We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

In this imaginatively and beautifully decorated hotel you will receive a warm welcome from friendly staff. My room had a music decor and nice walk-in rain shower. Location is great right accross from SKensington tube station.
I greatly enjoyed the drawing room where I enjoyed a drink, tea looked delicious! I recomend the hotel for business, couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ute M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,584 - 2,590 of 3,492 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Professional, young, helpful and enthusiastic staff. Nice rooms, with good quality beds and pillows. Nice bathroom with shower. Good airco system. Breakfast room also very nice (not standard), good choice and quality of food. Also good place for business meeting or relaxing with coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at The Ampersand as a belated 40th weekend away for my husband, we went up with another couple.
We booked through Booking.com as a package as we went to a show while we were in London.
The rooms that were available when I booked were 1 x standard double and 1 x superior double. The only criticism I have for the whole weekend/hotel is that the standard double (room 2) was tiny and the view was not good. The superior double was a much better room size and a great view (room 514 I think it was).
However on saying that we did not spend much time at all in our rooms.
The staff were so lovely, very polite and helpful and the overall experience of being at this hotel was excellent.
It is walking distance to The Natural History Museum (which was beautiful with all the decorations up for Christmas), walking distance to Knightsbridge and the South Kensington tube is very close to the hotel.
Lots of amenities close by.
The restaurant at the hotel where we had brunch was also excellent with very polite lovely staff.

Room Tip: Superior double, standard double very small (although we only saw one of these rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjdjHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Brilliant location and service. Well worth a visit. Close to the underground and near to lots of good restaurants. Staff very helpful. Good value rate and very nice rooms. Great cocktail bar with good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dwjohnson143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I always choose to stay at The Ampersand when visiting London. It's a beautifully decorated hotel in a great location and the staff are very friendly and professional. I've never had any disappointments during my stays there

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

It was our annual get together, my daughter and my sister and myself. We normally stay in Edinburgh but we decided to indulge ourselves with a stay at The Ampersand Hotel in South Kensington. The hotel was meant as a perfect base for a visit to the museums, but the hotel itself turned out to be a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the suites which was ample size for the three of us. The Drawing Room was wonderful - all those cakes -and the waiter extremely patient and helpful. We also sampled the good and cocktails in Apero downstairs. Again, our experience was first class. The hotel were most helpful in arranging a driver to collect my sister from the airport, which saved a lot of stress on both sides - though we were right across the road from the tube station as it turned out. Overall - a bit on the pricey side - but for a one off treat - definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Pros: Great Area - south kensington tube nearby, several museums, restaurants and coffee shops
Cons: traffic is a mess there - use the tube, if it is working

Pros: Allowed me to checkin early
Cons: Charged me to do so = 1/2 of room rate for checking in 2 hours early

Pros: forgot my charger - allowed me to use one no charge
Cons: none

Pros: Clean Superior Room - nice bathroom.
Cons:LOUD WALL SHAKING NOISE AT 1 AM!!! This continued off an on for about an hour! Called the front desk - I put the phone to the wall, desk manager said he could hear it - it then stopped, he said to call back if happened again - I did - they didn't seem surprised. Offered to move us to another room to sleep - really @ 1 AM! We said no - just make the noise stop! They should NOT have sold that room aware of the noise!!!

Can't fit a chair in front of the desk - NO ROOM! A desk where you can NOT sit to do any work - really???
There is not enough room between the end of the bed and the desk to fit a chair! Barely enough room to walk. But too much room to sit on the bed and work at the desk! Take some room from bathroom, so a chair can fit at the desk!!!

Just 2 bath towels for 2 people in bathroom. Don't take a shower at night and AM or you will use the same damp towel in the AM!!!

This is a cute themed boutique hotel in a great area. Make sure you are not in room 509 or higher!!! There is a noise in the wall that wakes the dead!!

Not well insulated - we could hear street noise quite clearly.

Employees are very friendly and nice.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 509 or on the 5th floor near room 509!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jelliclegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us as we appreciate all guest feedback.
As it was important for you to be able to access the room prior to the 2pm arrival time, the room was reserved for the night prior to your arrival. Whilst we try to accommodate all guest requests for an early arrival it is not something we can guarantee unless this is done.
I am sorry you were disturbed during the night, please rest assured had we been aware there was a maintenance issue with this room we would not have placed anyone in this room. I am pleased, since your stay with us, this issue has been resolved.
We pride ourselves on providing all guests requests and had we been aware you would have like extra towels or turndown service we would have been happy to oblige. I have noted all of your requests and preferences for any future stays at The Ampersand to ensure you have a much better stay with us.
I am pleased you found the team to be friendly and pleasant and very much look forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate me directly should you like any assistance with future reservations.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,043 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,300 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,068 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,077 in London
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £170 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing