We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We loved this hotel! The staff were friendly and efficient! The decor was lovely! We were very impressed by the little touches in the rooms. Good car service from the airport . Great location! We ate at the restaurant and had a delicious dinner with great service by Joseph! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RRIVAS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,666 - 2,672 of 3,449 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our recent three nights at the Ampersand. The location is perfect for for sightseeing. We took the Tube from Heathrow to South Kensington (with only a few dozen steps from the District Line after transferring at Hammersmith) and the hotel is steps away. We stayed in a deluxe studio - a comfortable large room - which was beautifully decorated. We had dinner one night at the hotel restaurant, Apero, which was very good. One word of warning - this location can be noisy. There is a lot of traffic in the area which can be heard even with double glazed windows, and on the first floor the rumbles of the Tube were clearly heard. These noises didn't bother us too much, but if you are used to very quiet night you might want to specify a room in the back on a higher floor to get a good night's rest.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mayo Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stylish and quiet hotel. Very new. Small rooms but with everything needed in the room. Very beautiful bathroom. Very tasty breakfast. And a great location. A two minute walk to the tube station. Near Victoria and Albert Museum, Harrods and many other interesting places.
Next time will stay here only.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _Mara66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this wonderful hotel. The rooms were clean and well decorated. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the staff was excellent. LOVED the free mini-bar (sodas and water, not alcohol) and the service. Location is pretty good, very close to the underground but sometimes felt a bit far from the major attractions. However, everything was still easy to get to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adventuresabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

One of my favourite hotels of all time - charming decor, delicious food and wine, great location, clean and safe. Where the Ampersand excels, though, is in the small touches - a rubber ducky in the bath, complimentary soft drinks, coffee, and cookies in our room, heated bathroom floor, and an umbrella for a walk in the rain. I'm afraid to tell anyone of this gem - I want to keep it to myself!!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank AM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I were celebrating his 60th birthday by spending a week in London exploring the city. We decided on the Ampersand based on recommendations by our travel agent and the reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews were spot on, the location is great as you have access to #3 major Tube lines at the South Kensington station across the street. There is a bus stop right outside the front entrance that is convenient(unless it is around rush hour and you have to try move through crowd to get to the front door)A Tesco express is nearby in case you need some groceries. There are several restaurants on Old Brompton a couple of blocks away as well as a very busy local pub. The best place for breakfast or lunch is the Raison D'Etre on Bute St right around the corner. The owner, Matt, is French so the pan chocolat, croissants or sandwiches on baguettes are exquisite.
The hotel is new and well maintained, pop for a deluxe room if you need a little more space. Housekeeping keeps your room immaculate, the bed is very comfortable and the bath towels are very plush. The complimentary wifi and refreshments in the fridge are a plus.The staff is friendly, efficient and very professional. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Visit Marek in the Apero Bar if you want friendly service and entertainment when he makes one of many designer drinks out of the fresh produce and potions he has behind the bar. Pay attention to the rave reviews and book this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe room(#221) that had a love seat at the end of the bed. I think a standard might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jflk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We just got back from a 20th Anniversary trip to Paris and London. The 1st week was 8 days in Paris and then 5 in London at the Ampersand Hotel. The Hotel went through a major renovation last year and it looks great. The front desk always had very happy smiling people to check you in and help you during your stay. The beds are very comfortable and bathrooms very modern. I wish hotels would get rid of the high bathtubs you have to climb over to get to the shower. The
"ONLY" complaint is the tube noise that roars through the hotel till midnight and resumes at 5 in the morning. The hotel is in a great location with a lot of very good restaurants and museums in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,001 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,077 in London
3,261 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#62 of 1,077 in London
3,651 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £172 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing