We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Hotel is very handy located on the subway Piccadilly line
with a very friendly enviroment,warm decorations,full of positive energy,
must admit the Excellent in all aspects,
congratulations,
Jan Suchanek , Antique Dealer,Galerie Thun-Hohenstein,Prague

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,434 - 2,440 of 3,492 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Recently stayed for a week, it being the second time that I have stayed here. The hotel is superb; very high standard of decor, excpetionally friendly, professional and welcoming staff, very comfy beds and stylish bathrooms. Little design touches in the rooms and the public areas make this hotel standout from others. Being relatively new, the general standard remains high. Food and service in the restaurant are excellent having dined for both breakfast and dinner. Others have commented that the rooms are small, which they perhaps are, but no smaller than most other central London hotels. If staying for a night or two the superior rooms are fine, but any longer I would suggest a deluxe or studio deluxe, unless you don't intend to spend much time in the room. Overall, this is perhaps my favourite hotel in London, also helps that it is in a good location in South Kensington and right next to the tube. Just note that the Drawing Room gets quite busy at weekends with people booking afternoon tea, but is much quieter during the week and a seat easy to find at the spare of the moment.

Room Tip: Deluxe room or above if staying for more than a few nights. Some faint tube noise can be heard in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed the 1 night in January in a Deluxe Studio which was massive (unknown for centre of London).
Everything was perfect from check-in to check-out, staff were genuinly friendly and obliging unlike your sterile chains.
Unfortunately we slept through breakfast the bed was so comfortable but will try next time we come down and stay over.
Close proximity to everywhere and just round from South Kensington tube station.
Would reccomend to anyone busibess or pleasure.
Complimentary in room fridge soft drinks which is a first.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarltonHouseYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The first night didn't go quite as well as it could have as our room wasn't ready when we checked in at 3PM and the allocated room (which we given when returning to the hotel that evening) was very very small for a twin (a superior room). No place to put our 2 large cases. But the following day we were relocated to a larger room without charge and it was perfect. The staff were extremely helpful in organising this change and generally extremely cheerful and friendly.

As others have said the location is superb. Very close to the tube station (Piccadilly, Circle & District lines) which made it easy to get from Heathrow on the tube and around London for all our excursions. Great selection of restaurants and cafes in the area. A lively and safe neighbourhood.

Free and fast wifi connection also a bonus, as was the complimentary soft drinks in the mini-bar. This hotel also has some smoking rooms, which are becoming hard to find in London, which is also a plus point for us.

Would definitely return to this hotel but would book a larger room next time should we need a twin.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are really too small for twin beds, unless the room we were given (room 509) was unus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipsofamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Really lovely. Great location. The bedroom was really nicely set out, well maintained. The bathroom was spacious and clean, nice quality toiletries. The bed was nice and comfy, had a really good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly a smiley. We used the bar and the restaurant, the food at the restaurant was of very high standard.
The decor was fantastic and our room featured a bath tub in the room itself, by the window which we found super lush!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked a 3 night stay at the Ampersand Hotel in March 2014. Our stay coincided with the marriage of my eldest son who got married in Mayfair. From the moment we arrived at the Ampersand we were pleasantly surprised. We arrived in time for lunch and enjoyed a delicious two course meal in the modern Apero restaurant. The service and the food was first class. Our bedroom was a de-luxe studio, the room was spotlessly clean, and more than adequately supplied with all the little extras such as a Nespresso coffee machine and a well-stocked fridge of free soft drinks. I particular enjoyed the high quality Miller Harris toiletries. Our bedroom overlooked the main road, which on the first night was a little noisy at times. I purchased some earplugs from a nearby chemist and slept in blissful silence for the rest of the stay. The evening after the wedding we all came back to Champagne, canapés and savouries which we enjoyed in the Drawing room. On the Saturday evening we met for cocktails in Wine room. I must say I was impressed to see Falernum which was in one of the most delicious cocktails on the list. All of the staff were friendly, professional and courteous. You got the impression that they really enjoyed working at the Ampersand. The location of the hotel made it excellent for walking to nearby Sloane Square where 16 of us met for breakfast at the Botanist. We also enjoyed the exquisite international food market near to the Saatchi gallery. In summary, the Ampersand was a high class, first class, top of the class superior London hotel experience.

Room Tip: Recommend De-Luxe Studio it was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enola_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,047 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,300 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,069 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,077 in London
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £170 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing