger room on the top floor; though even from here you can slightly hear traffic noise and feel/hear the tube running below the street.
Super sexy furnishings, decor, restaurants and afternoon tea areas - this is a shmick fit out and one that invites you back for more/longer stays.
Ideal location; such a fitting end to an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supertooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

If you are looking for a perfect holiday hotel, Ampersand hits the mark ..... The first thing that grabbed my attention was the wonderfully comfy beds and pillows. Jet lag wasn't a problem because I just melted into the most comfortable bed and pillows and lights were out for me in seconds.

The decor of the hotel and rooms are so different to many hotels I've stayed in. It's well laid out, great amenities and I love the way they package the bathroom essentials, not forgetting the rubber duckie!

Location is always important for travelers and the Ampersand is perfectly located in the middle of terrific range of restaurants and cafes e.g. Carluccio's, Hummingbird Bakery, La Pain Quontidien and I highly recommend Maxela for steak lovers - it's an Italian restaurant that serves 40 to 50 day aged meats from Piedmonte. Service here is excellent too. There's also Lebanese, Polish, Japanese and Moroccan eateries.

I love walking and it's a 10 minute walk to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. I was even able to walk right up to Marble Arch. Transportation is very convenient - the South Kensington tube station is 2 minutes round the corner as well.

Only recommendation I have is the service in the Drawing Room can be better. My husband and I waited 15 minutes to be served one evening.

Cant wait to return to London because of Ampersand !

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Masie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of you stay at The Ampersand. I am very pleased you had such a great stay with us and appreciate all your comments.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is a charming hotel! I was most impressed with the warmth of the staff...every time I would return I honestly felt as though I was coming home. Everyone at the Ampersand aims to please.
My room was the most basic category and was quite small however it really had all the functions of a great guest room... The bathroom was lovely and I adored the heated floors in there... great spot!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaConnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted you had such a pleasant stay, the team do their very best to ensure all guests have a wonderful stay so it great to be able to share such positive feedback with them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand on your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I've just returned from a wonderful 9 day stay at the Ampersand in South Kensington. It has lots to recommend it.

Location: In a great neighborhood that is a mix of lovely streets, pretty houses, easy walking distance to Knightsbridge, V&A Museum, Natural History Museum. Across the street from the South Kensington tube (on the Circle, District and Piccadilly lines), with a taxi queue across the street. Despite being near the tube and on a main bus route, the hotel is very quiet and hardly any road noise can be heard from inside.

Hotel: Our room on the fourth floor was very quiet, with a wonderful bed, large bathroom and lovely fixtures/appointments. Very posh inside. The tea room, bar, restaurant, lounge areas, gym are all lovely.

Nearby: There is a charming pedestrian cafe spot behind the tube station with cafes, bars, restaurants and shops. The V&A Museum is wonderful, not to be missed. A short walk to Sloane Square is fairly easy, and is a neighborhood worth exploring.

Some favourite restuarants/bars/shops: Polpo Covent Garden, Hawksmoor Seven Dials, Daylesford Organic, The Orange Public House, Electric Diner, Comptoir Libanais, Jamie's Diner, Mishkin's, La Fromagerie, Marylebone Pub, The Port House and Dishoom.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and giving such a wonderful rating. I am delighted we were able to provide you with a great base to explore London from and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,077 in London
3,038 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,293 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,058 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,077 in London
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £170 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing