We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #43 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a perfect place to stay if you like small and lux and location.
This beautiful hotel is in the heart if great shopping and food choices
Great for walking and enjoying Knightsbridge. Easy travel to airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,301
    630
    96
    30
    17
See reviews for
642
1,415
240
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

New rooms, still fresh, fantastic bed and linen. Couldn't be closer to the South Kensington subway and you can find very nice restaurants from all price range, from Daphine's, Bumpkin and Patara to Preat a Porter and Carliccio.Enjoy your stay in London, we did a lot and the hotel was an important part of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Ampersand Hotel is one of our favourite hotels, with a unique style, an excellent location and friendly, helpful customer service.

We spent 3 nights in a Deluxe Studio room which we found to be larger than we had expected for London and very, very comfortable. We had an excellent sized bathroom with shower and bathtub, together with built in TV. Our bright and airy room had windows onto Harrington Road, yet we experienced no street noise at all, making for a very pleasant stay.

We had dinner at Apero, which had a lovely menu - breakfast here is also very good, and the Drawing Room lovely for Afternoon Tea.

We would stay at the Ampersand again in a heartbeat - so well located and comfortable, and we love the decor and the themes throughout the hotel.

We are returning to London again this May and would love to stay here again, but sadly the rates have increased significantly since our last stay several months ago. I guess this is not unexpected though, given the fabulous reputation the Ampersand has gained since first opening.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oz_muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I chose The Ampersand Hotel for my husband's Birthday weekend in London. Apparently the deluxe room was not a good option as it was very small, pipes in the bathroom were making horrible noises ans the windows let the rain water get into the room. So we were moved to the suite and from this moment we experienced such a nice stay in the hotel. We loved the design yet the homy feel of the interior, service is very nice and helpful and you can really feel welcomed. I definitely recommed, even if the first experiences were not quite ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel a number of times, we will stay again, for me it's the best value Hotel in London, service, rooms, everything is really good, it's also right beside the tube ststion and museums

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank northwest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great location.Very handy for all that great shopping on Fulham Road and the kings road.Great restaurants and museums close by too! Loved the funky style of the hotel,staff very friendly and funky too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Bright, cheerful and stylish. Excellent location - right on Piccadilly Line from Heathrow and minutes from museums and park. Taxi rank, right ouside. Staff were uniformly friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. Free soft drinks in the room, nice touch. Rooms a little small.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#159 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#126 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing