We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 star 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #50 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A 5 star 4 star hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Ampersand. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful but not cloying. I don't think of this as a pretentious 5 star place that nickels and dimes you for every small amenity. There is free wi fi and some free nonalcoholic drinks provided in the guest fridge. There's a paper at the door in the morning. The light fixture in the stairwell is arty and classy. My superior room was small but comfy. There were nice touches like a robe and slippers.
There are public rooms available such as a library, bar and game room. I love the South Kensington location. Step out the door and there are buses, cross the street and you are at the Piccadilly and Circle line stops. Close to the Natural History Museum, the V&A, the Science Museum, Harrods and more nice shopping and restaurants than you will have time for.
I hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movingsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,457
    671
    104
    34
    18
See reviews for
697
1,517
255
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Beautifully decorated and well appointed room (travel adapter, robes,minibar,newspaper etc). The hotel is in a great location & close to everything. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Me and my husband wanted something a bit special for our anniversary and the Ampersand definitely did not disappoint. The decor is lovely, the staff are so friendly and helpful and the little extra touches helped make it very special. We booked through small hotels and we were treated to champagne on arrival and a small box of sweet treats as a welcome gift. The room was spacious and the bed possibly the most comfortable I have stayed on in a hotel. The small bits to make up the extras in the room went beyond the usual 'vanity kit' and nice touches such as a loofah mit and a Ampersand rubber duck made us smile.
It is of course in a fantastic location being so close to South Ken station and also right near the museum district. It is fab just to wander round this area anyway and if you don't want to be cooped up if it is a sunny day (it can happen!) then Hyde Park is an easy walk up Queensgate too.

If I had one potential thing for people to be aware of I suppose it would be that if you are an incredibly light sleeper then you may get woken once the tubes start up in the morning as you can feel them through the building, but this caused no grievance for us. With such a wonderful bed we slept very well!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandRichP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Everything about this hotel is fantastic. We arrived by taxi and immediately someone was there to help with out luggage. Check in was very efficient and our deluxe studio room was fantastic. Very spacious with a large bathroom (with heated floor and choice of two shower heads) and very stylish. The extra large bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave it. They have very thoughtfully provided all sorts of amenities such as bathrobes, hidden safe, power points for charging phones etc., nespresso machine as well as a regular jug, and even bathroom scales. The location just a short walk from South Kensington Station as well and near museums and gardens is ideal for a first time visitor to London. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wisteria51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my teen son. Room was very clean, and well appointed for such a small space. Staff was excellent, friendly and helpful every time. Jogging is just a few blocks away at Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. Bank ATM just next door. Tube not a block away. Museums within two blocks. This place had everything. The gym was very small, but the equipment was well cared for. Wifi reception was always good. Not one complaint. Can't wait to return. Keep up the great work with the customer service and high standards for the rooms Ampersand!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Had an excellent stay. Appreciated the energy and friendliness of the staff. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Location extremely easy to find and conviently located near metro/tube stop. Overall good value.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

this is the third time I stayed there and it is Always very high level, superb atmosphere, friendly and professional staff, convenient and central location. one of my best favourite places in London...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marikendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,069 in London
2,826 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,414 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#153 of 1,069 in London
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,069 in London
3,733 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,214 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#141 of 1,069 in London
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing