We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel - excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel - excellent staff”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a great hotel in a central location and a short walk from the tube station, providing easy access to all London. The rooms are excellent and very well maintained. The staff are genuine and extremely helpful. It requires real diligence to create a quality establishment and a comment to service at the standard that is achieved at the Ampersand and we will reward that with our repeated patronage and recommending the hotel to everyone we know travelling to London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,328
    643
    97
    30
    17
See reviews for
655
1,430
243
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Argentina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Perfect location, just meters from South Kensington metro station. The hotel is modern, hip and cozy, Everything you need you have it. One of the best hotels I stayed in. Service is superb. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRLArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I really liked this hotel - the location was just brilliant almost opposite South Kensington tube station (you could get a train to virtually anywhere with just a few stops, the museum quarter was just a short walk around and the whole area is quite upmarket) and the staff were really good in all areas of the hotel.

Check-in was really friendly but efficient, and I'd been told that I'd got a free upgrade from a Superior to a Deluxe room; a nice touch. I had seen the price of the hotel drop by £10 the night before, so I was going to question it at check-in, but the upgrade was worth about £30 so I was happy with that.

I was shown to the room, which was good because the corridors are somewhat sprawling. But I've never quite seen hotel corridors done out like these, very stylish.

The room itself was pretty small with no view (just onto another brick wall at the back of the hotel) but since I was just sleeping in it then it was no problem; I think seeing how busy the main road was at the front of the hotel it's worth asking to be at the back if you like your slumber. The room was well finished off, not overly fussy or too much in it but solid and clean looking decor. The bed and the oversize headboard were lovely. There were some free drinks in the mini bar, incluing real milk for tea/coffee. A proper size tv too.

The bathroom was also a little small, but it was very well decorated with a bath, lots of toiletries and underfloor heating, which was really nice underfoot. Fluffy towels, fluffy bathrobes and & branded slippers too.

I didn't eat dinner in the hotel, but did pop down to the restaurant. The menu was largely based on tapas and sharing dishes, and since I was on my own for business I just ate out although I did grab an evening club sandwich on room service. I chose to have room service breakfast too and that was delivered promptly on time and was very good quality ingredients.

Check-out was very smooth and also very friendly. There were always lots of staff around the hotel opening the doors, meeting and greeting, it felt like a very friendly and upmarket place, more like a [trendy] 5 star hotel in every aspect.

The only reasons I didn't give it a 5 circles on this review was because I thought the restaurant could offer some more mainstream dishes, even if just steak etc, and being conveniently near South Ken tube did mean that the hotel was on top of the line and until midnight and from early in the morning the hotel would rumble with the trains underneath - not a real problem, it did wake me on a few occasions, am just not used to living out in the West Country!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpd1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda,
Level Contributor
77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had an amazing stay at this centrally located (near South Ken. tube) hotel. The look of the place was "big box hotel" , however the atmosphere and service are what you would get when staying at a small country hotel . Congratulations on making us feel so welcomed! Our room, was not large, but for a stay in London when you're out most of the time, that doesn't really matter and the bathroom was perfect and CLEAN. This is a design hotel with a heart and soul, which is not an easy mix. We would highly recommend it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHunton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staff was amazing and helped us book tours and plays. The rooms and hallways were beautiful and wonderfully unique. The hotel made the trip even more fantastic! They had thought of everything in the rooms - so high tech!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Couldn't ask for anything more. The room was large by London standards and beautiful. The lobby, drawing room and restaurant were lovely and chic. The service and staff were so kind and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stay at a lot of hotels in London. Ampersand is the only one that reliably provides a heated bathroom floor. This sounds like a small thing, but it is one of the most luxurious amenities imaginable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,617 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#154 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing