We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A boutique hotel with a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A boutique hotel with a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel has a great location - just across the street from So Kensington underground station with easy access to buses to Harrods, Picadilly, and the theatre district. The rooms are small, but with modern amenities and a super comfortable bed. The breakfast is quite good and is served in a pleasant and welcoming space. I wouldn't say the staff is warm and fuzzy, but they a certainly accommodating and helpful.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markdolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,259
    619
    96
    30
    17
See reviews for
621
1,393
236
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here last month. The hotel was lovely, friendly staff and helpful. The room we booked wasn't as big as it looked from the pictures. The location was good and we were able to check in early. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I had high hopes of the Ampersand due to the reviews on Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. On arrival we learnt that we had been upgraded to a Superior room which put both my husband and I in fantastic moods for our night away in London. The room whilst not massive was perfectly big enough for the two of us for a night with room for our cases and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was small but amazing, and provided luxurious bath products, dressing gowns with came with a rubber duck which was a wonderful surprise as was the heated floor! The bed was so comfortable; we literally sunk into it after a tiring day of sightseeing!

The staff were a absolute delight, allowing us to leave our bags before we checked in and after we checked out to allow us to go and explore London free of baggage! Every member of staff we encountered was polite, chatty and helpful which really enhanced our time at the hotel.

The location is perfect, 2 minutes walk from Kensington Tube Station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lou82uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We really liked the hotel, it was in a great location very close to the tube. The design is lovely and teh breakfast was good too. It was clean the staff was super helpful and lovely they even attempted some German with us.

However the room was super small, there was just enough space to squeeze round the bed (widths of the side table) and the bathroom (shower room, again small) was starting say a good 50 cm from the end of the bed, which was also a small "english" double which is only 140 cm wide. We would have appreciated to be informed more about the size as we would have upgraded to a normal size room instead of a cupboard.

Room Tip: Don't book the cheaper option as the rooms are so small, they are lovely looking but unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lineeee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for one night on 24th August, what a great hotel. Perfect location, walking distance to The Kings Road, Harrods, South Kensingnton Station, Natural History and Science Museums. Lots of lovely restaurants in the area. Staff are very friendly and helpful, we were able to check in early, whch was really handy for us, the breakfast menu is lovely as is the breakfast room. Our room was a small, but lovely all the same, bed was uber comfortable. Very good value considering location. Will defiantly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We just spent 4 nights here. The hotel was clean and the furnishings very comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room (we had booked a superior twin room) is quite tight, but it wasn't a major issue for us. If you are a person who likes space though, take that into consideration. The location is absolutely ideal. The only difficulty we had was breakfast. The continental breakfast is included, but for those like us who can't have a lot of sugar/are trying to be healthy, it's very pastry and carb heavy, 90% of it is croissants and bread... we ended up ordering eggs off the menu each day which became expensive. Some more cold meats (smoked salmon for example) would have been welcome, each morning there was just ham. Boiled eggs would have been fabulous, as would have a wider selection of fruits. I'd also have liked to have had access to some healthier cereals and a jug of skim milk accessible rather than sugary muesli and cornflakes and whole milk only. The weetabix was a godsend. Jugs of cold water would have been nice too instead of having to bother the waitstaff constantly for little glasses. I know this widens the traditional definition of 'continental breakfast' but in a lot of hotels (most notably the wonderful and similarly sized and styled Hotel Drisco in San Francisco) the 'cold' breakfast is done so well with a lot of options. Otherwise a very, very good stay.

Room Tip: Get the biggest room possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prbstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as a place to recuperate after a very long flight. We arrived a little early before the check in time of 2pm, the staff were very helpful and took our bags to our room whilst we went for a coffee nearby.

The hotel is less than 50 meters from South Kensington tube station so is excellent in that respect and obviously being in South Kensington you're within walking distance, if not a short tube ride from many of London's top attractions. There's also a host of high end shopping and restaurants close by.

We had the "Standard Double" room at £174 a night excluding breakfast. The hotel markets this on their website as ideal for single travellers or short stays but we found the room exceeded our expectations in terms of size given that it is central London and matched it in terms of comfort and decoration, although the lighting was a little on the dark side. Not much of a view but it was one of the "cheap" rooms. The bathroom was superb, great shower with an oversized head. Nice touch with complimentary soft drinks in the fridge and various bags containing travel items dotted around the room made it feel somewhat like a treasure trove. Clearly a lot of effort has gone in to this.

Highly recommend this place and would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,540 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#162 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#123 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#30 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing