We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service & style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

thrilled to find real milk in the room ( it doesn't take much to please!), great location - walked to many places, room quite small but nice to have a ground floor room. staff terrific, would definitely stay again. Also, if in town would use the restaurant - lunch only £12 for 2 courses.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,064 - 2,070 of 3,391 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stopped last night so we didn't have a late night trek home after a late prom. On this occasion we had a ground floor room which is geared up for the disabled guest. The room was spacious although the bathroom layout was not great. We had petit four and a free glass of champagne on arrival which we took in the bar downstairs. We returned to the bar for cocktails post prom - bar staff are friendly and helpful and they always have an excellent choice of spirits and cocktails to choose from.
The bed was very comfy and I had a great nights sleep.
For me , the best bit of a stay at the ampersand is the continental breakfast from the counter. All the food is home made and the banana bread is delicious. The choices are good and just that bit different from your average breakfast buffet. The only trouble is I am tempted to eat too much.
I love the location of this hotel and undoubtedly we will stop again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Ampersand having travelled to London from Australia. We wanted to stay in Kensington and were looking forward to a high class stay. The Ampersand was a disappointment. The service was average - we were offered no assistance with carrying our luggage and no real guidance as to where to head to in the city. The rooms were smaller than small. I am 5ft 2 and tiny and my partner is average height and build and we couldn't fit into the bathroom together. There was barely enough space for our luggage in the bedroom. The hotel also advertises as having a gym but this was also very small. The location is ok but is isn't near the tourist sights. We return to London a week late and stayed at the County Plaza Hotel near the London eye - it was a 4 star hotel but was amazing! Perfect views, spacious rooms, tidy, modern and a great gym!

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bradantha_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I booked this hotel for a night as I had tickets for a show at the nearby Royal Albert Hall.
As a treat I also booked the Afternoon Tea.

The tea was delicious although there was so much of it that I had a moment when I thought it might defeat me. I struggled on and won over in the end.

The hotel itself is fantastic: sleek and comfortable, staff helpful and charming, room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Ideal position for not only the Royal Albert Hall but also the museums. The price was very reasonable for a London hotel of this standard.

I hope to stay here again and would wholeheartedly recommend it to those still undecided.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navyclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We recently stayed in the Ampersand and enjoyed it so much we booked again for our return trip via London.

Pros:

- Exceptionally professional, helpful, welcoming and sincere staff. We've stayed in many hotels in London (4 and 5 stars) and truly feel Ampersand provided the best service by far
- Fantastic location: very close to South Kensington tube station, restaurants, bars, museums etc. There is even a taxi stand and bus stop outside the hotel entrance
- Nicely designed hotel both in the public spaces and in the room
- Very very comfortable bed
- Good and powerful rain shower
- Free minibar
- Free and fast wifi (in room and in the public areas)
- Quick room service and competitively priced hotel laundry service
- The price represented good value for money

Cons:

- The booking website does not make it easy to see the special offers / best rates (must read carefully and click the + icon to expand / show the various options). I foolishly booked a high rate but had no issue at all cancelling and amending the booking to a more competitive rate

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank albiondxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Everything is expensive in London. We got our money's worth at this hotel. Really nice rooms, and surprisingly large showers with enclosures all the way around. Located a stone's throw from the Tube at south Kensington. Easy walking distance to museums. 10 year old loved Tea Time in the afternoon, mainly for the scones.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Really fantastic in every way. The location is perfectly situated and the staff was courteous. Our room size was just right with great touches such as robes minibar and nice bath. I wish I was there right now.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank seigstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,075 in London
2,943 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#135 of 1,075 in London
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,075 in London
3,797 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,075 in London
1,458 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,075 in London
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £202 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing