We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow what a hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The dining room in the Ampersand is fantastic.Breakfast is the best I have ever had.The food is as good as some Michelin starred restaurants.5 star hotel??
Colourful eating places close by.Shopping,the Conran Shop,Stella McCartney.A short walk from exhibition Road and the museums and a tube station close by.All in all fab!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Julie T

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and especially the restaurant. I have shared your fantastic comments with Chris Golding, Head Chef, who is happy he was able to make your Apero experience so good.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,336
    645
    97
    30
    17
See reviews for
657
1,436
243
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Location, food quality, room condition are excellent.
On check-in and out the reception staffs are extremely nice.
But during our six day stay we missed their greeting in the
morning and evening. Also we hope for a better service in the
Italian restaurant next time.
With more carefulness and warmth from the staff would
make this hotel a real first class hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Yumiko Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Yumiko Y

Thank you for the lovely review of your stay with us. I am pleased your overall experience was such an enjoyable one. I would also like thank you for your constructive feedback and rest assured all of your comments have been shared with the team to make improvements on the areas you have hightlighted.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future and I am confident you will see the improvements we have made.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We travelled to London from the west coast of Canada and stayed 3 nights from Apr 28-30 (as Fate would have it, exactly during the Tube strike). After arriving jet lagged, we were welcomed with good cheer and professionalism, and shown to room 307 which was spacious, tastefully decorated, and stocked with cold beverages, teas and delicious cookies.

After a while we figured out that the momentary nightly building shaking was not small earthquakes but the underground Tube trains. This occurs for about 5 seconds quite regularly in the early evening, and eventually stops. If you are a light sleeper this may bother you, but truthfully, after a while we found it comforting. We were in London, afterall. I must say that we heard a bit of street noise as well, but again, we were not expecting complete and utter silence, being in a room that faced the street. The bed was very comfortable, and we were no more disturbed really than we are at home.

We appreciated the location as we always felt safe, happy and in the midst of local Londoners as well as tourists. On our 3 nights in South Kensington, we enjoyed dinner at Casa Brindisa (Spanish tapas), Apero (Mediterranean, in the lower level of the Ampersand) and finally Bumpkin, a comfortable British fare restaurant. One warm night we also journeyed about 20 minutes down Old Brompton Road to have a brandy and a cup of tea at the bohemian Troubadour Cafe, in honour of an old friend who used to frequent the establishment many years ago.

I read one reviewer's comments that it took about 10 minutes to walk to Harrod's. In my memory it was more of a 20 minute walk (and we are not slow walkers). But maybe we went the long way? In any case, we thought the lower level food halls were really impressive, but did not venture beyond that .... note, the memorial to Princess Diana and Dodi Al Fayad in the basement is perhaps the tackiest thing I have ever seen. We went immediately back outside, where I subsequently nicknamed the store "Horrids" on our way back to the hotel ...where classy tea and cookies were awaiting us ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KindSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely detailed review. I am pleased you had a brilliant stay with us and hope to welcome you back whenever you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Breakfast poor as basic items are chargeable. Location excellent. Requested to change allocated handicap room to normal. Improvement on handicap room should be look into for wardrobe space. Expensive.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Frances C

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased your overall experience was a pleasant experience.
Naturally I am disappointed you did not enjoy the continental breakfast which was included in your rate and that you found the a la carte option to be expensive. I have noted your dislike for accessible rooms to avoid allocating this style of room to you in the future. I understand and agree with your feedback about the size of the storage in the double rooms especially when staying for a long period of time. The information we provide is double and singles rooms are suitable for 1 to 2 night stays only. I hope to personally welcome you back to The Ampersand in the future should you return to London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Central, classy and modern with superb afternoon tea. This is one of those rare finds - a convenient hotel with character, beautifully decorated with friendly and very helpful staff. We would highly recommend the Ampersand.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SAL1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of the hotel. I am delighted you had such a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently and we had a wonderful stay. It is in a great location (close to the South Kensington tube stop). Its in a great neighborhood and has a bus stop in front of the hotel so you can get to areas such as Chelsea and Battersea. Check google maps to see if taking the bus in convenient for where you want to go. My only complaint but minor is the walls are pretty thin so you can sometimes hear people above you or along side you. The service by the staff was amazing!
A few recommendations in London right now:
1) Take Uber (it is much cheaper than a taxi or same price as heathrow express for two people) - this might change but this is the situation right now. A taxi from Ampersand to the airport was 30 pounds. A heathrow express ticket is 34 pounds roundtrip.
2) The tube on the weekends (like the subway in NYC) has lots of construction and not the best service. I recommend either walking, taking the bus or Uber.
3) check out the Bluebird Cafe in Chelsea for delicious brunch and a fashionable scene. You can take the bus straight from the hotel.
4) Brompton Market around the corner from the hotel has a cute garden area and lovely food.
5) There are a ton of brunch options in the area of the South Kensington tube stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westvillagechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lobely review. The team and I are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the service we provide.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Loved this hotel- location, rooms and service were great. Right next to tube station. Very clean and stylish rooms. Extremely comfortable beds. Love the heated bathroom floors! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kingstondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for such a great recommendation. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

KInd regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#152 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing