We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ridiculously small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #43 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ridiculously small room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel is pretty, good location, great staff, but the room was simply too tiny. We had been traveling for 2 weeks already so we had decent amount of bags and could barely move and we are not large people. If we had been staying more than the one night, I would have asked to be moved. The size of the space was insulting. We travel a lot and I don't mind small rooms, this was absurd.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,311
    631
    96
    30
    17
See reviews for
649
1,417
240
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Everything was amazing right from the beginning! A bottle of champain was waiting us with a greeting card in our room. The location is ideal, just a few seconds walk for the underground station and a bus stop just outside. Extremely clean and cozy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostas91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My daughter, her future mother in law and myself stayed at the ampersand last week but unfortunately for only one night. The hotel was Absolutely First Class, the staff were very friendly and professional. The bedrooms were really well equipped, comfy beds and pillows and a real treat after a long day wedding dress shopping in London. Breakfast was first class and before we left for the train we enjoyed cakes and coffee (and a little prosecco to celebrate). Will definitely stay there again when we return for the second fitting!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely, newly renovated hotel, close to South Kensington tube station. Nicely appointed rooms and facilities in the Lounge and games room. And, of course, a great restaurant for breakfast downstairs.

We stayed at the Ampersand for our wedding night - Although we were happy enough with our room, we were a bit disappointed that no extra effort at all had been made, despite earlier informing staff. Also, we had booked a Deluxe Studio, but were not given one of these which had the bath in the room (which I had viewed earlier), and seemed to be a smaller room in comparison too. In my view, this is a different class of room, so be sure to confirm this when you book.

Room Tip: If booking a Deluxe Studio, make sure to request a room with a bath in the room. The rooms are appe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I sound like a broken record, but yes, I chose this hotel based on the TA reviews. Also, my sister told me South Kensington is a great location when staying in London. So, this was the hotel we picked for our first time ever in London. Of course, with the overnight flight from the states, we got to the hotel around 8:30 and, not surprisingly (I was expecting this), our room was not ready. Being the planner that I am, I figured we could hit the V and A museum (a short walk away) and then, hopefully, the room would be ready. The hotel stashed our bags and we sat down for a few minutes to get our bearings. Before we could head out to the museum, they told us our room was ready. Nice surprise. Off we went to our room. I found it, and the whole hotel, very chic and inviting. Obviously, this is an older building (which you would expect in London), but the way they renovated was, as they say, quite smashing. Whoever did the design in the room to the right of the check in, should get an award. This is the room where you apparently get breakfast and coffee. We later had tea here. Back to our room...it was small as expected (it's Europe!). However, the bath was bigger than what I expected. Also, they had a window we could open in the bath, which I always love. Two sinks in the bath, which was quite a surprise. They also had the wonderful Miller-Harris bath products from London. Great choice; local and smells great! The service in this hotel was great at the front desk. We tried the tea on our first afternoon and it turned out to be the best hot tea I've ever had in my life (the lemon tea). I couldn't believe how great it was. Of course, we ended up going back for tea the next two days, even pretty late in the afternoon. I found the service interesting in this area, though. Although they were always quick to greet us and get our order, once the tea was brought out, they were gone, never to come back and check on us. The servers were all very nice; it seemed they just didn't get the concept of checking back to make sure all was well. Fortunately, we didn't need anything, but still... All in all, the tea was so great, I would go back there again in a heartbeat.
I should also mention what a great location this hotel is. I found it to be perfectly situated for sightseeing in London. The tube station is right around the corner. There's a really good breakfast cafe' called Muriel's that serves fresh OJ and fantastic coffee. This is about 40 seconds from the front door of the hotel. Be forewarned; it was always busy. The icing on Ampersand's cake was a Ben's cookies just 2 door down from Muriel's. These cookies are amazing!! Hot, fresh and very interesting flavors (but, they still have the good ol' standards, which I love). Do not go to Ampersand without stopping for cookies to go at Ben's.

Room Tip: There is a school next door, so watch out for the noise of the kids during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at the Ampersand in September.
What a beautifully appointed hotel! we loved our room which was light, airy and the details were beautiful! The free mini bar was great and a lovely touch. The bath products were also nice. The tube is about a 1 min walk and everything we needed was just a street away. The staff were lovely and friendly. We also had high tea at the hotel which was nice. Nothing was too much trouble for the wait staff. We would stay here again and it made our stay in London one to remember.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room for extra space and to have the big windows which face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

A modern hotel with all of the amenities one could ask for. Less than a block from the metro, the location was very convenient to accessing all of London. The area around the hotel was active with shops, places to eat and museums.

The physical plant is modern,clean uses the ampersand in amusing ways around the facility. My wife and I stayed in a superior room with a king bed. The room was too small for the bed. A queen bed would have made the room seem more spacious. We stayed for 4 days and had inadequate shelf storage for our clothing. The staff was friendly and solicitous. They assisted us with directions, restaurant recommendations and were a,ways amiable no matter how trivial the issue. Prior to arrival the hotel arranged for car pickup at the airport.

The hotel bar and restaurant were always busy. We stopped in once for breakfast but left because it was too busy. We enjoyed ending or evenings with a nightcap at the bar.

We would definitely consider returning to this hotel next time we are in London.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are too small for a "king" bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banjo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#158 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing