We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bellafrancis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bellafrancis”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is our second visit to The Ampersand, we stayed in a superior room which was fabulous, the staff were very accomodating, you can not beat the location for shopping, restaurants and entertainment, we will definitely stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,336
    646
    97
    30
    17
See reviews for
657
1,436
244
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in the Deluxe Studio and if you are looking to treat yourself this is the room to go for. I if i could of i would of taken the whole room home with me, it was pure luxury and comfort.

Almost everything we needed was in the room and whatever wasn't was there within seconds with a quick call down to reception who couldn't do enough for you.

Its very easy to fill out these surveys giving the same rating to every question, but never have i stayed somewhere i felt deserved full marks in every aspect from service to amenities to comfort. I am already planning my next booking at The Ampersand.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was my second stay at The Ampersand and I must say that it once again fullfilled my expactions. The location is perfect and just a few steps away from the tube station. Excellent comfort, love to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meyers401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Great central London Hotel. Warm, friendly reception and clean room (albeit on the cosy side!). Superb location and very peaceful despite being right in the centre of things - highly recommended! Look forward to visiting again.?

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank giuseppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great stay made the trip a memory - rooms although small have every thing you could want - reading rooms are perfect place to plan the day or relax from a long day. Game room down stairs was a great extra for fun - staff amazing

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is excellent! It looks like after renovation. Like a new one. The staff is very friendly, polite and attentive. Although we got an upgraded room it was small enough. When we entered our room we found a postcard with a greeting written by hand. They offer a delivery of fresh newspapers in the mornings. Also you can find newspapers in Apero restaurant. Air condition system works well. The room had very good acoustic insulation. The floor in the bath room is heated. Breakfasts were not included in the price room but we had breakfasts at the hotel restaurant (Apero restaurant) at own expense. Also we had dinner there. Everything was excellent. The restaurant is very good and cozy. Food is great but they had a very restricted beer choice, mostly Italian (as far as I understood). There is a dining room in the hotel where you can have a cup of tea with cakes. The decoration of the dining room is excellent. The staff in Apero restaurant and dining room is very affable and polite. Location is great. Exhibition Road is a 5-minute walk from the hotel. There is a tube station and a bus station near to the hotel. There are a lot of museums and notable residents not far from the hotel. Hyde park, Green park and Piccadilly are also not far from the hotel.
The hotel offers a transfer from/to Heathrow airport (45 pounds one way by e-class Mercedes) or from/to Gatwick airport (80 pounds one way by e-class Mercedes).
There a lot of umbrellas at the entrance of the hotel and in the rooms. It’s very prudently since the weather is rainy. Wifi is good and free of charge. Juices and water in a room is free of charge. Not counting the fact that the room was very small everything else in the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exhausted24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Ampersand hotel is very conveniently located, has friendly, professional staff, a great restaurant and tea room, and well-appointed rooms. The best part about my stay was the amazingly comfortable bed. I actually cancelled plans to take a nap in this comfy dream of a bed. The hotel is whimsically decorated, and each room has a fun theme related to the nearby hotels and gardens. There are free drinks in the rooms, a morning paper, and the provided toiletries are nice as well. The staff were always there to answer questions, and always said hello or offered a little conversation. The only downsides were the occastionally slow WiFi and fairly high prices for food (but it was all yummy!). All in all, a really great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,623 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#152 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing