We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #50 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Montpellier, France
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent a week-end with my wife in the Ampersand. Very nice experience. The hotel is very well located, easy to reach by taxi, bus or metro. It is very close to some museums and there are plenty of restaurants in a walking distance. The decoration of the hotel is very nice, and it has been fully refurbished a couple of years ago.The staff at the reception was very helpful and had very good restaurant's recommendations for the dinner. The breakfast in the restaurant which is downstair is good but nothing special. But again, you have plenty of options around the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polo67FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your support and lovely comments, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,450
    670
    104
    34
    18
See reviews for
693
1,513
255
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night whilst visiting family in London. It's in a great location, within yards of South Kensington tube station and is great for visiting the V&A museum, the Science museum, the Royal Albert Hall and the Natural History Museum.
The room was so cosy and comfortable. All the details were perfect. The furnishings are modern and cool, but not too minimalist.
I had my family visit me at the hotel.
We had a cream tea in the tea room, which was delicious and a good price. And we also ate dinner in the hotel, but in the restaurant in the basement. Again, the food was very good.
There is a games room in the basement with table tennis, and various board games.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Soccermum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and were able to sample all we had to offer from The Drawing Rooms to Apero.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand the next time you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centereach, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in the equally beautiful neighborhood of South Kensington. My husband and I stayed there for a week in September and I have to say the staff were wonderful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The room, although small was beautifully decorated and very clean and comfortable. The spa robes and slippers were a lovely touch. The location was perfect, right across the street from the South Kensington Tube Station, just a few stops away from the heart of the city and walking distance to all the museums. So easy to get around. There were plenty of restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: As the rooms are small I would definitely advise booking a Superior room for a couple if you are pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 510Travel510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. The team and I are thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

As a birthday gift I took my friend and I to The Drawing Room at The Ampersand Hotel.

We arrived a little early but were made to feel very welcome and were offered drinks whilst we waited. The waiter was very nice, polite and professional. He even apologised to us for not being able to order sooner as all the goodies were still being baked. Fresh, out the oven mouth watering goodies!

Once we had ordered, it wasn't long until this marvellous tiered eye-opener arrived. We didn't know were to start! Every flavour was delicious, the presentation was beautiful and you could see that time and care were taken in this afternoon delight.

It was a wonderful day, surrounded by lovely décor, tasty food and tea/champagne, good service and of course company. Will definitely be back! Thank you to all that made the afternoon perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powder78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Weekend in London to enjoy Museums and a concert at Wembley Arena. Two middle-years adults that stay in hotels rarely but value a great city-break.
First of all, I will pay for great location in major cities, and I rate The Ampersand as a top location. Real handy for Natural history museum and the V+A. South Kensington tube is 2 minutes away and is a good spot on the tube to get places.Good local eateries catering to most tastes, although we didn't go up-market. Recommend Martha's kitchen for good wholesome food in a buzzy cafe atmosphere.
The Hotel was good in every measure we have. Big comfy bed/ friendly check-in staff/ room felt like a "comfy-cave" / staff made things easy/ umbrellas provided at the entrance (handy..)
So 5 stars as we would only improve things by paying half the price, and that is fantasy land in London, quite understandably.
So if you value this location and want a great spot to bed-up, I heartedly recommend The Ampersand
Oh, and I got to learn what the name signified too, and it's great to learn something new every day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenpullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Its Not Like Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed at the Ampersand Hotel for the 3rd time, each time has been a good experience. Rooms have always been clean & well equipped, nice touch with a few drinks in the fridge. Little bit pricy but like they say you get what you pay for

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickydoodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The Ampersand hotel is a nice modern hotel which i was excited about staying in, however it's not as polished as it needs to be (esp given the price). Great location, high tech gadgets in the rooms and decor is lovely. This gadgetry comes with a price as rooms are lit up like Xmas trees at night. They are noisy too with clicking and an air conditioning system you can't switch off. The tv system is also high tech but alas failed to work on our first evening. They fixed it but not before 2 staff fiddled about in the room (while we are sat on our dressing gowns). I have to agree that the staff don't seem well trained. Worse was breakfast. It was included on our rate. However when we came down we were met by what seemed to be some fairly miserable staff. Nothing was explained and I had to ask for a menu. Once ordered (bacon sandwich and salmon/eggs for my partner) we had some bread/pastries. We were then presented a bill. I said breakfast was included and they said yes but not hot items. Neither the check in staff nor the miserable breakfast staff cared to mention it. I complained and asked to cancel the order. They didn't really apologise but gave us the food complimentary. A nice gesture.... However while the salmon/eggs was ok the bacon sandwich was awful. The meat was extremely fatty (like 49-50% fat) however I decided not to complain further..... Would probably not stay again and given the price it was not nearly as good as it should have been.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,069 in London
2,818 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#149 of 1,069 in London
853 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,726 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,203 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#143 of 1,069 in London
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing