We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxed and indulgent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #43 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-sea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxed and indulgent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I booked this hotel for my Husband's 40th Birthday treat after reading previous reviews and was not disappointed. We had an excellent stay. We had a deluxe room as, at over six feet, I was worried my husband would not fit into a smaller one! The room was lovely and comfortable and we had a good 2 nights sleep even with a bit of traffic noise outside. Probably due to the very comfy beds and just feeling very relaxed there.
We ate in Apero, which was excellent and we will definitely be going back there to try the rest of the menu.
Lunch in the drawing rooms was also good.
The service was excellent and I can't fault our stay.The little box of petit fours for my husband's birthday was a nice surprise too which we ate in bed with a cup of tea the next morning!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,310
    631
    96
    30
    17
See reviews for
648
1,417
240
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kontich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Excellent location and staying.
Staff very friendly and helpfully. Rooms: nice and clean. Wifi: ok.
Minus:1) continental breakfast: minimum minimorum; 2) in restaurant: starter together with main course.



  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lcl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Staff were very professional but friendly. Rooms were lovely and very comfortable. Ideal position for many attractions. Apero restaurant menu limited at dinner

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Coleta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We went over for a pre-christmas weekend and got us a deluxe room on a 3 for 2 nights deal. Unfortunately we were delayed a day because of weather but got the stay extended for another night by the great and very helpful staff.

The hotel is perfectly located by the south kensington tube station and is only a ten minute walk from harrods. They have the most service-minded hotel staff I have ever met including great concierge service and 24 hour room service. All this while remaining a cosy and comfortable hotel for all walks of life.

The rooms are on the small side, and typically british they lack a propper shower. But still stylishly decorated with comfortable bed and nice amenities including complimentary mini-bar and wifi.

Highly recommended and we are coming back. Though a pricey room we were very pleasantly surprised of the prices for room service and breakfast.

Tip - Keep an eye out for 3 for 2 and other deals as it is a pricey place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Th0msan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I really liked everything about this hotel. Very clean and good service, great location The staff was very nice at all times and breakfast was just to our taste. I can't say that I found anything negative to say and I'm usually quite picky. We stayed in one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedishfamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
192 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

A great boutique hotel, rooms very comfortable and modern, although not large have all the business traveller would require. Free wifi throughout. Friendly staff, clad in smart jeans and white shirts, that pay close attention to detail. Breakfast was good too, a nice continental spread at a reasonable (London prices) price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RHINOTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed in the Ampersand in Oct or Nov (cant remember the exact date as im a frequent traveller) and was very impressed.

The hotel is right next to south ken tube so great access to the whole of London. Knightsbridge, Mayfair, Chelsea and Kensington all within walking distance. There are an abundance of places to eat, museums, bars and shops all around so you will be spoilt for choice.

I have stayed here twice and the rooms whilst lovely with great facilities are a little on the small side. Its a new hotel so everything is immaculate inside.

Would recommend to stay here and the price was excellent for a 5*!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#158 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing