We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fantastic hotel. Friendly staff. Perfect location - just meters from the tube. The most comfortable bed I ve ever slept in. Complimentary mini bar. Gorgeous interior decoration. Lots of nice small things; umbrellas, escort to the room, baggage collection service on departure, interesting and friendly front of house staff. Only wish we coul have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,345)
There are newer reviews for The Ampersand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,088 - 2,094 of 3,345 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel itself was charming, the staff very helpful and pleasant and the food (breakfast buffet) was excellent. Don't hesitate to stay here- the location is wonderful (if a bit noisy due to street traffic.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed in a spacious Deluxe Studio with a comfortable king size bed & in-room bath. Beautifully decorated, very clean. Delicious food, reasonably priced, thoughtful touches. Great stay! Well done &!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Ampersand is a trendy - but unpretentious - hotel. The interior design is fashionable and the room was also well designed although very very small for two people! However it made use of the space in a practical manner which tied in with the overall design of the hotel - the breakfast room is down in the old cellar so all available space in the building is used. The staff are very very friendly and accommodating and go out of their way to help. I note that some other reviewers have mentioned noise - I specifically asked for a higher up room because of this and we were on the third floor and I got a good nights sleep. Also our room was very hot and you cannot open the window and the air con made it really cold so it was difficult to get a happy medium but these are just small gripes considering and it hasn't stopped me giving the hotel an overall Excellent rating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After a long flight from Australia we didn't have to wait long before our quiet and comfortable room was ready. Thank you to the staff for speeding that along. The hotel is in a great location right next to South Kensington tube and a beautiful walk up to Kensington High Street. I would recommend the Ampersand for that little bit of luxury. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very pleasant stay, in a newly refurbished hotel. All round nicely appointed, good bathrooms etc. breakfast in Apero was cramped with too many tables. Staff are very helpful and accommodating. Very quiet inside despite being on a busy street.



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EnglishMikeWaterrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Its location, steps away from the underground and museums, was very convenient. The room was clean, comfortable. Service was excellent; very responsive to our requests.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nyc10025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,072 in London
2,894 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#143 of 1,072 in London
869 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,072 in London
3,773 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#140 of 1,072 in London
686 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £196 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing