We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and welcoming without pretention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
“Stylish and welcoming without pretention”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A lovely hotel in a great location. Charming staff who were very welcoming and helpful and accommodating. Very quiet rooms. Good value for us having interconnecting rooms, one with generous twin beds and an extra bed, so our family of 5 including 3 teenage adult-sized children were able to very much enjoy staying here together on our last night of a fantastic trip to London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am pleased you and your family had a great stay with us.
Hopefully next time you are in London you will be able stay a little longer rather than a flying visit.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,336
    646
    97
    30
    17
See reviews for
657
1,436
244
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a fantastic hotel in the heart of London. My wife and I spent a couple of nights here, enjoyed a Christmas afternoon tea that would put the Ritz or Savoy to shame and the staff were just wonderful. The only slight let down was the breakfast where the best bet is to go a la carte unless you have a huge appetite for the full English or want to pay £12 for a somewhat disappointing selection for continental breakfast. Apart from this, fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted your stay with us was an enjoyable experience. Ji Sun is an amazing chef and is passionate about her creative afternon teas and ensuring every one of them is special.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed in the cheapest double room, priced at £174 for 1 night (booking.com). Not that cheap if you ask me. And the room is very small! The room hardly fits a double bed, a small double bed I might ad. The smallest hotel room I have ever seen! The bathroom however is not small but ok.

The room is nice designed. Desk is like the room, very small! There also is a window in the room. Yeah you guessed right, it's very small too! I ordered a steak from roomservice. And "surprise", it was also very small. But the bill was not... It was very expensive food, £20,80! It was too much muchrooms and the chips were way too big. I like my chips "Mcdonald's size" not "tree size". Chips was not so good either. But the steak was good.

WARNING:
They rip you off when you pay. They didn't ask me if I wanted to pay the room with my local currency or £, they choosed NOK of course. If I pay with my local currency (NOK) they earn more money (depends on how long you stay). It's not loads of money but it's important how you are presenting yourself as a hotel to the customers. And this is very unprofessional! This is only the second hotel I've experienced in all my life who has done this! Only when I asked I knew that I was paying in NOK, I told the guy immediately that I wanted to pay in £. He was not happy..

I have stayed in many hotels all around the world. The bed is very important and for the most part I sleep very well in all hotels at all price ranges. Only a few times the bed has not been good and it happened again at this hotel.


(+):
-nice designed room
-refrigerator with room for your own stuff
-internet included
-close to subway/bus
-roomservice: steak was good
-bathroom


(-):
-bed
-very small room
-very small window
-very small desk
-roomservice: food is very expensive and very small steak
-roomservice: chips are too big and not so good
-roomservice: said they come in 15 min. but they came after 40 min. and forgot beer.
-guy with a attitude at check out
-they didn't ask me if I want to pay in £ or my local currency (at both check in/out)
-temperature adjustment is not working properly
-location is a bit shabby
-room is a little dark even with all the lights on


So this hotel was not as good as I thought. I expected more from a hotel that's among the best hotels in London!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trondheim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review. We appreciate all guest comments as they allow us the opportunity to improve on the service we offer to all of our guests. Please rest assured all of your feedback has been shared with the entire team to ensure we make improvements in the areas you have indicated.
We feel we are honest about the size of all of our bedrooms and it is clearly displayed at the time of booking to try and ensure you are not disappointed upon arrival. As you stayed in a room on a high floor the windows are smaller than those on the lower floors.
It is the hotel standard to give every guest the option of whether they would prefer their card to be charged in GBP or their home currency. I am sorry it was not clearly communicated to you about the DCC conversion option upon arrival; I can assure you since your comments were made directly to the hotel the front desk team have received refresher training to ensure this does not reoccur.
I am very disappointed you found your bed to be small and uncomfortable, the bed size is dependent on the room type reserved with the larger room types having King beds instead of standard doubles. We have many positive reviews of the level of comfort of the beds and I would be interested to understand what you found to be unsatisfactory.
I am sorry your stay was not an enjoyable stay and did not meet your expectations, do not hesitate to contact me directly should you choose to stay in the future and I will ensure you have a much more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the ampersand. The staff were very welcoming and accomodating and the room was very clean and comfortable.
The hotel is well placed close to the south kensington underground station.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your great review.
I am pleased you enoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a great first stay in a deluxe studio. Room was spacious, the rain shower marvellous and the heated bathroom floor, a treat! Even though at times I could feel the vibrations and hear the hum of the underground trains, this did not disturb me. I found the afternoon tea better value than the breakfast: my friends and I agreed that the scones were the best we've had in a long time. The young folks at the front desk were cheerful, helpful and contributed to the overall relaxed atmosphere. I am looking forward to returning in the summer.

Room Tip: I was in a deluxe studio and loved the space. Book this if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am delighted you had the time to experience the afternoon tea in The Drawing Rooms as well as the hotel. I have shared your lovely comments with Ji Sun who is responsible for the fabulous scones and I look forward to your next stay in the summer.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Short Business trip, served purpose well... Would consider booking for personal vacation as well.Great Location, comfortable beds, helpful staff. Breakfast buffet so so, but the French Toast on the menu was excellent

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ismail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your brief stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand when you have more time to enjoy the hotel and the fantastic area we are located in.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for five nights but I wish it had been longer. The staff here catered to our every whim, even when I wanted cornflakes and bananas at 7pm. They even came to help us with our plug converter. The room was unbelievably comfortable, maybe a bit small but that is probably because the bed was so massive and lovely. Everything was modern and very clean and the bathroom had under floor heating. Fresh bathrobes and slippers were provided every day, along with massive bath towels. The location couldn't be beat, and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. I felt so comfortable here. The only thing I wasn't super impressed with was the restaurant downstairs but the room service food was excellent. I will stay here again every time I am in London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Michelle

Thank you for your brilliant review. It is always a pleasure to receive such great comments and share them with time team.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,623 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#152 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing