We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Whenever possible I use the Ampersand when doing a stopover in London as very easy to get to from Heathrow or Gatwick. The service is always impeccable from the friendliest staff in any London hotel I have been to.



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,248 - 2,254 of 3,492 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We wanted a small but well resourced luxury hotel for a night's stay while up in London and were delighted by the Ampersand which lived up to and beyond our expectations. The deluxe room was perfect and the staff all welcoming and eager to please. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here in June for 4 nights with our 12 year old daughter. The hotel location is fantastic. There are many nice restaurants and great shopping in the area. It is on a busy road so you do hear a bit of the city sounds, but hey, you are in the middle of London. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable. Only the additional bed for our daughter was terrible. It was almost impossible to sleep on, you could feel each and very spring through the thin mattress. At 42 Pounds a day for the extra bed, not nice. Otherwise the room was very nicely furnished with lots of extras, converter, cosmetic mirror, Nespresso machine, lots of TV channels, a nice big flatscreen, plenty of nice bath amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is for sure a very good option for London, the location and value are excellent. Oh yes, also Apero the restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have stayed at the Ampersand three times so far in the past few years and keep coming back. The location is great - not even a 2 minute walk from South Kensington station. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with all the modern amenities. The staff are always extremely helpful and cheery. Overall it's a really beautiful boutique hotel and great value for the high quality you get.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliGSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Ampersand is a gem of a hotel. Beautifully decorated. Excellent service. Attention to every detail including heated floors in the bathroom and a complimentary mini bar filled with soft drinks. The most convenient location -- taxi line out front - steps from the South Ken tube -- and a short walk from all of the shops and sites. There is nothing about this hotel not to like. It is hotel perfection!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, the location is fantastic being so close to South Kensington tube station. There were lots of places to buy food nearby and a few supermarkets as well. My room was a good size and the bathroom lovely, I really liked that the staff didn't move my toiletries, toothbrush etc that I put on one of the shelves in the bathroom. I had moved the tissue box to accomodate my things to another shelf and it was not moved back which was good as I didn't have to keep moving things around. Its these little things that make a pleasant stay. I found the staff very friendly and helpfull. I will definitely stay at the ampersand again if in london.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jennifer0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I would just like to say this hotel is a great boutique hotel in an excellent position. The rooms are just the right size with good decor and the ensuites are brilliant. I would not hesitate to use this hotel again for a short break. Top class.

Room Tip: Try the room service breakfast one of the best I've had anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,047 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,301 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,072 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,077 in London
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £170 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing