We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay! Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #43 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Coogee, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay! Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I walked passed the Ampersand one day and looked inside and thought we have to stay there some time, so we did.
The hotel's interior and rooms are amazing, the bed is to die for and makes it hard to wake up in the morning. i think they must use some sort of 1 million thread count sheets because they were the softest sheets i've ever felt. The hotel is positioned pretty much directly across from South Kensington underground and this made getting anywhere very easy. If this hotel is within your budget and you don't stay here, then you must be crazy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, I am so pleased you decided yo stay with us after passing by and we were able to make your stay such an enjoyable one. We all fowards to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,303
    630
    96
    30
    17
See reviews for
643
1,416
240
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blommenholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We've become to enjoy staying in South Kensington when in London. The Ampersand has the perfect location in the area, by the South Kensington station. The hotel is very comfortable and decorated in a lovely way. Highlights: wonderful beds with a proper duvet, clean bathrooms, a small but free mini-bar, lovely lounge. Will definately come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Guri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your great review, I am delighted you had such an enjoyable experience and very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand next time you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel is close to Underground South Kensington, to museums and Hyde Park. Many restaurants around. Very friendly personnel. Rooms are small, but ok. Shower was not hot and hairdrying without a mirror an experiment.
We booked breakfast with the room. Unfortunately this option is very limited in choice. Whatever is beyond, which is even eggs, is an extra.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased your overall experience was an enjoyable one. I will be sure to review how the breakfast is described when adding it to your room reservation on our website. I have also passed your feedback about the mirror to our housekeeping team to ensure this is addressed and resolved.
I have passed your lovely comments about the service and friendliness to the whole team who are thrilled to receive such positive feedback.
I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for three nights on a winter-break in top-floor suite (as SLH member got an upgrade). It was (too) short but (very) sweet and enjoyable experience. Service and the overall atmosphere does make a difference for this place. Prepare to be pampered all the way from the moment you make reservation through prompt follow-up after your stay. You really get a feeling that they do care for each and every guest. It's not exactly the same as in those small family-owned hotels, this one is not a small place but they manage to balance it out in a way that is likely to positively surprise you (at least it did surprise us). Everything else adds to positive experience - very convenient location for tube (just across from South Kensington station), Albert Hall and museums, combination of traditional with modern, thoughtful and detailed interior, comfy furnishings in the room, tiny but romantic roof balcony, huge bathroom, option to get books from in-house library, even umbrellas are 'special' etc.etc. An epitome of ‘attention to detail’.
If you stay here and have warm feelings for Italian / Mediterranean type of food do not miss-out on their restaurant Apero - good menu, original cocktails and reasonable pricing. Note, however, that this a 'democratic' and popular place which tends to get crowded, so not the best choice if you plan for romantic quiet dinner on your own :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ounixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for such a terrific review. I am delighted your stay was an enjoyable and positive experience. The whole team works hard to ensure all guests feel pampered and are always thrilled to receive such lovely comments.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We found the location, ambience and service at the Ampersand terrific! While the room was a little small, it was well-appointed, clean and comfortable. Great gym as well! Would definitely recommend to friends and will certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent visit to The Ampersand. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just a stone's throw from South Kensington Underground lays the Ampersand Hotel. I took my wife here as part of a wedding anniversary treat which included a Jazz Brunch and an evening concert at the Royal Albert Hall. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very polite man who offered to carry our case and escorted us to the check in desk. Check in was uncomplicated, and then we were taken to our room, where we were given a guided tour of the room and facilities.

The room was air conditioned, which was handy as it was a very humid day. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was spotlessly clean. The mini bar had complimentary soft drinks and water, and there were even complimentary slippers and a rubber duck too!

When I booked the hotel through Bookings.com they stated that the breakfast was continental and £14.50 per head, this isnt true as there is a full breakfast menu available including a full English for £12.50. Following a deep and restful sleep, we decided to take breakfast the next morning. I had the full English and my wife the vegetarian. Both were excellent, freshly cooked and using quality ingredients. The only downside was that coffee and juice are not included in the price of the breakfast.

Cost for the night in a standard deluxe was £216 excluding breakfast – not that expensive for this part of London and worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copperwasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. I am delighted your anniversary treat was such an enjoyable experience and the whole team were able to look after you so well.
We offer a range of options for breakfast, from continental breakfast at £14.00 per person to a full a la carte breakfast menu for cooked items and I pleased you enjoyed the full English breakfast.
I very much hope to welcome you back to The Ampersand in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great restaurant and bar, friendly staff, good location and extremely comfy beds!
A lovely relaxed London hotel!
Would certainly recommend Ampersand to stay or return to visit ' Apero' restaurant for brunch, lunch, dinner, afternoon tea and the bar!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review of your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit, not only to the hotel but Apero too. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#161 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing