We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #46 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Before starting this review, I was thinking if there was any negative point about the hotel, but I really couldn´t come up with anything, well, almost anything.
The location is excellent. Just get out of the South Kensington and look around you, and you´ll see the Ampersand. Nearby there is a lot of restaurants. On our first night in London, we asked the front staff an indication for a place do grab a bite, and they suggested: Rocca (an italian restaurant) or The Zetland Arms (a pub). Both were amazing, and we went there other 3 times, what shows how the staff is well informed about the area.
The hotel itself is really great. All the staff was very polite and very nice. The rooms are beautifully decorated, as well all the hotel areas. Unfortunately, our room had a view to a brick wall, wich was a negative point in our opinion.
The breakfast is not included, but if you choose to pay the price asked, it´s worth it. There´s a wide selection of pastry and many other options.
The drinks in the fridge (water, sparkling water, coke and diet coke) are complimentary, wich was a HUGE PLUS.
The other downside was that when we arrived, on a Saturday evening, the wi-fi wasn´t working inside the rooms. We told the front manager, and she said they already called the maintenance company. By Monday the wi-fi was good, so I guess it wasn´t a big problem.
When we were leaving to Heathrow, they offered a car service, wich was excellent, and the driver was really nice and polite.
We loved almost everything about this place, and wouldn´t hesitate to stay here again, as long as not in the same room. But except for that, the hotel is really amazing.

Room Tip: If you are very tall, like my husband, make sure you won´t stay in a room adapted for disabled peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pollywarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,253
    619
    96
    30
    17
See reviews for
617
1,393
235
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sourdeval, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ampersand in August 2013 and were delighted with the quality of the hotel, the cleanliness, the efficiency, friendliness and professionalism of the staff and the food was lovely too. The location is simply perfect if you want to see some of the sights that London has to offer, or even if you just want to stroll through a park, or sit in cafes and watch the world go by. The tube is a 30 second walk from the hotel so getting to and from it is a piece of cake.

We loved the hotel so much we went back again in October 2013 and chose is not only for all the reasons stated above, but also because I was running in the Royal Parks Foundation Half Marathon. The start line was a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel so there was no panicking about having to deal with early morning Sunday public transport.

We had breakfast and lunch in the Apero restaurant/bar and both were superb. The UnBEETable burger was simply delicious.

I really can't fault anything about this hotel. I will be back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel tend to be quieter (shielded from traffic noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Checks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nice boutique hotel in South Kensington a very short walk from the tube station. Close to the Victoria & Albert and other museums. My room was small (as advertised), but had some charm. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was nothing special (weak coffee). However, there are lots of good restaurants and pubs in the neighborhood. One of my favorites was Bosporus, a small kebab place around the corner on Old Brompton. Lunch at the V&A is also nice (amazing decor in the dining areas). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BootlessJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and good value for money. Very close to South Kensington underground station. Superior rooms are spacious enough and well equipped. Located at walking distance from museums, Hyde Park, Chelsea, Belgravia and department stores. I've chosen it for both business and leisure purposes (a short break) and I've been really satisfied. We're wery likely to come again in the future.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigram66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I just returned from a 6-night stay in the Ampersand Hotel. The location is perfect - less than a block to the tube station, short walk to the V & A museum, Natural History Museum, Science Museum, and Harrod's at Knightsbridge. Lots of good restaurants around as well, and in a very nice area. The staff were pleasant and knowledgeable. I never passed any hotel employee without them smiling and saying hello. My husband and I stayed in one of the Small Double Rooms. When I confirmed my reservation, the hotel advised that it would be small (which I knew from looking online). I knew it wouldn't be a problem - we spend very little time in the room when we travel and are used to smaller quarters - and was actually pleasantly surprised at how well equipped the smaller room was. There was a full length mirror, a nice little desk with a charging station for laptop/phone, plenty of storage in the small closet, and a nicely appointed bathroom.

We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellebee_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Fabulous boutique hotel in the heart of Kensington. I stayed in the deluxe studio on the first floor. The decor was great, we had a small lounge area and a massive bathroom. The staff were attentive and couldn't do enough to assist us. There were nice little touches such as the ducks in the bathroom. The beds were huge and comfy and overall I think that for a 5 star hotel in London, the rates are very good. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 1st or 2nd floor as the ceilings are higher. Front facing rooms offer more light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mxxx81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The design details are great. The single room is as tiny as advertised. There is literally only 2 feet of space around the bed. Just enough room for the suitcase and the extra bed pillows. No room for anything else at all. Not even a hook on the back of the door for my coat. The room would be impossible if I was traveling on business because there is no wardrobe. You can also hear all noise from the hallway. All it takes is for someone in charge to spend the night in a room to figure out what is missing. I mean I love the amenities, but what about the basics?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 95Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#161 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#122 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing