We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way short of perfect but quite good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #46 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Way short of perfect but quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Ampersand has a fantastic location and cool feel. Where it lacks is in service and rooms which are actually meant to be stayed in by guests. When we arrived the lobby was in disarray as overwhelmed front desk clerks struggled to check guests in. Luggage was piling up every where and it was definitely not the feel of a high end boutique hotel. The chaos with the front desk appeared to be a fairly regular occurrence as during our 4 day stay we saw this confusion every morning. We had a studio suite room which was hip & cool and provided two small separate areas. However, the entire decoration scheme was "form over function" and I literally had to move furniture to create room for ourselves. The closet is MINISCULE -- and totally unsuitable for more than one persons clothes. The room has NO dresser or drawers beyond a decorative table. The bathroom had NOWHERE to put toiletries and had little signs taking up the precious small amount of space. It was not the type of room where one would want to stay for a number of days making it difficult to recommend it as a top hotel in London.

Room Tip: Studio suites have two small areas -- the living area has a couch and table with chairs. The bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellArons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,251
    619
    95
    30
    17
See reviews for
616
1,392
234
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a lovely 2 days in and one day out during our London visit. South Kensington, a 5 minute walk has a street mall located at the tube stop,with lots of little restaurants and cafes including the wonderful little, restaurant Daquise, a London institution since 1940s. The spotlessly clean hotel is near Albert Hall , some museums and embassies, as well as a fifteen minute walk from Harrods. Standard rooms are cozy, very clean and very modern but very tiny. You might consider upgrading to a larger type room if considering a longer stay. Decor is a lively "British modern design" with touches of art and colour. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The desk personal and management provide spectacular and cheerful attention to service.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are nice but tiny. For longer then a night I would advise booking a larger catagory r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I had a weekend break with my wife and 2 children (17 and 19) in London in June and we stayed at The Ampersand. It was really good. A great location in a really cool part of town, good sized rooms (for London), and pleasant friendly staff. We will certainly use The Ampersand again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Ampersand is an interesting mix. When I first arrived, I was quite disappointed as there was no one at the front door and there was a flight of stairs at the entrance. I couldn't get my suitcase up the stairs alone and didn't know whether to leave the suitcase and get someone or not. The front desk people were friendly enough, but not very helpful and an early check-in was not available. They are young and untrained. Their uniform consists of a vest and jeans.
But the room was very clean and modern- everything is operated by touch. The amenities were nice and replenished daily and wifi and bottled water were free. The location is central and next to the Tube-- so it is convenient if not particularly attractive when you walk outside. The upstairs tearoom service was hopeless and the room service trays remained in the hall all day long despite requests to remove them. So - as you can see - a mixed experience.

Room Tip: Do not get a single room unless you don't mind being very cramped. I saw one being cleaned -- th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank vicvics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Before starting this review, I was thinking if there was any negative point about the hotel, but I really couldn´t come up with anything, well, almost anything.
The location is excellent. Just get out of the South Kensington and look around you, and you´ll see the Ampersand. Nearby there is a lot of restaurants. On our first night in London, we asked the front staff an indication for a place do grab a bite, and they suggested: Rocca (an italian restaurant) or The Zetland Arms (a pub). Both were amazing, and we went there other 3 times, what shows how the staff is well informed about the area.
The hotel itself is really great. All the staff was very polite and very nice. The rooms are beautifully decorated, as well all the hotel areas. Unfortunately, our room had a view to a brick wall, wich was a negative point in our opinion.
The breakfast is not included, but if you choose to pay the price asked, it´s worth it. There´s a wide selection of pastry and many other options.
The drinks in the fridge (water, sparkling water, coke and diet coke) are complimentary, wich was a HUGE PLUS.
The other downside was that when we arrived, on a Saturday evening, the wi-fi wasn´t working inside the rooms. We told the front manager, and she said they already called the maintenance company. By Monday the wi-fi was good, so I guess it wasn´t a big problem.
When we were leaving to Heathrow, they offered a car service, wich was excellent, and the driver was really nice and polite.
We loved almost everything about this place, and wouldn´t hesitate to stay here again, as long as not in the same room. But except for that, the hotel is really amazing.

Room Tip: If you are very tall, like my husband, make sure you won´t stay in a room adapted for disabled peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pollywarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sourdeval, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ampersand in August 2013 and were delighted with the quality of the hotel, the cleanliness, the efficiency, friendliness and professionalism of the staff and the food was lovely too. The location is simply perfect if you want to see some of the sights that London has to offer, or even if you just want to stroll through a park, or sit in cafes and watch the world go by. The tube is a 30 second walk from the hotel so getting to and from it is a piece of cake.

We loved the hotel so much we went back again in October 2013 and chose is not only for all the reasons stated above, but also because I was running in the Royal Parks Foundation Half Marathon. The start line was a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel so there was no panicking about having to deal with early morning Sunday public transport.

We had breakfast and lunch in the Apero restaurant/bar and both were superb. The UnBEETable burger was simply delicious.

I really can't fault anything about this hotel. I will be back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel tend to be quieter (shielded from traffic noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Checks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nice boutique hotel in South Kensington a very short walk from the tube station. Close to the Victoria & Albert and other museums. My room was small (as advertised), but had some charm. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was nothing special (weak coffee). However, there are lots of good restaurants and pubs in the neighborhood. One of my favorites was Bosporus, a small kebab place around the corner on Old Brompton. Lunch at the V&A is also nice (amazing decor in the dining areas). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BootlessJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,627 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#162 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#122 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing