We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find for Lunch”
Review of Comptoir Libanais

Comptoir Libanais
Ranked #1,291 of 23,242 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$7 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: “The Lebanese cafe continues to impress us with its fresh mezze, interesting soft drink selection, snappy service and good looks.” – Time Out The food at Comptoir is fresh, healthy, honest and affordable. Comptoir wakes up early to provide customers with unique Lebanese breakfasts to eat in or take away; offering everything from organic yoghurt topped with pomegranate and orange blossom water, porridge and halloumi cheese and za’atar croissants. Visit for lunch and dinner and enjoy all types of interesting and colourful dishes, including hot and cold mezze – perfectly sized for sharing- wraps, salads, tagines, grills and Man’aesh (Lebanese style pizzas). For dessert, nothing is more authentic than the sweet taste of baklawa – Lebanese pastries in a variety of flavours such as date filled semolina and walnut filled flaky pastry. Drinks include freshly squeezed juices, homemade lemonades and Lebanese inspired cocktails. All products can be packaged up and enjoyed on the go. Comptoir caters well for vegetarians as well as for a gluten free diet. With a friendly team and brilliant red and brushed-chrome industrial stools, bold-patterned turquoise tables and monochrome geometric flooring, Comptoir brightens the rainiest of days.
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to stop in for lunch today and really enjoyed our meal. Two of us shared the mezze platter for two and it was really good. The third person in our party had a chicken wrap, which also was really tasty. I'd definitely recommend lunch here if you are visiting the museums or Harrod's. They even gave us a small plate of dessert because we had to wait a little bit for a table to open up, very nice to see they care about their customers.

1  Thank abs628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComptoirTeam, Public Relations Manager at Comptoir Libanais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

HI abs628, thanks for your nice comments. Delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself! Apologies again for the wait that you incurred, but glad we made it up to you with something sweet at the end. Do come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
There are newer reviews for Comptoir Libanais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

777 - 781 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Slow ish service but amazing lebanese food. I especially enjoyed frozen yogurt ;o) offer mezze and take out, the lamb tagine was delish!

Thank HL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A nice surprise!!! Me and my girl were starving after a all morning visit to the Natural History Museum, and we came across with this lebanese restaurante (first time with lebanease cuisine). The girl who waited on us was very nice and answered all our doubts. Service was a bit slow on the drinks, but the main coures came fast. We ate outsider to enjoy the nice weather. It was kind of cheap for London standards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PedroTiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComptoirTeam, Public Relations Manager at Comptoir Libanais, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Pedro, thanks for your feedback. It's always great to hear that people are not only trying Comptoir for the first time, but Lebanese cuisine too. We make a conscious effort to remain excellent value for money so pleased that you recognised that too. I'll catch up with the manager about the slow service you experienced - it's not acceptable to keep our customers waiting so appreciate you bringing this to my attention. Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Visiting recently and enjoying the fine weather, this restaurant has an excellent position with plenty of outside seating on the "shared area" on Exhibition Road. The service is also excellent but the helpful waitresses were clearly up against it. The first three choices of white wine by the glass were not available, as was the rose, so one had to drink the good but expensive white Chateau Musar. Maybe we were at the end of the lunch time service but the lamb tagine I ordered was small in quantity and dried up, most disappointing. Our other meal was equally dry and we had to request the sauce that is meant to accompany it. Overall, a good place for a drink but I would avoid eating there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComptoirTeam, Public Relations Manager at Comptoir Libanais, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Edward, Great that you liked the location and our team but hugely disappointing to hear you felt the food let us down. We take comments like this really seriously and our area manager, Christine, will be in touch with you later today to get further feedback. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stopped here for breakfast on my way to the V&A. on a bright sunny morning. To be honest I was attracted by the large number of tables outside and fact that it was busy.

All I ordered was a coffee and a croissant and found it good value based on the location. I was interested in the other dishes on the menu and next time I am in london might pop back to try some more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ebbs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComptoirTeam, Public Relations Manager at Comptoir Libanais, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi, thanks for the nice review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Comptoir Libanais also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Comptoir Libanais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing