We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #50 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Perfect hotel for a few nights in London. Great location, 50 m walk to the subway of South Kensington, 5 min walk to the Victoria and Albert museum, 15 min walk to Harrods. Perfect! Service in the hotel is fantastic. Good and friendly staff. Breakfast is awesome!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are bigger, I noticed that the normal double rooms are really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogier2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,453
    670
    104
    34
    18
See reviews for
695
1,514
255
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I did a flying visit to London for one night before heading to Ireland from Australia. I was beside myself with excitement to stay at The Ampersand after reading so many fab reviews. It did not disappoint. From the minute we arrived it felt like home. Service was second to none. The room whilst small was fine for one night stay. Amenities were amazing. We had breakfast in the dining room and it was delicious. My dad has not stopped raving about the little museli yoghurt mix in a jar. The bell boys were lovely and very helpful with directions etc. If you need somewhere for lunch I can suggest going to Dinner by Hestons which is only a few blocks away. AMAZING!!! Overall I could not fault one thing. Now my favourite hotel in London, actually anywhere!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess7pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel was just what is needed for a perfect stay in London. The room was very clean and comfortable (we were given an upgrade because we had to wait a very short time for it to be ready when we arrived). The bed itself was extremely comfortable. The mostly young staff were very friendly and as helpful as they could be, although some local knowledge was a little lacking. The real highlight was the location. Just metres from the South Kensington Underground station which connects to three lines. Buses literally outside the door which travelled in to central London and out to Kensington High Street and far beyond. Walking distance from the Victoria and Albert and other museums. Many, many eating options nearby. Minutes from the buzz and excitement of the city but far enough to get away from the chaos. Will happily stay there again when next in London.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Parents G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Lovely interior design, brilliant service, professional staff and great location.
Hotel locates just a few minutes walk from the South Kensington station and from several museums: Victoria & Albert Museum, Natural History Museum and Science Museum for instance. There are marvelous restaurants Apero and The Drawing Rooms in this hotel. Apero requires previous booking, The Drawing Rooms welcomes you any time.
I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there next time I’ll visit London.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Loving clean hotel in a good location but room even for city standards was small. Staff nice and helpful but could not find two items for me one being skimmed milk two being an iron I was allowed to keep in my room but overall a nice place to stay thanks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elb190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed at The Ampersand in April - & it was an absolute delight. The rooms are beautifully appointed with great amenities & the staff are very welcoming & knowledgeable. The location is great - & breakfast is fab. I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Friendly staff. Beautiful room and very spacious. The most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and hotel in great location. Just around the corner from great shopping, close to the underground and lovely cafes across the road.
Arrived early and room was made available within 15 minutes.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,069 in London
2,820 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#152 of 1,069 in London
855 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,730 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,205 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#142 of 1,069 in London
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing