We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ampersand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,684)
Filter reviews
3,684 results
Traveller rating
2,766
741
121
36
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,766
741
121
36
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth kensington tube stationdrawing roomdeluxe studioapero restaurantgreat locationcomplimentary soft drinksheated floorsthe natural history museumbeautiful hotelvictoria and albert museumafternoon teamini barperfect staypiccadilly linecomfortable bedrooms are smalllondon hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,736 - 2,741 of 3,684 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Excellent facility in a great location. Rooms nice, great food available, nice gym and complimentary drinks in fridge. Great place to spend xmas. Staff very helpful with area restaurants. Would highly recommend.


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A very enjoyable stay, in a very good hotel, which was in a nice location.
Very handy for museums, buses, and tube station. Easy access to Harrods, Kensington Palace, and the Royal Albert hall. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed here with several friends during the week of thanksgiving (in the US). Two of us stayed in the superior room and the other in a deluxe room. Even though we were members of the slh loyalty program, we were unable to get an upgrade at check in. The hotel was actually sold out for the weekend, but never crowded. The superior room was nice. A bit small, but still had plenty of room. The bathroom was large and had a nice walk in shower. The floors were heated, so you never had to worry about bare feet on cold tile. The mini fridge in the room was a nice touch (with complimentary water/juices/soda) as was the free wifi. The bed was comfy and had plenty of pillows. The only "problem" we had was trying to figure out the thermostat. It was quite warm in our room and we had trouble getting it to cool down. After calling downstairs, we had our answer and the room became a comfortable temp. The location of the hotel was perfect...across the street from a pret and Starbucks (quick breakfast) and steps from the Kensington station tube stop. Three great lines run through there, so we never had a problem getting around. The hotel was also surrounded by bus stops....which was great if you needed to catch a bus, but impossible to get picked up or dropped off. Minor inconvenience for a great location. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank carolinaRN2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My daughter and I arrived mid December for an 8 day stay. The service in the hotel was non existent. The door person never opened the door, the wait staff were actually quite rude until they found out we were in house guests and the front of house spoke to us twice in our entire stay. We had arrived from an 8 day stay in Paris and the difference in the level of service was immense. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank KJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay, especially as the service we provided was not our usual high standard. I am very sorry this was the case and will ensure all of your comments are shared with all of the team.

I would be delighted to welcome you back should you return to London and personally ensure you receive the high level of service you expect. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to make a reservation.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We liked our stay very much. The hotel is very well located and you can walk to V&A, National History Museum as well as all shops in Knightsbridge within a view minutes. The room was stylish and clean and the whole hotel is very tastefully decorated. The staff has been very friendly and helpful, everything that we asked for was organized promptly and the have been very friendly too. The food at the restaurant was delicious! The only downside was that one could hear the tube rattle underneath us but it was ok, not too loud and sleep was no problem at all. We will come back next time as we did like it very much, but ask for a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews