We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in the Deluxe Studio and if you are looking to treat yourself this is the room to go for. I if i could of i would of taken the whole room home with me, it was pure luxury and comfort.

Almost everything we needed was in the room and whatever wasn't was there within seconds with a quick call down to reception who couldn't do enough for you.

Its very easy to fill out these surveys giving the same rating to every question, but never have i stayed somewhere i felt deserved full marks in every aspect from service to amenities to comfort. I am already planning my next booking at The Ampersand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rhiannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,567 - 2,573 of 3,581 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was my second stay at The Ampersand and I must say that it once again fullfilled my expactions. The location is perfect and just a few steps away from the tube station. Excellent comfort, love to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meyers401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great central London Hotel. Warm, friendly reception and clean room (albeit on the cosy side!). Superb location and very peaceful despite being right in the centre of things - highly recommended! Look forward to visiting again.?

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank giuseppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great stay made the trip a memory - rooms although small have every thing you could want - reading rooms are perfect place to plan the day or relax from a long day. Game room down stairs was a great extra for fun - staff amazing

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is excellent! It looks like after renovation. Like a new one. The staff is very friendly, polite and attentive. Although we got an upgraded room it was small enough. When we entered our room we found a postcard with a greeting written by hand. They offer a delivery of fresh newspapers in the mornings. Also you can find newspapers in Apero restaurant. Air condition system works well. The room had very good acoustic insulation. The floor in the bath room is heated. Breakfasts were not included in the price room but we had breakfasts at the hotel restaurant (Apero restaurant) at own expense. Also we had dinner there. Everything was excellent. The restaurant is very good and cozy. Food is great but they had a very restricted beer choice, mostly Italian (as far as I understood). There is a dining room in the hotel where you can have a cup of tea with cakes. The decoration of the dining room is excellent. The staff in Apero restaurant and dining room is very affable and polite. Location is great. Exhibition Road is a 5-minute walk from the hotel. There is a tube station and a bus station near to the hotel. There are a lot of museums and notable residents not far from the hotel. Hyde park, Green park and Piccadilly are also not far from the hotel.
The hotel offers a transfer from/to Heathrow airport (45 pounds one way by e-class Mercedes) or from/to Gatwick airport (80 pounds one way by e-class Mercedes).
There a lot of umbrellas at the entrance of the hotel and in the rooms. It’s very prudently since the weather is rainy. Wifi is good and free of charge. Juices and water in a room is free of charge. Not counting the fact that the room was very small everything else in the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Exhausted24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Ampersand hotel is very conveniently located, has friendly, professional staff, a great restaurant and tea room, and well-appointed rooms. The best part about my stay was the amazingly comfortable bed. I actually cancelled plans to take a nap in this comfy dream of a bed. The hotel is whimsically decorated, and each room has a fun theme related to the nearby hotels and gardens. There are free drinks in the rooms, a morning paper, and the provided toiletries are nice as well. The staff were always there to answer questions, and always said hello or offered a little conversation. The only downsides were the occastionally slow WiFi and fairly high prices for food (but it was all yummy!). All in all, a really great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great staff, good location, nice room and ease in check in, WIFI. Nice touch through and through. The rooms are small but very well layed out. Great beds. I like the idea of free softdrinks, coffee in the room. I will certainly return.


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bjorn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#30 of 1,081 in London
3,122 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,081 in London
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £166 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing