We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in South Kensington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #50 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel in South Kensington”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The reviews are spot on. Lovely little boutique hotel! Pros: very clean and attractive decor, very attentive staff, lovely tea room, excellent restaurant (the porridge at breakfast was superb), only 100 yards to the tube station. Cons: unless you want to go to the museums nearby, the location is good but not great; while the bed was great, I didn't care for the pillows; the shower is very large by London standards but the temperature controls were confusing; not a lot of really good restaurants within walking distance but we did find a good Thai place nearby. We also stayed at the St. Ermin's and found these two hotels very comparable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diverdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,452
    670
    104
    34
    18
See reviews for
695
1,513
255
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Chose this hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and the location. Lived up to our expectations. Location, decor, ambience, staff, room and breakfast were all great. Would liked to have stayed for longer, so we will be back !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Philip I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Superb boutique hotel in South Kensington! The staff was excellent, the room was surprisingly large and impeccable, and the insanely close location to the tube made our trip to London an unparalleled experience!! Definitely a hotel to use again!! We loved the personal touches of the postcards!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A 1 minute walk to the nearest Tube station and very close proximity to all of London's main shopping/dining/cultural sites,the location of this hotel is one of the items of a very long list of reasons to stay here.
On a recent trip to London as an engagement present,my dad paid for us to spend our one night in London at this hotel. Even though we arrived well before the advertised check in time,we were given immediate access to our Superior (upgraded) room. The decor is unique,the bed so comfy you might never want to leave and the heated tiles in the bathroom are that little something else that makes this hotel stand out from your other luxury hotels I have stayed in.
Thoroughly enjoyed the continental breakfast - excellent range and quality produce,only downside was that I got full before I could try everything I wanted to!
Both myself and my fiancee are tall so the upgrade to the Superior room was much appreciated as this would still have been on the small side if we had more than an overnight bag.
All in all would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to London. Very,very impressed.
The hotel is directly over an underground station so at times you get the rumble as a train passes underneath but this didn't bother us at all during our stay

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple then book Superior room or above,as while gorgeous,the rooms are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minx_in_the_city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went to London for our anniversary in December. Check in was quick and easy. The room was a good size and nicely decorated (i think a deluxe room, one with the bird prints on the wall). The bathroom was nice and modern with a powerful, large shower head that I loved.
Our rate did not include breakfast but there are lots of places to pick something up beside the tube station which is very close by - maybe a 2 minute walk. We visited Paul cafe one day and another independent cafe for a cooked breakfast another day. There are a couple of nice restaurants on the pedestrian street beside the tube station, including a tapas one where we ate dinner one evening and would recommend.
We chose the hotel as we wanted to visit the museums and Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park. We were able to walk to the Natural History, Victoria and Albert and Science Museum within 5 minutes and we also walked up to Hyde Park from the hotel too which took around 15 minutes.
We did not use any of the hotel's bars/ restaurants so can not comment on service there but we wanted to extend our stay by one night and the staff on the reception desk were very friendly and helpful.
It is not a cheap hotel, but it was worth the money for the service, quality, modern, luxury feel inside and the location. However it is a shame to spend so much money on such a lovely hotel and then spend all day and evening elsewhere out and about sightseeing!
Only scored down on sleep quality as it is an old building and there are a few creaks and noises (particularly one like pipes from inside the wall near the bed) that disturbed me as I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agathaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Ampersand is located in the fantastic Kensington area. You have easy access to parks, museums, great restaurants, and tube stations. Staff was extremely nice, and tea room is lovely.
The only caveat is that the standard room is a tight squeeze for 2 people. The dimensions are posted on the Ampersand site but when you factor in luggage + bed space, there is barely any room left.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

had good time here. room was small since i reserved a normal double room, but facilities are new and well-equipped. every staffs are helpful, kind and responsive to my requests. the location is also very convenient. few minutes from v&a museum, south kensington station and many good chain-restauranats.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,069 in London
2,820 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#152 of 1,069 in London
855 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,730 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,204 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#142 of 1,069 in London
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing