We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at an excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived on a wet afternoon to a warm welcome from the front desk staff. Great location-literally next to the South Kensington station. Good size room and tastefully decorated. All staff were excellent with information and recommendations but I have to highlight an extremely helpful front desk staff and porter on the afternoon of 24th April (unfortunately did not get her name). Our arranged transport to the airport did not arrive and she kindly arranged another driver to take us to the airport within 15 minutes and matched the price quoted to us by the original hire car service. Would highly recommend her thoughtfulness and efficiency and also thanks to the porter for arranging us to have bottles of water while we waited. Thank you to all the staff for a memorable stay. Would not hesitate to return on future trips.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,344)
There are newer reviews for The Ampersand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,213 - 2,219 of 3,345 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Yes, the hotel is pricy and yes the basic rate does not include breakfast but it is in an amazing location, basically just outside South Kensington station. There are some great modern features in the rooms including underfloor heating in the bathroom. French press coffee is a nice change from the normal instant coffee and the staff are friendly and helpful and the bed is definitely one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We booked our open top bus sightseeing tickets from reception and the bus stopped right outside the hotel. Very convenient indeed.

The laundromat mentioned in another review is closed so we found one a bit further away in Cromwell Avenue called Bobo's Bubbles. Really helpful. We also found a great bar about 650 m from the hotel called The Queens Arms. Definitely worth a visit. My only complaint about this hotel would be that the floors creak a lot when you walk around the room but this will definitely not stop me from staying here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LindiLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our stay at the Ampersand was very enjoyable. Its location is excellent, the room was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much and it really made our visit to London that much more pleasurable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great hotel - combination of charm and efficiency, rarely done well.
We stayed here for six nights - my son and I. Location across South Kensington tube station and proximity to Museums and Hyde Park is perfect for leisure travelers. Staff was very attentive and friendly, especially towards my 10-year old son. Room, while small, was well equipped and beds comfortable.

Apero, the restaurant, does great breakfasts. Free Wi-Fi and mini-bar (only water and juice) are feel good touches that every hotel needs to follow

Two negatives:
1. The gym is small and dingy. Reasonably equipped for a quick workout, but no in a basement with no windows makes it uninviting.
2. Room, especially bathroom, was smaller than expected and what it looked like on the website. We were offered a choice of better/larger rooms, we chose not to move.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Asit852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

reasonably priced for it's great location and for it's excellent service, for the welcoming personnel, a designer hotel , where the bedroom is designed for traveling with minimal amount of clothes (i.e. very little storage space) but for sleeping well! All in all , we recommend it !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We found the Ampersand delightful - very convenient; fantastic décor; smiling, friendly and helpful staff. Surely this is more than adequate. Why is it necessary to complete 200 characters in a review?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zarabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from London having spent three nights in The Ampersand. The hotel was faultless from the friendly staff, excellent service and fantastic room. We opted for the Deluxe Studio which had a bath in the bedroom and was more than large enough. We will definately be staying at The Ampersand again when we next visit London.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,072 in London
2,893 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#142 of 1,072 in London
869 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,072 in London
3,771 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#141 of 1,072 in London
682 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £195 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing