We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find highly recommended”
Review of The Old City Arms

The Old City Arms
Ranked #5,527 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic find highly recommended”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Found this pub on trip adviser. Fantastic food. Great atmosphere and service. Prices great. Overall a lovely meal in great atmosphere. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Partridge11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple best”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hi all:)Guys I live in kingston but to have a superb thai I have to go to this place.never been let down by this place

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 865Peter1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pre Show Meal”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were at the Hammersmith Apollo las night & wanted to eat beforehand. I'd found this, together with two others through Tripadvisor. We decided that we wanted Thai so this was the place for us. As you approach, and indeed inside, this is a traditional, old style city pub but appearances always deceive!

We received a very warm & friendly welcome from the bar staff and the waitress, who indeed may have been the Chef as well. The menu is varied, with a full range of strenghths and types of curry & it would be difficult for those who like Thai food not to find something to their taste here. The menu is smple and easy to negotiate.

Our starter arrived quickly & it was clear that it had been put together specifically for our order, rather than pre prepared. Having finished that, the timing for our main course were perfect - not too long, not too quick! These were also first class; aromatic & full of flavour. Portion sizes are good & there is a choice of rice or noodles to accompany.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Skidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, lovely locals”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Went in on our way to a show at the hammersmith, saw the recent reviews and decided to give it a try. Very clean, staff and locals all very welcoming and chatted away telling us what was good to order. We sat in a quiet part of the restaurant area and were quickly served some of the best and very reasonably priced Thai I've ever had (including from Thailand!)
This place won't disappoint and I will definitely be going back!

Helpful?
3 Thank lizbell42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never expected good Thai in an English pub!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had planned to eat at a restaurant along the Thames River path, but there was no seating to be had. We came across the Old City Arms. It didn't look like much, but our daughter was hungry and tired of walking. What a delightful surprise! First of all, the pub patrons were the best of the trip. Very friendly, joking, welcoming. Then the food... we hadn't caught on that it wasn't typical pub food, but a Thai restaurant until we looked at the menu. No problem, we like Thai food. And it was very good! We lived in Asia for several years, and had traveled in Thailand, so we knew what to expect. The Yummy Fish was just that. The tom ka gai and tom yum soups were very good. Our daughter didn't like much spice, and was happy with the "chow mein". If the Thai cook didn't make her own noodles, she at least had a great supplier! My husband had a spicy duck dish, and was very happy with it. The chicken satay was very good as was the sauce. Only the spring rolls were a bit unusual; they were tasty, but had corn in them. If you find yourself in Hammersmith near the Hammersmith Bridge, you won't go wrong with the pub or the restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pjonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old City Arms also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Old City Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing