We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #43 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great city hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Courteous and thoughtful front if house staff.
Great interiors.
All rooms (with the exception of the smallest which I had the unfortunate experience of staying in on one visit) are well appointed and fitted.
We'll worth a visit next time you are in London.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,303
    630
    96
    30
    17
See reviews for
643
1,416
240
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a recommendation. The location is great, rooms are gorgeous and the inclusion of beverages in the mini bar is also a plus. Downside as far as room was concerned, but easily fixed, was lack of hooks in the bathroom to hang towels etc on. Also, one would think if only the english breakfast tea was used in the mini bar, giving the guest more of that when replenishing supplies each day would make sense as it saves having to ring to housekeeping constantly to ask for more.

As far as service goes, some of the Reception staff, although not totally unpleasant, weren't very helpful or engaging and staff in restaurant seemed unorganised and lacking in good communication in general. Food was very good though so congratulations to the chef.

I think the hotel will have to lift its game if it is to maintain its current rating as far as staff is concerned anyway, maybe more effective training would help?

Room Tip: If you prefer a larger room, book a deluxe double
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Ampersand, and cannot say enough good things about it. The rooms are tastefully decorated, comfortable, and the location is perfect. The staff went above and beyond to make me feel welcome. Right down to the minute we checked out, the fellow working the desk - Cuban fellow - offered to get us some coffee before we rushed out to the airport. Incredible service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisonpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

A friend and I spent nine nights in this hotel in July during a "girls only" holiday in England and Ireland.
We had a superior twin room on the ground floor which was on the cosy side but had just enough storage for us, we each had a nightstand with storage, the closet was big enough and there were shelves above the tea/coffee area and mini fridge, plus some drawers on the desk. We made it work and the high ceiling and window that opened to a window box full of flowers made the room feel more spacious. The beds were made up with beautiful linens and were very comfortable, the bathroom was lovely with some nice touches.

We appreciated the free wi-fi (with no annoying pass code), the complimentary soft drinks and water replenished each day, with room in the fridge to store our own things and the newspaper on the door knob each day. Some hotels at this level nickel and dime you to death for these things and have annoying mini bars with over priced items that mustn't even be nudged or you pay for them!

The decor throughout the hotel is gorgeous: chic and whimsical at the same time with not a hint of stuffiness. We loved that the young friendly staff members wore jeans and a vest; despite the casual appearance they were unfailingly professional, attractive and well groomed, helpful and genuine; some of the best hotel staff I have encountered anywhere.

The location was perfect for us, lots of restaurant choices, great shopping, the park was close, the V and A museum, we walked to Chelsea a couple of times and when we went further afield the tube station is right across the street. Absolutely love this area.

For breakfast we switched between Apero in the hotel and Paul just over the road. (great coffee and pastries, but you can't eat pastry EVERY day!) My two favourite Apero breakfasts were the coconut porridge with caramelised bananas off the menu and the muesli/yogurt mix in the jar from the continental table.
Cocktails at Apero were delicous and very well executed...hats off to Marek; especially loved the Summersip. (like a Pimm's only better)

We ate dinner at Apero several times and it was all delicious, especially the beetroot risotto.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Took my husband to London for a big birthday and staying at this hotel was one of the best decisions made! As many of the reviews say...gotta agree that the location really is in a great neighborhood- right by the South Kensington tube so coming from the airport is super easy. It's also right by V&A Museum among others. It was also perfect for a Fall stroll/morning run in Hyde Park. Coming from a city and being a partial tourists- we considered it walking distance to some really amazing restaurants and fun shopping. The best part (for me) was really the fab decor- the rooms were stylishly decorated and very well maintained. It might have been because the hotel was fairly new then, but if they kept up the kind of superb service we got with handwritten welcome and thank you notes - just can't imagine staying anywhere else if we were to go back. To top it off the front desk and staff were helpful, friendly, and professional. (The only thing I can't comment is the food- we never ate there.)

Room Tip: Higher floors are definitely better option than ground floor- they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krazyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Ampersand has a fantastic location and cool feel. Where it lacks is in service and rooms which are actually meant to be stayed in by guests. When we arrived the lobby was in disarray as overwhelmed front desk clerks struggled to check guests in. Luggage was piling up every where and it was definitely not the feel of a high end boutique hotel. The chaos with the front desk appeared to be a fairly regular occurrence as during our 4 day stay we saw this confusion every morning. We had a studio suite room which was hip & cool and provided two small separate areas. However, the entire decoration scheme was "form over function" and I literally had to move furniture to create room for ourselves. The closet is MINISCULE -- and totally unsuitable for more than one persons clothes. The room has NO dresser or drawers beyond a decorative table. The bathroom had NOWHERE to put toiletries and had little signs taking up the precious small amount of space. It was not the type of room where one would want to stay for a number of days making it difficult to recommend it as a top hotel in London.

Room Tip: Studio suites have two small areas -- the living area has a couch and table with chairs. The bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellArons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a lovely 2 days in and one day out during our London visit. South Kensington, a 5 minute walk has a street mall located at the tube stop,with lots of little restaurants and cafes including the wonderful little, restaurant Daquise, a London institution since 1940s. The spotlessly clean hotel is near Albert Hall , some museums and embassies, as well as a fifteen minute walk from Harrods. Standard rooms are cozy, very clean and very modern but very tiny. You might consider upgrading to a larger type room if considering a longer stay. Decor is a lively "British modern design" with touches of art and colour. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The desk personal and management provide spectacular and cheerful attention to service.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are nice but tiny. For longer then a night I would advise booking a larger catagory r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#161 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing