We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can never go wrong by staying here! Fabulously wonderful hotel - couldn't get better!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #43 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You can never go wrong by staying here! Fabulously wonderful hotel - couldn't get better!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was one of the highlights and perfect ending to my summer vacation! Like my title says - u really can't go wrong by staying here. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT, its worth every penny. I loved this hotel, its got everything u might want - the English atmosphere you'd want to feel in London yet with a chic retro-ish twist, terrific friendly service, perfect location. The upside of it being a boutique hotel is its got its own uniqueness which u won't find staying anywhere else in London - and also its got the luxury as one would expect (but don't always see) staying in a 5 star hotel. I loved it...loved loved loved it. Can't say enough great things about this place...if ur trying to find a hotel to stay at THIS IS IT!!
Upon arrival the lady at the reception greeted us warmly & explained whats around and things like that, then gave us our key. Daniel - who's also so sweet & helpful, showed us to our room & explained a few things. He also gave us tips on where to watch the final champions league game. The room we stayed at was the Deluxe Room - it was fabulous. When I saw it I was overjoyed. Its a really beautiful spacious room, so warm & cozy, it has the most comfortable bed ever, its actually hard to leave in the morning. There are tea/coffee making facilities available, with home-made type delicious daily cookies. Their mini-bar is complimentary (water, sparkling water, juices, milk, coke/diet coke), and whenever something runs out u can just ask for more (which u won't actually need). I love those added things, they really make u want to come back to a certain place. The bathroom is also great, very spacious and has everything u need. The robes are so fluffy & even their slippers are too comfy. I was a little worried when I looked out the window & saw the view to be right next to a primary school, but trust me u can't hear a thing. It's not the least bit annoying, u can't even tell unless u look outside & for me it was actually a happy thought watching the kids outside. Rooms get cleaned twice a day. The free hotel Wifi is really good. The people at the reception are wonderful, so friendly and they do their best to help u out. Everyone's just super, always greeting u with a wonderful smile. Because it was mine & my husband's 3rd wedding anniversary they sent us a complimentary small box with the yummiest biscuits - so scrumptious. It was such a sweet gesture of them, I was even more ecstatic then & just felt like I'd already got my money's worth - these small details really do matter. I would recommend booking directly through the hotel, use the 3 for 2 nights offer. Its really really good & u save a lot if u want to stay here, we stayed for 7 nights (had to pay a lot more for the 1 extra) - but like I said its worth it. We didn't get breakfast included in our rate, i'm sure theirs is tasty but if u like trying out different places then this is the perfect location, there are so many delicious places around u can go to for breakfast or anytime actually.
The tube is literally just down the road, like less than 2 mins walk u just have to cross the side road. Around the tube there are loads of quick eats, really good breakfast places, many restaurants. There's a really delicious bakery/cake shop. There's also the usual Starbucks & Pret A Manger across the street from the tube station.
One of the hotel staff members - I can't remember what his name was, maybe Thomas, was so helpful in trying to get us last minute tickets to the lion king musical. All in all it was a perfect stay - I will definitely be back...hopefully soon (can't wait to come back)! I'm already recommending it to friends who might be going soon.

Room Tip: Book using the 3 for 2 nights offer! Totally worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AreejDaoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,311
    631
    96
    30
    17
See reviews for
649
1,417
240
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

From the perspective of this frequent business traveler, this was one of the best hotel experiences I've had in a very long time. The location was perfect. The rooms were small but comfortable (with a complimentary minibar - who gives you a complimentary minibar???). The staff were to a person pleasant, helpful, friendly and engaging (and seemed genuinely interested in every traveler and their trip).

The value was incredible. London can be so expensive and this was so reasonable. I would have expected a price twice as much as we paid.

The neighborhood is great. Lots of food choices very closeby as is the Underground (South Kensington station, a direct connection to Heathrow and Picadilly Circus). The hop on/hop off bus tour stops outside the door.

I cannot think in one thing I would change about it. Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel was really nice, it is located next to the south Kensington tube, and for those who haven't been to London this is a very pretty neighborhood. It also has a bus stop in the corner where you can go to and from Piccadilly at day or night.

The people who attended us where great. The breakfast is good as well.

We couldn't use the game room because the room was occupied due to some external events :(

The room was small but very nice, bed was big, the bathroom had independent sound so you could hear the tv from inside, the bathroom floor had heat so it was a warm touch, the decoration is very nice.

Overall great choice

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I have stayed 3 days at this great hotel, conveniently located next to South Kensington tube station (if you arrive from Heathrow airport the tube will take you here in 30 minutes), the Victoria & Albert Museum, Knightsbridge and Harrods. It is a beautiful place, with free WiFi, a complimentary mini-bar and great facilities. The area is very lively and full of restaurants, bars and cafes. Staff is friendly and the tall red haired lady at the Reception is a God-send.
Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, N Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Firstly, the location is perfect for accessing all areas of London by tube which is really nearby. The staff were lovely, pleasant and friendly,the decor was fresh and dean but in a cosy way. Max had arranged for our room ready for us to use to freshen up after our flight as we going to Wimbledon as I had emailed them the night before. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelle_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

This has to be the quintessential boutique hotel - stylish and chic without pretension. The room was spacious and comfortable, the service warm and friendly and decor exquisite. A short stroll from South Kensington tube stop and close to the museums and high street shopping. The tea salon or drawing room is gorgeous and the library is stocked with the most interesting reads, all selected by a local book seller. The breakfast in the basement eatery was terrific, original and simple. The decor and objets d'art flavor the decor and make this a unique experience. Sure, its not at the cheap end of the range of accommodation in London but worth it. Also surprisingly quiet given the buzz in the streets around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I spent three weeks at the Ampersand in May and found it to be an excellent hotel in every way. Firstly, and most important I think, the location was excellent.......1 minutes walk to the South Kensington tube station (on the Piccadilly, Circle & District lines,) 1 min walk to bus stops servicing several areas of London and a taxi rank right out the front of the hotel. My room was lovely, being fresh, modern & clean. Beautiful bed & pillows (I even looked at the brand tag to see if I could buy them in Australia), and a modern bathroom with a great shower nozzle plus an extra hand-held spray, heated flooring and heated mirror as swell as a magnifying makeup mirror. Fresh milk, water, juice and soft drinks were complimentary and re stocked every day. It is these little extras that make a difference I think. The restaurant, bar and tea room were wonderful. I often sat in the tea room with a cuppa late in the afternoon writing in my diary whilst waiting for my daughter to meet me after work. It was fun looking out the window watching the world go by. What can I say about the staff? Well, they were really lovely people.....very friendly, courteous and helpful (Hi to Sam, Alberto, Thomas & Miriam). Can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#158 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing