We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I've just spent 3 nights in a Deluxe room here and I have to day that it was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful and every request we had was met promptly (including an ice bucket and glasses for the champagnes we'd brought with us).

The room was clean and, for London, fairly spacious with a lovely modern design which has some lovely little touches. The hotel itself is in a great location, literally 30 seconds walk from South Kensington tube station.

My only complaint is that the bacon sandwich I ordered as breakfast one morning wasn't quite to my taste. Other than that it was perfect. Would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LePamplemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,726 - 2,732 of 3,449 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in July with my husband and stayed in a deluxe room. It was perfect.

The room and hotel were both stunning and the beds were so comfortable. The service from all the staff was impeccable and the reception staff were very friendly and welcomjng. The hotel was classy but not at all stuffy.

We had breakfast at the apero each morning which was delicious and good value. We also had an evening meal there which was superb, especially the beetroot risotto and the red mullet.

The location is fantastic especially for the museums.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others and will stay again when back in london

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne_kilshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Flying into London early one freezing June morning, I arrived at The Ampersand Hotel at around 6.30am. The night staff were still on duty and quickly arranged a cup of tea in the lounge and shortly after a room in which I could shower and change. Over my 3 night stay, the staff consistently offered outstanding service. Arriving back from a day of sightseeing my Deluxe ground floor, front room was available. The room was beautifully appointed and spacious. The bathroom was large and wheelchair accessible (not necessary for me). Unfortunately this room felt like it was directly over the subway (the hotel is conveniently close to the South Kensington tube station). Heading back to reception, I asked if it was possible to change rooms. Again, the staff were delightful. They didn't have a room available in the Deluxe category but were very happy to show me a smaller room on a higher level and then move me to a larger room for the remaining two nights. I accepted! This room was much smaller and towards the back of the hotel but certainly adequate for 1 person (although my suitcase had to sit in front of the entrance door). I wouldn't recommend this size room for 2 people unless they travel extremely lightly! My (Deluxe) room for the remaining two nights was at the front of the hotel on a higher floor and was extremely comfortable - it looked exactly like the photos from their website.
The only meal I ate at the hotel was breakfast, choosing the buffet option, which had a great range of cereals, pastries, fruit and dairy.
I used the gym on only one day and to be honest, this was the only disappointing aspect of the hotel's facilities. It was in the basement, with no natural light and not enough ventilation (it smelt damp & mouldy). As stated on the hotel's website, there a 3 pieces of cardio equipment and a free weights area. The latter was tiny and really only enough room for one person to workout (there were 3 of us in the gym at one stage).
The location in South Kensington is so convenient with the tube a two minute walk away and so many of London's attractions at or close to your doorstep.
My experience at The Ampersand was wonderful. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if subway noise / vibration worries you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaterinaDue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night on a trip to London for my birthday, and I may be slightly biased in my review as my boyfriend proposed to me on the balcony of our room :)

Quite apart from the proposal, we found the service to be wonderful and the room gorgeous - huge bed, two televisions, a well-appointed bathroom with fantastic toiletries and of course the balcony with a beautiful jasmine bush in bloom was amazing. And it's only a few minutes walk away from South Kensington tube station and several restaurants and cafes for food.

Next time we're in London we'll definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_fan_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Ampersand is a charming boutique hotel in South Kensington most conveniently located just steps away from the South Ken Tube station. We stayed in a Deluxe Studio which is spacious, having its own sitting area and a king size bed. The decor is modern baroque in strong primary colours. The bathroom was particularly huge, which is unusual for London. Loved the cute baby blue rubber duckie that you could take home. The hotel is located in an area filled with restaurants (the hotel has its own restaurant in the basement but we didn't eat our meals there other than for one breakfast) and is minutes away from The Natural History Museum and the V&A. Hyde Park is a 10-minute walk away and there are quite a few Barclays bike stations near the hotel if you feel like renting a bike (which we did). Would strongly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street as it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aegyogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night in November last year, it first caught my eye as it had been recently refurbished and was in a nice area of London close to the tube. It did not disappoint, it was a lovely modern hotel, the decor was gorgeous and not overdone. The basement was home to the restaurant and I would highly recommend, our food was delicious. The bedrooms although ours was a bit small was very comfortable and had everything you needed. I would also recommend a little cafe opposite the hotel across from the tube Muriels kitchen which was also delicious for lunch or a coffee, if I was to visit London again I would definitely stay here, no question!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misslilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel, from the first greeting to the last check out goodbye, is a winner. Staff are friendly and helpful, the restaurant fare, including high teas, are worthwhile. The rooms are classical yet modern, with the bird and music theme keeping an air of lighthearted comfort. Easy access to the museums, South Kensington station, and Royal Albert Hall, all made this hotel doubly perfect. The neighborhood is fine, with shops, bus stops and restaurants. We are pleased that we chose the Ampersand Hotel. When compared to other equally convenient accommodation locations, the value for this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sassygringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,001 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,261 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#64 of 1,077 in London
3,651 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £173 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing